We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
90
173
67
21
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
173
67
21
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese restaurant top floor the executive lounge western style hotel large hotel helpful reception staff rooftop bar matsumoto castle train station tallest building large variety breakfast is served the upper floors one night stay good size surrounding mountains wasabi farm
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

While the entrance and public area downstairs looked really nice (lovely open fire in the bar area) our executive double room was rather brown and old-fashioned with a very small window. The lighting was so poor we weren't able to read without moving the furniture around and even then it wasn't great. However the executive lounge (which we discovered by chance as no-one had told us about it) was fantastic and very comfortable and we enjoyed drinks and nibbles there before dinner. The location is good and we were able to walk to the castle and other sights. Again although no-one told us about it we took advantage of the excellent free shuttle service to the bus station as we had luggage with us.

Room Tip: choose an executive room and take advantage of the executive lounge.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2016

The location of the hotel was good, about 10 min walk to the JR station. There were also lots of food options nearby. The carpark was in a separate building about 60 m to the south.

The room was adequate, but the fridge was old and rattled occasionally. There may have been a leak before, as there was some water damage to the wooden furniture around the fridge which hadn't been replaced or remover.

Bathroom was ok, the toliteries provided had 1 black and 1 white toothbrush. Very considerate of them, knowing the the 2 persons in the room would need to distinguish their toothbrushes.

Breakfast was at their top-floor Sorpresa restautant, which had great views out both sides. The food was a good combination of both Japanese and Western food, with a good variety of each.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This hotel was a nice change from the western chain hotels in Japan. The hotel staff were polite and extremely helpful! The conference center meeting space was elegant, and the food was amazing...extremely efficient for a conference event. The hotel is conveniently located near the center of Matsumoto and train station, but far enough a way (5-10 min walk) to still be quiet. My favorite part was the view from teh breakfast room on the 14th floor and the breakfast buffet with a mix of traditional Japanese breakfast and French breakfast. On my next visit to Matsumoto, I will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This is a very decent hotel. The rooms are basic and clean. The beds are a bit hard but the cushions are good. The breakfast is of a good level. The location is good in respect of the JR station and the town

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan-Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Non-impressive, nondescript hotel. They were celebrating their 25th anniversary and the rooms rather looked as if unchanged during that time. Breakfast buffet was very nice, both western und japanese style food being served. Not a place I would go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews