We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food”

Ali Baba Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I am so surprised that this restaurant got such good reviews on tripadvisor.
The restaurant is busy most nights and suspect it is because they serve alcohol instead of the quality of food.
We were served our drinks at the end of our meal after requesting it twice. The fish basket was way too salty and vile. My husband had a chicken dish that was tasteless. Only reason I gave two marks was hummus and veal which was nice.
This place is also more expensive then most. Go for the alcohol and nothing more.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lizzyOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A fine authentic tipical arabik restaurant. Very good and fresh food.
Humus. Lamb . Mixed grill. Fresh fish. Medium price.
Always full. Recomand you to make a reservation.
Odelia

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Odelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Historically the best place to eat in Aqaba city.

Nice terrace and alcohol available including local wines

Reviews have been mixed and the menu at first glance seems to be a bit touristy.

Nice selection of local starters mains If you opt for the fish or shrimp dishes you can’t go wrong beautifully cooked and well flavoured

Nice to walk into evening shops and 15 mins from the main hotel area

Good value

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank BrianE155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Despite the pretty limited choice in the menu, more international than local, it’s a good restaurant with friendly and informal staff.
Cheap price and good quality food.
Suggested!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We were in Aqaba for 5 nights and went to Ali Baba twice for dinner. On both occasions we ate fish and shell fish, although the restaurant does serve a wide range of meat dishes too. We particulaly enjoyed the shrimp cocktails,, the baked fresh seabass and the Ali Baba pot (a type of Jordanian Zarzuela)

The service we received on both nights was excellent. We were greeted with friendly smiles, shown to a table rapidly and made to feel that we were valued diners.

Prices were reasonable bearing in mind the quality of the food.

Would we go again given the opportunity? Most definitely.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Restaurant also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to Ali Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing