We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
26
4
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
4
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom house close to nature villa privacy bugs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

It is fascinating place, 100 mts from a very nice and quiet beach, to which also accesses a close luxury hotel. It's a two-storey house built in a beautiful architecture. The idea is to be in total contact with the nature, so that the openings to the outside are devoid of windows and mosquito nets. There is only a mosquito net (actually a little bit small and shabby) only on the bed. You must be available to sleep practically outdoors, with the positive (sounds, smells, etc.) and negative sides (humidity, insects, animals, etc.).
The really negative aspect, which is not reported anywhere, is that the structure is not accessible by car: after leaving the car at the beginning of a coconut grove, to reach the structure you need to hike a trail walk 200-300 mt, with its ups and downs and its jumps, very inconvenient for not young people and especially at night time. This, if you do not want to go around Kovalam (which however is 8 km away), is a problem at least at arrival and departure.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stefaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

It was the best place I've ever seen, really. Beautiful beach with golden sand, very clean and quiet, waves are not big.
We took big house with two bedrooms. It is big enough for 4 people. It stands in the shadow of palms, don't worry about air conditioning.
Meal is perfect. It's possible to order everything that you want to your taste. Staff is very kind, they try to do all for your comfort.
We didn't find anything that we don't like. I advise this place to everybody who swim well, love ocean, relax and comfort.

Room tip: Take the big house. It's more comfortable
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Татьяна З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Thank you to Alex, Joseph, Adonis and Madu - 5* for service, thank you for looking after us. The setting is beautiful, food is super, and the 2 cottages are stunning, heritage style buildings with a wonderful antiques collection. Note - there are no windows and lots of ventilation (!) but this adds to the beauty and unique 'boutique' feel of the place. A lovely experience, thank you.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank AnnetteS653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Two aspects stand out; the care and attention from Alex, Joseph and Adonis (and the somewhat erratic cooking of Madu - more later) and the location above a perfect golden beach in amongst the coconut plantation. Do not expect 5* amenities, but do expect attentive service every time you ring the bell and an exotic environment. We arrived without luggage (lost by Etihad) and in a cash crisis with every ATM empty. Alex pestered the airline hourly until our luggage was grudgingly located and returned to us. He also loaned us money from his petty cash so we could buy emergency clothes and toiletries from Kovalam corniche. "If you are happy, then I am happy" was pretty much his mantra.
We stayed in the one bedroom villa that was very comfortable, and we loved sleeping under the mosquito net to the waves crashing on the beach and the frogs and the crickets and showering ‘al fresco’. But be warned, there are no windows or shutters so you are open to nature and all the sounds and bugs; ear plugs might be useful if you sleep lightly.
The beach is wonderful, and although not private, it is hardly busy and shared with only another couple of bungalows and the Niraamaya resort above the cove (good for a posh meal out or a drink). However, the beach is quite steeply shelved and the waves tend to dump, so not really suitable for children or weak swimmers, especially in the monsoon when no swimming is allowed.
We ordered most of our meals from Joseph/Alex from a fairly expansive menu. The South Indian options were great, especially fish curry and grilled prawns and the lunch time veg thali. But be careful about ordering anything from the menu (such as ful medames) as Madu can find himself out of his depth sometimes. Also be aware that everything is charged for, so for example poori for breakfast is charged according to the number of poori you order and the aloo separately - very odd! Having said that, we had an amazing meal on Christmas eve on the beach with candles and a bonfire at no extra cost!
We also asked for the ayurvedic massage, which although was provided in a fairly basic lean-to behind the cottages, was one of the best massages we have had. I can't recommend Vinod enough.
Overall, an amazing four nights and a perfect Christmas. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank SimonEtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We spent three wonderful nights in the two bedroom house and loved our time there. The beach is a delight: clean, quiet (hardly anyone else there at all) and beautiful and the house is nicely elevated above it to catch the breezes and is surrounded by lovely gardens.

The house is a wonderful and interesting piece of architecture and decoration, with greenery, beautiful stonework and open windows for breezes everywhere. It is comfortably furnished and has excellent wifi. We slept really well each night, hearing only the sound of the breaking waves and birdsong in the morning. The meals were great - only fresh and locally-sourced ingredients used, all cooked to order and eaten on the lovely terrace. We also enjoyed their on-site Auverdic massage service.

We were extremely well looked after by Alex and his team and recommend this place most highly. Do make sure you arrange for them to collect you, as this "hidden gem" really is very well hidden!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desertnomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews