We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite dinner in Hoi An”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #154 of 1,067 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The Secret Garden as a family on our last night together in Hoi An. Its hidden down an alley and you wouldn't know it was there unless you searched. The venue and food were lovely. There was guitarist playing away in the background. One of the staff entertained our 14 month old while we enjoyed our meal and after chatting to another of the waitstaff about how well he spoke english, he said he'd learned through signing and sang to us at the table. It was beautiful and the whole restuarant applauded. The food was delicious too.

2  Thank 676tlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
We are so happy to have your kind word. Thank you so much.
That was our pleasure to play with your beautiful baby. That's not a duty at all but indeed made us feel very excited as well.
We do hope to have another chance of giving you another song from our best vocal of the team.
All the best wishes for you, your baby and the whole family.
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden in Hoian, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a morning tour of the Old Town, we walked down a small side street to find The Secret Garden restaurant. What a peaceful spot to eat lunch. A green oasis! The food was delicious and presented beautifully. We could take our time and savour the relaxed atmosphere. Service was discreet and prompt. A lovely cool place to be on a hot day.

1  Thank BrightStar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brightstar32,
You are obviously a brightstar to illuminate our path. We are so hidden thus needing very much the guest's word of mouth to survive. We do hope to welcome you back next year. Our new menu for 2019 is going to be released very soon. With it, we are eager to please you for more.
All the best for you and family,
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It truly is a Secret Garden, hidden away down a side alley and in a lovely lush setting. We enjoyed a delicious lunch of shared plates between the 6 of us and they catered so very well to the fact that one of our party had a severe allergy.Great service, delicious food, lovely setting all made for a highly recommended restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KimiM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KimiM01,
We are so happy to know that you were pleased with our restaurant. We believe that nice people like you would feel welcomed everywhere in Hoian, not only at Secret Garden. We do hope to have another chance of serving you very soon.
All the best for you and family,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Fantastic secluded and sophisticated location away from the madding crowds...good food and friendly hosts

Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr.Neil P,
We are so happy to know that you had the gratification of dinning at our place. Yes, we are so hidden (hence the name Secret Garden). It was the biggest drawback for us at the beginning but, on the other hand, someone likes it as a retreat from the bustle and hustle life out there.
Thank you so much for kind review. We do hope to have another chance of serving in a near future.
All the best for you and family,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

The secret garden was recommended to us and was not a disappointment. It is a hidden gem down an alley way where you find an oasis of green and a quite tranquil place. We had a lunch & dinner and on both occasions the food was wonderful & awesome passionfruit mojito as well.

Tom recommended the fresh spring rolls,
calamari & the beef spare rib all of which were delicious.

On our return today we had mixed spring rolls & salads. All the dishes have loads of flavour & are very filling.

Tom & the staff are very friendly & helpful.

Thank you for wonderful experience when we are back we will visit again

1  Thank 98lyndallm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lyndall M,
We have just came back to works from our annual vacation, and your beautiful review was just like a wake-up call to re-start our engine. Thank you so much for your kind word. We all do hope to see you again soon.
Eager to please you for more.
All the best for you and family,
Uy TRAN, the owner, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing