We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$262
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Guest(Galle)(Great Value!)
US$25
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Amangalla(Galle)
US$550
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$746/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
143
87
63
37
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
87
63
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolluna terraceold world charmsri lankaauthentic colonialpanna cottacolonial homeoverlooking the indian oceansouthern coastheritage hotelgalle fortantique furniturerice and curryhome away from homeprivate balconyunawatuna beachlunar
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

My buddies recommended this place and when I reached the hotel I couldn't believe the location it was situated in, I felt like I walked into a Wes Anderson movie set , the hotel with its whole texture and ambiance authentically spell interesting history and legacy complimented with all modern day contemporary services & warm hospitality by the staff who had equally interesting stories to share. You can take anything off the menu and its so well made from their own organic gardens, my favourite was the Sri Lankan curry and rice - the best in town undoubtedly and the deserts, mousse & yogurt with honey is to die for.

Sipping a well made arrack sour by the lunar terrace infinity pool over looking surfers catching waves on the Devetta beach is what dreams are made of! A must stay option for anybody who goes to Galle.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank 503asada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are clean and have a balcony that has wonderful views of the coast. The baths needs replacing as old but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. They all have a fan plus air conditioning which I like as not an air conditioner person so really dislike when no fans in rooms. The staff are great and helpful. It's an old place with character with an infinity pool that is stunning on the lower level. Worth staying at if you appreciate charm and good service.

Room Tip: Higher floors with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JMW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The hotel has beautiful gardens and a great view of the beach, however there is no beach access from the hotel.
The staff were helpful and mean well, but I am afraid the standard of the bedrooms and bathrooms came as a shock. I have not stayed anywhere this bad, since I was backpacking twenty years ago! Dirty and stained, cobwebs everywhere, the rooms really need a makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ana_sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed for 10 days at Closenberg. The rooms were spacious with a private balcony over looking the bay. It was so restful to sleep with the sound of the waves at night. Our family enjoyed the infinity pool and bar where we were served delicious snacks and super chilled beer (especially the calamari, fried rice and of course French fries). Breakfast was varied and the staff were happy to provide for individual tastes. The grounds of the hotel are amazing, which my son enjoyed exploring. The local surfing beach was right on the doorstep - great for budding surfers and experts alike. Lots of delightful beaches are nearby and Galle Fort is great for eating out or souvenir shopping. All in all an excellent stay. My even better if ... improve the toiletries in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DELama64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I wanted to splurge on a luxurious stay for once and unfortunately for me I chose the Closenberg. I booked 3 weeks in advance and reached the room to find dirty towels, broken kettle and broken telephone. The layer of dust on the door made it seem like no one had cleaned it in a year! The curtains had some red stains on them and I don't even want to know what it was.

I insisted they clean the room again and for that I had to leave and get out. Not ideal since I had been travelling since 8 a.m. It was now 3 p.m. You would think the least they could do would be arrange some transport to take me to the fort area but no, they only got a tuktuk. The manager was rude and asked me 'what can I do'! I told him he only had to provide me the service I had already paid for well in advance!

A terrible experience. I will be back in Sri Lanka and galle many times but never again will I stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Shreya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews