We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know good food you will be disappointed.”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #154 of 1,090 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Put a honest review up on trip advisor and received an abusive and rude message back, calling us a "rat" and a dirty "tout" what ever that is.
Are you kidding? you served my wife prawns twice and we clearly said she is very allergic.
The food was probably the worst we had on our 2 week trip across Vietnam and it was on the expensive side.

Just for the abusive you sent i'm now going to put my review on every page, people who know good food will make their own judgment but what we had was below average.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You again, Rat? Now you came up with another name or maybe it's a shared job for wife and husband.

Anyway, what we need to say was clearly interpreted on our previous response to your wife's trash. You even couldnot give any significant fact to prove that meal existed. Furthermore, if your wife actually confirmed that she’s allergic with prawn, how dare we served her the prawn twice, LIAR?!

Listen! If you were having any trouble in your life, just simply resolve it yourself. Donot impose your tension on anyone else. GO AWAY and do whatever, the filthiest thing you can be able to do in your life, to revenge. Because WE DON’T CARE. Kind of people like you doesn’t deserve our care.

Just GO AWAY.

P/S: We were having a lot of Australian customers. Most of them were so kind, elegant and generous. We indeed donot know which hole you came from, liar? Maybe from the dark side?!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Down a long alley into a beautiful garden setting with food to match. Everything fresh and delicious, and the lychee cheesecake was to die for.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sally_is_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mrs.Sally,
Thank you so much for the beautiful word you were giving us. We are so happy to know that you were pleased with Secret Garden. We wish that we can be able to make it even better to surprise you in a near future.
We wish you all the best for New Year. Eager to see you again.
All kind regards from Uy TRAN, the owner and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In short, lovely subdued ambience with great dishes. Staff is friendly and accommodating, genuinely interested in whether the food was according to our liking. The food was delicious and fresh, with a mix of local dishes and menu items I hadn't spotted before in Vietnam. The experience is enhanced by the enchanting garden.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anilt413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr.Anilt413,
Thank you so much for your kind word. To have a compliment from the King of spices is really a big honour for us. We are so happy to wish you and family an Happy new year.
Looking forward to having another chance of serving you.
All kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a set menu as part of our walking tour around Hoi An and when the tour finished, our guide took us up a really narrow lane to an awesome restaurant that just opens up before you.

Had Vietnamese salad and Vietnamese rolls for entree - lovely flavours.

Main consisted of squid and chicken rice - both very tasty and enjoyable.

Sweet was a lychee cheesecake with shredded ginger on top, a lovely change

Staff are very friend, not intrusive - would recommend the restaurant but suggest booking first

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank juliebI1052NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie,
So sweet, Ms.Julie. Thank you so much for your lovely word. We are so happy to know that you were pleased with our new menu of 2019. By learning from the advices of our esteemed guests like yours, we are growing up.
We wish you an Happy New Year and look forward to having another chance of serving you in a near future.
All kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Down a tiny alleyway behind No. 60 Le Loi is Secret Garden restaurant where you can enjoy top quality food and cocktails in a very private, serene garden setting. Taste the local varieties of rice whiskey for something a little different or splash out on their extensive wine selection. The Hoi An Chicken Rice is delicious, and you can spend half a day in the on-site cooking school learning all about that one challenging dish alone. We did the more general cooking course, which included first buying the fresh ingredients at the market (an experience in itself) then preparing four dishes. The highlight was learning to make our own rice paper from scratch for the fresh Vietnamese spring rolls.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank stephenmX8715ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
Your review came to us as big Greetings for New Year. Thank you so much for your generosity. We are so happy to please you. Do hope the class would help you to surprise you friends and relatives at your homeland.
All the best for you and family in New Year.
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing