We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
71
121
34
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
121
34
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlefree ramentail endsecond floortop floorgreat hotelfront deskjr stationtempbathsindoorsectiondryerfacilitiesstylelobbycity
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This place was really a pleasant surprise! It isn’t the closest hotel to the station or restaurant & bar areas but it makes up for it with its cleanliness, comfortable rooms and amazing onsen hot baths inside the hotel. The male bathhouse on the top floor was amazing! Great outdoor baths with nice views. The hotel also has a free shuttle to the station which was a nice touch.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank zakizuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I always enjoyed the Dormy Inn chains because of their ofuros and free 9pm soba. The Japanese do hot baths like no other and in a place as cold as Niigata at the tail end of winter it’s even more fitting and enjoyable after a day of sightseeing.

This hotel a strange design to conserve energy. The lobby and second floor is heated like most other hotels but the hallways and central core of the hotel is exposed to the elements. The guest rooms themselves have a double entry door to keep in the heat and it’s in full blast in winter. It was too hot for me and I had to leave the front door open to lower the temp but otherwise the room was a standard small size room.

My favorite part was the Ofuro. It was high up near the top floor with a great night-time view of Niigata itself. The lights of the city, the frozen winds of winter, the steam rising like mist into the cold night sky and you enjoying the soothing baths. It’s an almost indescribable feeling. There was both an indoor and outdoor sections. The indoor part was fairly large with three huge sections, some reclining seats built into the bath itself with multiple jet streams of water to message you if you chose.

I know it may seem like a small dumb thing but that bowl of soba at night really hits the spot after your warm soak in the ofuro.

Cafeteria on the second floor was decent with a mix of veggies, pastries, drinks. It’s fairly basic but will satisfy both western or Japanese tastes.

Front desk check in and check out service was efficient and friendly with decent English speakers.

Overall I really enjoyed Niigata and this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Redflyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

A short walk from Niigata station

Quite new and modern business hotel that has a really nice free onsen (hot spring) for guests.

The buffet breakfast has a great selection of western and Japanese food.

Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank KokinuKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dormyinnniigata, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017
Google Translation

ドーミーイン新潟をご利用いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。
ご満足いただけありがたいコメントに感謝致します。
英語が堪能でございませんので、返信が日本語で申し訳ございません。
また新潟へお越しの際は是非当館をご利用くださいませ。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Only 10 mins walk from train station. Hotel do offer shuttle bus from hotel to train station but during morning time only. We tried to find any shuttle bus return from train station to hotel. But you won't find any stand of it. Don't expect you can get an answer in English from the staff, Coz they don't understand.
Hotel offer onsen from 3pm - 10am
Top floor for man and female on 2nd floor
Supper start from 930pm to 11pm with delicious ramen !
Room looks new and nice ! But ensure you book the room type with shower room ...

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank airron1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Had a pleasant 4-night stay last month during our vacation in Niigata. With this price, no other hotel in Japan could match: proximity to city center, great common bath, delicious and healthy breakfast, very clean and well maintained facilities, nicely arranged room (feel enough space for two of us), handphone charger and emergency water tank in the room, nice kimono set, emergency toilet in the elevator, cardiac arrest emergency kit in common bath etc.
Staffs were very kind and helpful. Will stay in this hotel again for upcoming trip to Niigata.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jkt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dormyinnniigata, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Thank for staying our hotel.
Our hotel is recommended a breakfast and a public bath.
I am glad to like them.
If you visit to niigata agin, I am looking forwad to seeing you again.

Front Clark Nakamura





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews