We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking Class Here is a Must!”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #154 of 1,090 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a personalized touch to get to know the people, learn about the culture and ingredients then I would definitely recommend that you book a cooking class with the Secret Garden restaurant. They only take 4 people at most and the individualize the experience for you and your needs. My husband and I had our very own tour of the market to get our ingredients and then we had our own personal chef to teach us how to prepare 4 dishes. They were delicious. Do it if you gave the chance and go through them. Trust me you will love e ery moment of it.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jessica,
I'm Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden. I'm so happy to have your kind review. It's all about our idea in operating something more friendly and easier but useful. We do hope the participants in our class can be able to surprise their relatives at home after the trip. There are some ingredients could be interpreted to somethings similar from your local market thus giving a try.
Once again, on behalf of my team, i would like to give you our big thanks and all the best wishes for New Year coming.
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked away in quiet alley in the middle of ancient town. Away from bustling area, which is something you need after few days of fighting the crowd in ancient city.
Food is well-executed with great flavours. Salty fried crabs taste as good as the beautiful plating. Prawn and calamari with food salsa is another winner. Banana flower blossom with roast duck is subtle yet tasty & many more. Thank you for the wondering dining experience.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dreamer64185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,

We are so happy to know that you were pleased with our foods. The menu for 2018 made a significant turning point in cooking style of Secret Garden. Then after one year, we were collecting dozens comments from guest in order to ameliorate the recipes. And now, we have a new one for 2019. So happy that it is yielding the good feedbacks from guests, better than the old version. We will struggle to maintain the quality and wait for another chance of welcoming you back. Always eager to please for more.

All the best for you and your family,

Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is down one of the narrow alleys and a bit difficult to find. But it's well worth the effort as it's in a beautiful garden setting with little ponds. There was also a local gentleman playing the piano and accoustic guitar which added to the ambiance. Food was good and staff were very attentive. Worth a visit!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank thequest2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
We are so happy to make you pleased. Thank you so much for your kind word. Yes, we are too hidden thus really needing guest's "word of mouth" to survive. Such as your review is very valuable for us. Thank you so much again.
We wish you and your family all the best for the Festive season and New Year coming,
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved discovering this restaurant down an alley, through a residential section, in the middle of Hoi An Ancient Quarter. It was raining the night we had dinner here, which made it even more magical. Lush greenery and ponds surround outdoor seating.

The menu features a mix of Vietnamese and French fusion. I had the lemongrass pork ribs. Others in our group tried the seared duck, beef shanks, and calamari. Start with an order of their fresh spring rolls. All of the food was delicious.

Their wine selection is extensive, featuring a variety of whites and reds from Chile and France. We opted for a Chilean Carmenere, which was very reasonably priced of 400,000 Vietnamese dongs.

But the best part of the evening was the service and attention by the wait staff. To our surprise, at the end of the evening, our waiter stepped up to the end of the table and sang John Legends "All of Me."

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs.Pamela,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to please you, especially TOM, the singer of our team. He loves to sing and do it with all passion.
Now we are taking time to release the new menu for 2019 on time. We do hope to have another chance of serving you. Hope you would be pleased for more with our new menu.
All the best for you and family in this festive season.
Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled onto this restaurant via its tiny sign hanging at the entrance to a narrow alley in Hoi An Old Town. A charming respite amidst the jostle of charming but hectic Old Town of Hoi An makes it worth a stop—but to have truly amazing food at incredible prices was a wonderful surprise. Gracious service, lovely music, and fabulous cocktails were a remarkable added bonus. The other well-known restaurants pale in comparison to this dining experience. We stumbled onto this place our first night, endured, our second night, a place on everyone’s list, and returned here for an even better experience our last night. Perfectly tender grilled calamari doesn’t get better than this: served on a bed of thinly sliced fresh vegetables, topped with a salsa of fresh chiles and served with a slightly spicy and wonderfully complex sauce. At about $12 US, the price is a little higher than other places in the area but it’s worth so much more and would be $30-40+ in a city in the US. The only reason they aren’t as crowded as the other places on the main road in Old Town is that they don’t have someone at the alley entrance. Go soon before there’s a line for this wonderful place.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Trip611090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
I'm Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden. I myself (and all of my staffs, surely) are so happy to have your kind review, and most of all, your gratification of having dinner at Secret Garden. Your beautiful words did really thrill us up as well as push us to improve our Secret being better. I think to learn directly from guest is always the best way to ameliorate the quality of product, especially in hospitality industry. From guest reviews, we collect the ideas also the motivation for the next steps forward.
I cannot say anything else but giving my big thanks to your generosity. I do hope to have a chance of serving you again next year. Eager to please you for more with our new menu of 2019.
All the best for you and family in this festive season.
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing