We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
86
151
56
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
151
56
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning walking distance minute walk decent size junior suite ihg group train station bath powder central location sausage japanese food rice front desk staff great view mcdonalds isetan cp
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

There is hardly anything to fault this hotel. The room is nice and comfortable, staff are friendly and efficient, location is good. Best of all, we liked the breakfast with full spread of Japanese and Western fares. On the Japanese side, 3 kinds of Niigata rice are provided. If you know rice, you will understand the significance of this. It is like providing 3 first growth Bordeaux in the same meal. Yum!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank chinkiatc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masanori K, Room Reservation at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for having stayed at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Niigata and reviewing on your recent stay.
We are pleased you to compliment for our hotel facilities and service and happy to hear from you that you're staying comfortable and favorite our breakfast. Especially breakfast, we make much of local foods taking so that everyone who stays in the hotel can feel a little "Niigata". Breakfast restaurant menu is reformed since this spring and Japanese side is more useful and grateful. Menu item is increased than before. Japanese guests also like it. 3 kinds of Niigata rice on the Japanese side is really popular menu in the our hotel breakfast because the prefecture where the most delicious rice is grown is Niigata.
We hope that your stay in Niigata was precious time. We constantly strive to improve our service even further and now, we’re looking forward to seeing you again in near the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

This hotel is ideally located, 10 mins from train station and 5 mins from downtown shopping. After eating ONLY Japanese food for 10 days, I was filled with joy when I spotted a MacDonald 1.5 mins from the hotel:) Evil treat after eating so healthy^^
All the staffs speaks a little English, some are quite fluent! No more google translate!!
We like the junior suite with view towards downtown. Room was clean and comfortable.
Definitely plan to stay here again when in Niigata!

Room tip: Choose a room facing downtown on higher floors. Good view.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masanori K, Room Reservation at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you very much having chosen ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Niigata for your visit to Niigata and taking the time to share your experience.
We are pleased you to compliment for our hotel service. We're so happy to hear from you that you're staying comfortable. There is a famous for rice, Sake, fresh fish... many great foods anyway in Niigata. If these are favorite for you, your staying in Niigata was precious time, we hope so.
We constantly strive to improve our service even further and now, we're looking forward to seeing you again in near the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

I had booked total 5 rooms (3 Suites and 2 deluxe) with my friends, staying for 2 nights, 27-29 April 2018.
To my surprises, as an International hotel (IHG Group), most receptionists couldn't speak good English, some can't even understand. I had a hard time during check-in, resulted a long process to complete. Though they look friendly, but that's not good enough to match the IHG standard.
This hotel is not centrally located, very quite surrounding. You need to walk for 20 minutes to Isetan and nearly 1/2 hour from Niigata Station. The room is clean but furniture are a bit outdated. The only good point is that the hotel is near the Pai Bandai Market, there are many variety of food, liquor, and even a BBQ tent for you to enjoy some very reasonable food, Sashimi etc.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent E H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacpngt001, Room Reservation at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for having stayed at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Niigata and reviewing on your recent stay.
We apologize for inconvenience that you had a hard time during check-in, resulted a long process to complete in order to someone of our staff's English speaking is poor.
We're so happy to hear from you that you're staying comfortable and favorite our breakfast. Especially breakfast, we make much of local foods taking so that everyone who stays in the hotel can feel a little "Niigata". There is a famous for rice, Sake, fresh fish... many great foods anyway in Niigata. If these are favorite for you, your staying in Niigata was precious time, we hope so.
We come face to face with your pointing comments and sincerity to improve in this matter. We constantly strive to improve our service even further and now, we're looking forward to seeing you again in near the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed at the ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata for a week during our trip to Niigata, and it blow my expectations out of the water.

The hotel is about 10-minute walk from Niigata Station without carrying bags. With bags, taking a taxi (JPY590) would be a wise choice. There are also taxi readily available at the hotel. The hotel is quite centrally-located, Bandai City, Bandai Bridge, Bandai Pier/Toki Messe are all within 5 to 10 minutes walk. As the hotel is about 50 meters away from the main road so it's very quiet at night.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the check-in process was smooth (took less than 2 minutes) and they do recognize IHG elites with generous room upgrades and the typical complimentary drink vouchers and bottle water, as well as special Niigata-limited Sapporo Beer.

We were upgraded to a junior suite, and the room felt like an apartment. At 15th floor, all North-ish facing rooms all have great view of the beautiful Shinano River. The room itself has a combined sleeping area, a living area and a working desk. The bathroom is separated into three small rooms, one with the bathtub and toilet (with a decent bidet, unlike Intercontinental Tokyo), one with the sink and one powder room. The amenities (made in Japan by Shiseido, again unlike the made in China ones in Intercontinental Tokyo) were provided in eco-friendly bottles. There were plenty of power outlets and Wi-Fi coverage was excellent.

Throughout our stay, both the front desk and housekeeping staff were excellent. The room was tightly made up every day (despiteits size), and the front desk staff were proactively helpful with our requests.

One thing we typically love about breakfast at Crowne Plazas in Japan is that they offer varieties of local flavors, and ANA CP Niigata is no different. Three different kinds of Niigata rice were offered, along with many other local dishes to pair the rice with. At JPY1,950, it's a steal.

Three things I do wish the hotel could improve upon: the Wi-Fi was not encrypted, there was no in-room recycling and the housekeeping staff changed our towels everyday even we had used the "do not change towels" sign.

Our stay at ANA CP Niigata was a highlight of our trip, and I would highly recommend this property for people visiting Niigata.

Room tip: North-facing rooms have great view of Shinano River
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CanIGoWithYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacpngt001, Room Reservation at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for having stayed at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Niigata and reviewing on your recent stay.
We're happy to hear from you that you went to many place in Niigata city. Did you meet your favorite foods in Niigata? We hope that your stay in Niigata was precious time.
We are pleased to compliment for our hotel service. We're so happy to hear from you that you're staying comfortable and favorite our breakfast. Especially breakfast, we make much of local foods taking so that everyone who stays in the hotel can feel a little "Niigata".
In addition, we appriciate that you told to us theree things you do wish the hotel could improve upon. We are terribly sorry for not being able to live up to your expectations.
We come face to face with your pointing comments and sincerity to improve in this matter. We will greatly appreciate your further guidance and encouragement.
We're looking forward to seeing you again in near the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Walk 15 min. from JR station. If you have big bag, I think you better to take taxi.

Room is ok and staff is nice. English is no problem for them. The Price is reasonable but I rather to stay nearby JR station next time.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacpngt001, Room Reservation at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you so much for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata and we would like to appriciate for your feedback during your stay.
We are pleased you to compliment for our hotel service and we're happy to hear that you were being confortable to stay. However we're very sorry for trouble of coming to the hotel from Niigata station. We come face to face with your opinion and sincerity to improve in this matter.
We hope that your stay in Niigata was precious time.
We're looking forward to seeing you again in near the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews