We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food on the water”
Review of De Patros

De Patros
Ranked #13 of 383 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Asian, Indonesian, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food on the water”
Reviewed November 19, 2016

Had business lunch with two friends. Wasn't busy for lunch. The food was very nice and they put us in air conditioned side room. It was no rush and fuss time!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Victorville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    38
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Went to the one in Harbour bay on a Saturday, crowd starts to pick up after 2130 hr. Live band playing was a little boring but they strongly accept requests of songs, just tell the waiters/waitresses there. Food & drink was exceptional but not the cheapest around. On the safe side, we ordered fish & chip and fried calamari, it didn't take long and both food were okay. We were sitting insecurely as we spotted few cockroaches lingering under our table. Some things just cannot be helped.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank SXSXXNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“De Patros has two locations”
Reviewed August 23, 2016

De Patros has two locations, one at Harbour Bay, and one at the Dermaga complex in Sukajadi. Both serve so-called Fresh Beer which is made at a microbrewery in Batam seems it is named Tom's beer. There is an ongoing 2 for 1 discount. The beer is good taste & quality, and costs less than approx 2 USD per glass (with the 2 for 1). The beer looks to be the biggest De Patros draw and likely income too.

Food at either location is basically okay, some dishes a bit better than others. Often seems, as with many to most cafes, they lost or gained a cook and food quality changes to either better or not better.

The Harbour Bay location is at seaside and can often get a bit loud from the band and customers. The Sukajadi location is typically less noise, mainly because less people go there. In fact if they did not serve the Tom's beer they just might not get enough business to stay open. I prefer the Sukajadi location and there is a small group of steady customers that hope we give them enough income to not close down.

There are not that many good cafes in Batam. So, De Patros is one of the few better places to kick back, relax, and have a beer x 2 or more. Try the food but do be aware that sometimes can be either quite okay or quite not okay. Note as well not many places in Batam have good steaks or even burgers. Get a local dish and typically it will be better. Hope that helps !!

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
Reviewed August 14, 2016

I was there back in 2015,
The foods or beverage is okay,
i liked the acoustic band though played on there,
recommended for a couple person or more,
you know you don't want to be sitting there all alone.

Overall, decent place to hangout.

  • Visited September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustYos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang,Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Drinks, not so for Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Hubby and I went to the establishment twice during our visit to Batam. Our first visit was amazing, drinks were lovely- we had some smoothies and was entertained by this lovely band that sang some oldies and 80s and 90s songs. The band was very good, every band member could sing and added variety. There are doing some work, so they have closed up with some green thing-so there is not much wind-making it pretty hot. Crowd was more of music lovers, couples, not many families. We were excited for a second visit.

My second visit- we went for dinner, food was rather expensive, nothing great in terms of taste. Unfortunately for us, this time around there was no live band, just a repeated loop of prayers[ Muslim prayers] the entire visit-probably due to the fact that it was Aidul-Fitri. We did not stay long. Crowd was different this round, many families, perhaps as the time was much earlier. Also there were cockroaches [1-2] crawling and flying- much to my disappointment and cats/kittens walking about.

I would definitely go back for late night drinks if the live-band is there. But would eat dinner somewhere else..

  • Visited July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Patros also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to De Patros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing