We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The orginal Balinese cartoon show!”

Oka Kartini Shadow Puppet Performance
Ranked #11 of 22 Concerts & Shows in Ubud
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The puppet master showed a great sense of fun and added some English to the mostly Sanskrit play. We already knew the plot and the characters so it was no problem to get the drift...it was good theatre with an atmosphere of mystery as we watched the shadows pass in the flickering light of a flame. It was very artfully done yet still fun, exotic and a delight overall. Luckily we brought our umbrellas because you would be soaked just getting to the street for a taxi. Lots of lovely Balinese artwork at very reasonable prices in the gift shop, come early and browse...

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wayang kulit"
in 3 reviews
"traditional art"
in 2 reviews
"characters"
in 8 reviews
"theatre"
in 6 reviews
"sanskrit"
in 4 reviews
"plot"
in 4 reviews
"master"
in 9 reviews
"dialogue"
in 3 reviews
"filmed"
in 2 reviews
"tourists"
in 2 reviews
"bali"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The shadow puppet performance was very Atmospheric and luckily if it quiet or you get there early you can pick a seat by the fan. I personally liked the music and I was impressed by the intricate details of the puppets.
The only down side is it is very difficult to understand in the first half what is going on. You are given a sheet with the overall synopsis of the story but there seem to be a number of characters and I had difficulty working out which were the good characters. This is why I think it may be a bit too difficult for children to sit through as a lot of patience is needed.
It was great at the end though getting to look at the puppet master behind the screen.
I think it is worth doing if you've never been to a shadow puppet performance before add it is truly unique.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank EmmaMBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I'm probably an ignoramus but this was very dry. Sure it's cultural and historical but it's an hour long, in a foreign language and the puppets were hard to make out.

If you like this type of thing go for it but t was boring and I was ready to leave after 15 minutes. Not one for kids either as they won't know what the hell is going on.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank 5redleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We had to walk out half way. We tried to be polite and stick it out but we were getting migraines from a 'drum' that was like someone knocking loudly, sharply and repetitively on a wooden door over and over and over BANG BANG BANG BANG none stop for 30-75 minutes (depending on how long you can last)

The puppets weren't held closely enough to the screen either so they were blurred except for their faces.

We were given an English run down of the storyline on paper, but we couldn't follow where we were in the plot at any part of the performance.

I hate being negative about anything but this really was awful and we wish we'd save our time and money and not bothered.

The puppets were pretty and there was a sense of ancient culture to the show but I'd advise looking at You Tube clip and seeing if it's for you before getting 'stuck' at a performance.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This hour long performance was just right in terms of seeing the artistry of the shadow puppets while still following a story that was told in Sanskrit (not a language we speak!). The best thing was that you can purchase the puppets at a small store in the same compound. We bought two for about $75 each and absolutely love them. They come with their own stand for easy display.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank WanderingFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oka Kartini Shadow Puppet Performance also viewed

 

Been to Oka Kartini Shadow Puppet Performance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing