We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
NICE EXPERIENCE¡

A very nice place, surrounded by nature. You can do several courses either as a beginner or... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2020
PacooLucass
Nice place good yoga

Good experience for a first time ashram goer. Nice people. Felt a bit culty and it’s a bit strict... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 November 2019
emgoodsb
Read all 247 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
from US$680.00
More Info
from US$12.72
More Info
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
147
50
17
12
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
50
17
12
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teacher training course banana cake enjoyed my stay nice experience satsang ttc classes beginners discipline energies routine programme rules om kerala
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2019

I had a wonderful yoga vacation here, but the old man at reception didn’t refund me properly and ended up causing a scene. The rule is that if you have less than 250 rupees on your om lotus card, it will be refunded to you when you leave. The rule does not say that you’ll only receive a refund IF you have change. I had 99 rupees left on my card and didn’t have 1 rupee as change, so the old man gave me 90 rupees instead of 100 or 99, which would have been the right and principled thing to do. It’s the reception’s job to give out the refunds and also have proper change, and the old man took the 9 rupees he should have given me as a “donation to the ashram.” I went back to him a moment afterwards (with a single rupee I had found) and told him what he did was wrong, but he said my account is closed and there’s nothing he can do about it. He was not kind at all. It’s not even the matter of the money, it’s about principle and in a place that emphasizes karma, it seems like this man needs to learn the difference between right and wrong.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank yogini19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataraj 1, Director at Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Dhanwantari Ashram, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear yogini19. I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. I will raise the matter with the staff so that it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2019

I went for two weeks of Yoga Vacation and really enjoyed my stay. My best advice would be to really read everything on their website before you go so you understand what it is about. I did this and nothing surprised me. I think some people hadn't and were a bit shocked either with the extent of the rules or with the religious aspects but this is an ashram not a health retreat. Maybe 'Vacation' is not the best description - the day is busy and long and much is compulsory. But I realised that that is part of the intention. After a few days of not having to think about anything, or decide anything, I was very mentally calm. The yoga was good, it is repetitive, but that is part of the point - to help you be calm. Doing it up on the roof with beautiful views was lovely. I ached from all the cross-legged floor sitting but I know it was doing me good physically. I really liked the food and there was loads of it - but I like Indian vegetarian food - if you don't then you might not be happy. You cannot leave the Ashram much, but that is part of the point and didn't bother me. I found all the staff very friendly and kind. I had one of the more pricey private rooms and was glad I did - being able to make my own tea and sit out on my balcony was nice. The setting is beautiful, the ashram is attractive. The chants are going around in my head still....I think I will go back again one day! I would suggest starting on 1st or 16th of the month as the programme is progressive. Also, suggest if you go for Yoga Vacation that you avoid going when there is a Teacher Training Course (TTC) going on. One started a few days before I left and suddenly there were an extra 150 people there and it was more crowded and less peaceful than before.

Date of experience: November 2019
3  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataraj 1, Director at Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Dhanwantari Ashram, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear Fiona. Thanks for your realistic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Good experience for a first time ashram goer. Nice people. Felt a bit culty and it’s a bit strict but I guess this is just the nature of an ashram. Living condition were good and the food decent. Would recommend

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank emgoodsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataraj 1, Director at Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Dhanwantari Ashram, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Om Namah Sivaya. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2019

I spent 5 days at the Ashram, it is situated in a beautiful, green area, and I wish I could have stayed longer as the discipline and rigor of everyday practice do help to recalibrate. The yoga rooms are semi open and beautiful, the food, although very simple is delicious and I actually really enjoyed the silence during meals and would be happy for even more. It's requested after the evening chants, but it wasn't fully observed. Guests are asked to attend all practices, I found attendance taking a bit weird as I feel I am an adult and if I am in the ashram I can be trusted to manage myself.

Similarly to some other reviews I really struggled with the 5.20 wake up - it would probably be easier if the evening satsang was earlier, but you finish @9.30, by the time you sleep it's 10 the earliest, so 7 hours was just not enough so kind of struggled with sleep deprivation. The yoga classes are the same everyday, something that is tough but really allows you to deepen your practice. The instructors are engaged and happy to help, I especially enjoyed Ananda's classes, who's positive energy radiated to all participants. Overall I feel the Ashram is well run, and would recommend it without reservation.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataraj 1, Director at Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Dhanwantari Ashram, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019
Google Translation

Om Namah Sivaya. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Spent 35 days at the Ashram
And took Panchakarma programme experiencing many types of treatment which were introduced every three days I had a great therapist and good guidance from doctors.Feeling nourished .The Yoga Vacation programme leaves you with expanded view on what yoga really is.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataraj 1, Director at Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Dhanwantari Ashram, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Maria. Thanks for your encouraging feedback. We are happy to hear that you benefited from both the Ayurveda and yoga facilities for body, mind and soul well being.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews