We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't like my hair cutting but like the body treatment”

Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Spas & Wellness in Bandung
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

I implusively planned to visit here to have a body treatment package after a long tiring workdays, but then I thought of having my haircut, too. I booked first via phone and arrived here in 10 mins. I chose one of Dewi Sri package which included scrubbing, steaming, massaging, masking then soaking in a hot tub water with herbs. The receptionist asked whether I wanted to add milk for hot tub soaking part, just had to pay additional IDR 50.000, but I declined. I then was brought to hairdresser's chamber with a glass of tea as welcome drink. In a short while, my hair was shorter because there was no queue at all. With my wet hair, I then was escorted to spa/massage chamber. It was said that the treatment would take 2 hours time, but then I realized I had spent 3 hours real time. Maybe it was all because the timing to wait to dry some treatment first. I liked the treatment steps & consistency. After finished all the treatment I was served a cup of hot ginger tea with 2 slices of biscuits. I finished them all in minutes then I went to the cashier, realizing my hair had not been brushed. I thought I would have a blow dry session to finish all up. But there was none. I then asked to borrow a hairbrush to getting neat my wet hair because I was in a rush. That time I realized I did not like the cutting at all. However, since noone except 3 receptionists to be asked for help amending my hair cut, I left my hair alone. No further cutting.

1  Thank gabywhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia D, Public Relations Manager at Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Gabywhee,

Thank you for your review of our spa outlets at Ciumbuleuit, Bandung.
We are very glad if you are satisfied with Martha Tilaar body spa treatments.
We hope you'll visit again.

Warm regards,
Florencia Dwi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Great service for the people and your salon need (facial and hair). The salon is actually pretty complete with its service; it goes from waxing, facial, hair trimming, hair spa, massage, etc. Love it!

1  Thank Dewi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia D, Public Relations Manager at Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Dewi R,

Thank you for your review of our spa outlets at Ciumbuleuit, Bandung.
We are very glad if you are satisfied with Martha Tilaar spa treatments.
We hope you'll visit again.

Warm regards,
Florencia Dwi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

Do the ginger gold treatment for couples.. At first we were dissappointed with so many unavailable options for massage and body treatment.. So we opted for this one

The massage is okay, although i would say that the lady doing the treatment is not very patient on applying the scrub at first.. I also did my blow dry with rush because the staff is going home.. Oh my.. Such service can not be tolerated.. Come on, it's only 6pm.. martha tilaar, you need to train those staff with the same level with jakarta..

Also, for the payment, your staff does not understand the redeem point on debit/credit card and thought my payment to the salon is not full.. Please train them also about this..

5  Thank Rinkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia D, Public Relations Manager at Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Rinkaa,

Thank you for your review of our spa outlets at Ciumbuleuit, Bandung.
We apologize for any inconvenience you have been during spa treatments.
We will follow up on service quality standards of our spa .

We would like to contact you personally to elaborate on the problem you have been experience,kindly please email us to admin_spa@cantika.co.id. Through this review , we will strive to improve the quality of spa services to our customers.

Thank you.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I tried the 1 day spa package which cost IDR 840,000 but I topped up extra IDR 80,000 for nail colour service for both hands & feet. The package includes body scrub, body massage, body steam, milk bath, facial, hair cream bath (hair spa), basic manicure & pedicure without nail colour. In total, I paid IDR 920,000, which is very cheap for a top-to-toe spa treatment! However, I find the services are not up to the famous Martha Tilaar spa reputation in Indonesia & they're definitely below my expectations. Having lived in Jakarta, Indonesia for 2 years previously & a frequent spa goer, this was definitely one of the below-average spa experience I had.

The lady who did ALL the above-mentioned treatments lacked experience & lacked interest in her job. Her massage was not fantastic & she couldn't explain what products that she was using on me (I was speaking Indonesian to her, although not fluent). Facial was very basic - expect some redness that last till next morning due to harsh extraction method. Her manicure was the worst! She was filing my nails upwards! Her nail colouring skill matches my 5 year old daughter's (no joke!). There wasn't any base coat before the nail colour is applied. When I removed the colour 2 days later after I flew back to Singapore, my nails were stained. The hair cream bath was okay, but not the best I've had.

Probably, that was just my one-time luck to get that particular staff who isn't well-trained (I do believe there are other well-trained staffs than the one who served me). The one who did my pedicure was pretty good! Nevertheless, Martha Tilaar should train all their staffs well to avoid such a bad spa experience in future.

Although website says healthy lunch/snack is provided, I was served with a welcome drink, & toward the end, a cup of warm ginger tea & 2 tiny pieces of crackers. I was at the spa from 11AM till 5.30PM ( and I was starving!).

The attached toilet was quite dirty too. There were black mold in between the bathroom tiles. Spa need more maintenance!

TIPS: To be safe, just go for the body massage, milk bath, body steam & hair cream bath. Don't bother trying other services.

3  Thank meyxtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia D, Public Relations Manager at Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Candyxtine,

Thank you for your review of our spa outlets.
We apologize for any inconvenience you have been during spa treatments.
We will follow up on service quality standards of our spa .

We would like to contact you personally to elaborate on the problem you have been experience,kindly please email us to admin_spa@cantika.co.id. Through this review , we will strive to improve the quality of spa services to our customers.

Thank you.
Warm regards,
Florencia Dwi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dea R, Guest Relations Manager at Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa also viewed

 

Been to Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing