We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
37
69
31
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
69
31
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air ocean view crab buffet spread ramen japanese food private onsen speak good english stayed two nights breakfast and dinner hotel room japanese style room seafood hakodate station timetable comfort balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this place, especially for couples. Service was impeccable throughout - from reception, concierge, house keeping, restaurant. Our package included breakfast and dinner, both sumptuous. Even crabs served for dinner! We had a Japanese style room with a private bath in the balcony. Also briefly visited the public baths (on 4 and 7 floor), different times for men and ladies. Need to note, no English hotel name, we missed the place the first time we passed it. Will definitely stay again if we visit Hakodate.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GraceWong222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Fifteen years ago, we traveled from Tokyo to Hokkaido and stayed two nights at Heiseikan Shiosaitei. Our memories brought us back this summer for four nights and reaffirmed that our decision was the right one. We stayed in Sapporo for a week and then traveled to Hakodate to simply relax at this onsen hotel. The staff warmly welcomed us, and were consistently friendly, courteous and helpful. When my wife misplaced her wallet in the taxi that we took from Hakodate Station to the hotel, the front desk assistant manager contacted all of the taxi companies to see which one we had taken. (Always accept the receipt from the driver!) And, he contacted the local police koban, and was able to locate her wallet, intact, and at the Hakodate police koban. What could have been a negative experience turned out to be a wonderful lesson and an experience in customer service!

Our ocean view room was large, clean, and well-maintained. The "Viking" (their term for buffet) meals were excellent with so many choices of food. Because I limit my intake of meats, the range of vegetarian dishes was excellent, as well as seafood choices. We were seated at the large windows overlooking the seas and appreciated the view as we ate. (Hint: While some people find the futon bedding to be too firm or hard, there are extra futon mattresses in the closet to double the thickness for more comfort.) The room was large enough to sleep up to five, so we enjoyed the extra space.

Of course, our intent was to enjoy the onsen, and we found the public baths to be relatively quiet and not crowded at all. They rotate the onsen between the men's (7th floor) and ladies' (4th floor) on a timetable so we could enjoy both at various times. The ladies' onsen has an open air (rotemburo) onsen that the men's do not.

Finally, all of Japan and Asia were experiencing a terrible heatwave in July, except for Hakodate! While even Sapporo was sweltering in humidity, we were enjoying the great cool weather in Hakodate!

We also leisurely walked along the river and discovered an AEON market and wonderful ramen shops along the way, so our four days in Hakodate will remain a memorable experience!

Room tip: The Annex is their luxury wing with ensuite onsen, albeit more expensive. We agreed that the next time, this will be our choice.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzawaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We chose this hotel because of the ocean view and the private onsen at the balcony of the hotel room. And we've made the right choice. The hotel breakfast is the best in our 4 hotels trip in Hokkaido. Though most of the staff can't speak good English, but their positive attitude make up for that.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect. My family wanted the experience of staying in a traditional Japanese hotel. I wanted the comfort and certainty of a normal hotel. And all for the right price. I ploughed through various hotel booking sites and chanced on this one. I had 3 rooms and i had the package with breakfast and dinner bundled in. It wasn't cheap but not extravagant considering the meals. The meals were the most enjoyable part of the day. I am not a Japanese food expert but the buffet spread were pretty good for me and my 3 generational family with a wide spread of local food. The dinner spread was fantastic with a good choice of seafood. I can't recall how many Japanese king crabs we consumed. The rooms were adequate and spacious enough but not luxurious. Hotel staff were helpful and i am grateful that they put us in rooms right beside each other. In the evenings futons (Japanese sleeping mats) were laid out for us. And best of all the rooms came with yukatas (Japanese traditional wear like the ones you see in samurai movies) and it was fun having all family members dressed up in yukatas for family photo shoots. Some of us went for dinner (in the hotel of course) and likewise with may other hotel guests. Overall a enjoyable 2 night stay. Not much around the area apart for a garden nearby with people going there mainly to view Japanese macaques enjoying the onsen during winter. Only downside here being i don't think these are free ranging monkeys.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Initially, we are living on 707 but the toilet seat is out of order. The toilet water is splashed to the door. They change us to 307 which is opposite to a restaurant and is noisy. We request a room on a higher level, but they said it was full house. I am so disappointed because this resort is not cheap and the arrangement is really bad.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank oyyeejoycem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews