We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting that 6 generations have lived here.

I read in other reviews that they had a guide to take them through the house! I was greeted by an... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
forshara
,
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Sparse

This is A single story house that has 2 entrances on different streets. There is not much to see... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2018
Rodman100
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hoi An
from US$54.00
More Info
from US$29.00
More Info
from US$26.00
More Info
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
11
17
16
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
17
16
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese merchant wontons altar century photos
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

You can see the Chinese carving in the home and get a sense of scale for the home size. Our ticket taker was a family member. The photo on the right side is his great great grandfather. There are some tourist items for sale and he asked if we would buy, but he did not push us. There may be Chinese food snacks for sale in the back. We visited in the morning and they were not set up.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank travel-lms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Interesting and definitely worth a look. From the outset the experience was let down due to an incredibly rude member of staff who, because I didn't hear what she said shouted at me "Do you even speak English?" It was directed at me, and it was shouted in a rude manor. English is my first language, I complained to the manager who then told me that I was lying and that none of the staff in question had any dealings with me. Otherwise the other staff were excellent.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank philr_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

There is not much to see in this old house, so if you have to choose one Old House go to Tan Ky, is better conserved.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 141alvaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

This is another traditional house in Hoi An which requires an entrance ticket or a fee to see inside. Fairly typical traditional house with mainly wooden interior. Quick visit is enough.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I had read a lot of the reviews (both in Tripadvisor and elsewhere) and was just going to skip them. I didn't like the idea of going into people's homes, residents who were probably so burned out on tourists that they could barely come up for air. But, we saw a bunch of Chinese tourists streaming into this house, and we decided to follow. It was beautiful, and at least at the moment we went, didn't require a ticket. Since it was an old Chinese residence, it was amusing (to me) to see the Han visitors getting way into the house. I enjoyed myself and was glad I came!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews