We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Abad Atrium Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$40
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casino Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$46
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abaam Hotel Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$38
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaron's Homestay(Kochi (Cochin))(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$20/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$19
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sealine Beach Resort(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kochi Marriott Hotel(Ernakulam)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
US$103
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
131
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifecooking lessonlocal fresh fishhotel levelwonderful fruitfriendly family rundinner cookedsuperb hostred snappershort walk from the centrevegetable dishesinternal courtyardlovely homestayeggs and toastkeralan foodfabulous place to stayquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The most amazing couple are Francis and his wife who welcome you with such warmth, you are at ease immediately, everyone should try a homestay.
The food was amazing, the standard better than what you find in some restaurants and such amazing variety.
An Oasis amidst a very busy city.
Thank you both

Room Tip: This is a homestay, so difficult to compare to a traditional hotel, but please do try it
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CharlesLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFrancisResidence, Owner at The Francis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Lorna and Charles,

Greetings from The Francis Residence.

Thanks for your most valuable stay and the great review in trip advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the food here.

Rosy is very happy to know that you liked her preparations and the choice of the menu.

Kindly recommend us to your friends and family.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Have a great weekend.

Thanks
Rosy'and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The Francis Residence was the first place I stayed in Kerala and it's very high standards in decore,facilities & food proved to be far superior to many of the hotels I was to go into after. My room was upstairs & had a lovely peaceful balcony.

Owners Francis & Rosy are so kind & caring & certainly look after their guests.Their knowledge of the area & their ability to arrange anything needed ,was invaluable to me travelling on my own.
They even found me another place to stay on my return to Kochi as they were full.But their friendship remained & I visited them for advice & chats
I will be returning to The Francis Residence -- even if just for the smiley face on their wonderful breakfast !!!!!!!

Thank you Francis & Rosy

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marionthackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFrancisResidence, Owner at The Francis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Marion,

Thanks so much for your stay and the excellent review in trip advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offered.

Kindly recommend all your friends and colleagues.

We look forward welcoming you back with us soon.

Have a wonderful weekend.
Rosy'and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is a gem. Officially an economic homestay, in reality it offers all that you could want in accommodation at a great price: quality building, fixtures and fittings, air-conditioning, TV & satellite, safe, adequate storage, desk, tea & coffee facilities, bathroom with quality fittings that all work. Most rooms have a lovely balcony/private garden (weather permitting use). Offer family facility (3 beds). The owner is very pleasant and helpful, and knows the hotel industry well: he works to make this a success for the client. Good food (breakfast included) with lunch and dinner available to order. with pleasant sitting out areas. Personally I would rather stay here than in a five star hotel. Highly recommended. Can't say more.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet: free from traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonC4624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFrancisResidence, Owner at The Francis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Ron,

Greetings from The Francis Residence.

Thanks for your stay and the excellent review in trip advisor.

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed staying here and finding us higher standard than any hotels.

Many thanks for letting the travel community know about it.

Here at The Francis Residence we do everything out of passion and love. Hence all our guests are very happy and comfortable.

Kindly recommend us to your friends and colleagues.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Have a great weekend.

Rosy'and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Comfortable air conditioned room. Meals were outstanding and although not cheap by Indian standards, not to be missed. We were made very welcome by Mr Francis. Our first experience of a homestay and we were hugely impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arthurr415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFrancisResidence, Owner at The Francis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Arthur,

Greetings from The Francis Residence.

Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Cochin and the great review in trip advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the food here.

We , being close to the beach and the Chinese fishing nets, do exclusive seafood lunch/ dinner with calamari, tiger prawns and fish, complimented with lots of grilled vegetables and curries. Of course Indian bread and rice.

As per the order I myself hand picked them fresh from the Chinese fishing nets.
Price varies every day as per the size and the quality. The seafood served unlimited.
Hence it is little pricey compared to other restaurants and eateries.

Kindly recommend us to your friends and family.

We look forward welcoming you back again.

Have a great weekend.

Rosy'and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

External path to house very smart..Immaculate homestay ...leave shoes outside to aid keeping the white marble tiles pristine .
Lovely area upstairs to sit in if you wish with grass growing in middle .
Oh my goodness ..dinner..best meal we have had and we have had some good ones ...hats off to mrs rosie ...5 stars to you .
Many thanks mr francis enjoyed our chat over dinner ...first place that offered us a cup of tea for our early start at 5 30 am ...
Well done to you both great place .

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFrancisResidence, Owner at The Francis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear guest,

Greetings from The Francis Residence.

Thanks for your stay and the excellent review in trip advisor.

We are excited to know that you enjoyed your stay and the food prepared by Rosy.

Thanks for recommending your friends and colleagues.

We look forward welcoming you back again with us soon.

Have a great weekend.

Rosy'and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews