We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil setting amidst the bustle of Hoi An”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #146 of 1,060 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 3rd trip to Hoi An and each time we have made sure we visit this restaurant. It is a little hard to find as it is down an alley either off Tran Phu or Le Loi and you should look for the plaque on the wall at the front of the alley. It is an ideal setting for a quiet meal away from the noise and bustle of the Old Town. The meals are well presented, very tasty and reasonably priced. We enjoy both the meals and the atmosphere here. A secret worth sharing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
Our place remained a secret until the day you confided it to everyone. Thank you so much for your kind support. We are so happy to make you pleased with that dinner, and will be happy for more to have your return next year. We commit our effort in making a better menu for 2019 in order to reciprocate your nice affection for us.
Can't wait for the day we see you again.
All the best for you and family,
Uy TRAN - The owner of Secret Garden in Hoian, and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent dinner for four at Secret Garden. Value for money, and variety of dishes really hit the mark. All of us found something special on the menu, and enjoyed a well positioned wine (two bottles) that hit the mark. The service was attentive, and the food portions were generous. Caught in torrential rain, the team also offered us rain/ponchos to get home. I would highly recommend this restaurant to fine food lovers who want to get away from the chaos of restaurants on the water, or down the main drag, and quietly sit, listen to piano/guitar and enjoy a sumptuous, delightful dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CathH-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear our esteemed guests,
We are so rejoiced by giving you the delight in having dinner at Secret Garden. Thank you so much for your kind word.
We wish to have another chance of serving you next year with our new Menu for 2019.
Eager to please you for more.
All the best for you and family,
All kind regards,
Uy TRAN - The owner of Secret Garden in Hoian and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We’d heard amazing reviews from friends about this place so were super keen to try it out. The setting of the restaurant is absolutely gorgeous, with a beautiful garden area with ponds and water features throughout. It’s sectioned off as well, allowing plenty of privacy at your table. The staff were nice and friendly but I felt could have been more attentive with serving drinks and did not offer our table water. The menu was great if you weren’t vegetarian. Unfortunately my daughter and I are and the only options on the menu were vegetarian spring rolls and then a choice of the side dishes, so effectively it made for a bland mea. I was really disappointed that the staff could not even alter any of the existing menu items and make a vegetarian version, which is the case at pretty much every restaurant we visit. I have to say it wrecked the dining experience with having to eat a large bowl of mushrooms and Bok Choy as out meal that night. Needless to say, I wouldn’t return

1  Thank Choccylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear my esteemed guest,

I'm Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden in Hoian. Thanks for your review.

Honestly, i cannot remember how many restaurants i have been in my life but i can remember clearly how many restaurants where they offered the table water. Frankly, thanks for that touch but i never drink it, because surely (100% or most of them) we all understand where that water came from. And in Vietnam, water is, let say, affordable. In the restaurant, we serve it at the price of VND 15.000 (approx. 65 cents) per bottle.

About the food, i would say again that i cannot remember how many times i repeated that Secret Garden does not have any specific menu for vegetarian or vegan. We were placing our menu at the front door in order to beg the attention of anyone who's tending to come INTO the restaurant. Maybe you didnot pay your attention on it or you might do it but still insist on having dinner at our place. Please, my esteemd guest. Please donot blame your wrong decision on the others. Albert Camus said "Life is a sum of all your choices". Please swallow it and then being happy or...getting experience.

You know why we have no menu for vegetarian / vegan or we couldnot accept any twist to our original?!? Because we cannot make it unique and exceptional. We can make it good, definitely, but for serving in a restaurant, it has to be exquisite and delicate. If you have any chance of travelling to Hanoi or Saigon, i'm honoured to recommend you some very distinctive vegetarian restaurants as Loving Hut (38 Huynh Khuong Ninh, Saigon) or Uu Dam (34 Hang Bai, Hanoi). Please come to these places and enjoy one of your most favourite veggie meals in your life. Then i do hope you will be able to grasp firmly what i mean.

So sorry about your meal that night. Needless to say either, i do hope that would be your first one also your last one at Secret Garden.

All the best for your health and your fortune,
Uy TRAN - The owner of Secret Garden in Hoian and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Positives first, the location and setting away from the crowds was a pleasant relief, the restaurant layout is a large open sided, warehouse type space. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The food however was a let down. I would agree with a previous reviewer comments that the chef/owner has dumbed down the flavours to a level that removed any hint of flavour, there was no hint of freshness or any attempt to lift the meal above that to be found in a poor suburban Auckland takeaway shop.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkSturgiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Manager at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Mark,
Sincerely, we do hope you are still staying around the old town that we can come to give you the refund of VND 158.000 (approx. USD 6,79) for your dish of Fried rice last night. We were misunderstanding that you were fine with our apology for that dish of Rice. We saw you wiped up your starter of Green papaya salad and your first main-course of Savoury seared duck with pleasure. For the second main, actually cannot call it "left-over" but few fractions remained on the coconut. I'm the shift-leader last night. I myself came to ask you whether your rice was not good but you said it's OK and told me "You donot need worry about that".

It's totally my fault. After eight years working in hospitality, i have to confess that sometimes i cannot recognize the concealment of guests. I wished to be able to perceive the truth behind your reluctant smile hence i could manage to make up the mistake for you immediately. However, because there were dozens guests coming at the same time last night thus i couldnot stick my mind long enough to following your behavior. So sorry, Mark.

On behalf of thirty-two people working at Secret Garden, once again, i do apologize for your dish of Fried rice. Honestly, we wish to have a chance of giving you the full refund for that dish of Rice. Hope to redeem your pain of that expenditure shortly.

We are really much looking forward to having your response. Hope you can find our online contact easily on Internet.

On the other hand, we strongly suggest you to donot drink too much spirit as Bombay gin or Absolut vodka before (and during) the meal. That habit will extinct your sensibility of different flavors.

All the best for you and family,
Ly NGUYEN (Ms.) _ The shift-leader be your servant last night.

P/S: In any similar case in the future, would you please donot give your gloss to pretend being satisfied. You pay on your own thus having right to claim the best value for your money. It's easy, Mark. We should live on our innate ego. People say that is human dignity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

This is the best Vietnamese food restaurant. The quality and flavor in their dishes is unique. the atmosphere of the restaurant is simply beautiful. you will never imagine that behind that alley there is a great jewel! It is definitely a place you should visit.

Thank Andreina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Andreina,
Oh my God, you cannot imagine how much happy we are by receiving your kind word. Thank you so much, Andreina. Yes, we are very hidden hence its name Secret Garden. By word of mouth from our esteemed guests, we were being able to survive and maintain the flow of business. We commit our best effort into improvement in order to be able to serve you better.
Eager to have another chance of satisfying you.
All the best for you and family,
Kind regards,
Uy TRAN - The owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing