We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour of Mt Bromo by Graeme”

Authentic Java Tours
Ranked #1 of 35 Tours in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private, escorted ready-made or tailor-made tours for independent travellers. Our main focus is on the Indonesian province of East Java and Madura island. We do not do ‘open group’ tours of travelling strangers. The tour will just be for you. To provide the best experience we limit the number of participants to 1 to 4 people only. Those on our tours benefit from our authoritative and interesting commentary in English en route which will provide background, context and insights to understanding what they see and experience on the tour. All our tours are organized by us to ensure a quality experience, and with the assistance of local guides at the destinations. We also partner with local tourism sector providers for our hotel bookings, restaurant stops and transport to ensure that we contribute to the local economy in accordance with local regulations, and in keeping within our sustainable tourism model.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Kudos to Graeme for making us have such a fantastic time at the tour. Highly informative, knowledgeable and well-read . Really interesting and warm person.

Graeme made sure that we have a comfortable tour and all the arrangements were perfect.

We highly recommend him for tours in Indonesia and hopefully do many more tours with him in future.

Thank Niyati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticJavaTours, Owner at Authentic Java Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed out tour and would consider doing more. Best wishes, Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"graeme steel"
in 19 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"day tour"
in 22 reviews
"local market"
in 11 reviews
"cottage industries"
in 4 reviews
"mt bromo"
in 8 reviews
"great tour"
in 6 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 3 reviews
"great pictures"
in 3 reviews
"glass bead"
in 3 reviews
"batik village"
in 3 reviews
"fishing boats"
in 4 reviews
"active volcano"
in 4 reviews
"arab quarter"
in 7 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 2 reviews
"limestone quarry"
in 2 reviews
"historic hotel"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2017

Our guide Greame was wonderful and had such vast knowledge of Surabaya. We booked this tour with him as were very impressed with his reviews on Trip Advisor. He has a very good website that explains a little about himself, and his tours. We were coming in for the day, and he was picking us up at the cruise ship terminal. He was certainly able to give us a great tour of China Town, Arab Quarter, House of Sampoerna, the working harbour, and so much more. I would have no hesitation in recommending Greame's services, as you can tell he loves what he is doing.

Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticJavaTours, Owner at Authentic Java Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

It was wonderful to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed the tour so much. It is very helpful feedback for us. Thank you! Best wishes, Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Greame was able to accommodate me on very short notice for a Saturday tour of the historical sights of Surabaya. When you have someone as friendly and knowledgeable as him as your guide, the chaotic surface of this overwhelming city makes way for an understanding of the history that has shaped it and the culture that currently blooms in it. I was taken to all the mayor sights, as well as some important ones that I haven't read about anywhere on my internet searches and which I am sure are not even accessible to the general public. Graeme also went out of his way to accommodate my requests and adjusted his itinerary as the day went along to include things he thought I might find interesting. Thanks Greame for introducing me, not only to Surabaya, but to Indonesia as well.

1  Thank IzakDeKock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticJavaTours, Owner at Authentic Java Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate receiving your feedback on the tour you took with us. It is good to see that the tour met with your expectations. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017

We had an excellent day with Graeme! We covered everything that we wanted to see in Surabaya--and then some. I don't write elaborate reviews. What I say here is, simply, I can recommend Graeme and his services unhesitatingly!

Thank GeeAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticJavaTours, Owner at Authentic Java Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear that our Old Surabaya Tour met with your expectations. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Graeme was able to take us to places that were not usually visited by tourists or public. He was very knowledgeable with Surabaya's history, cultural background, and made it very interesting. This tour is very local and authentic, and was one of the best tours and tour guides we had on our Indonesian trip, definitely recommend.

Thank ilikehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuthenticJavaTours, Owner at Authentic Java Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Thank you so much for the review. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Authentic Java Tours also viewed

 

Been to Authentic Java Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing