We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shack of Candolim..”
Review of Alex Beach Shack

Alex Beach Shack
Ranked #6 of 334 Restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Closed for monsoon from June 1, 2018 to october 1, 2018... open during tourist season when the monsoon has stopped
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We have recently returned after a week long holiday in Candolim Goa. We were a group of 15, comprising of non vegetarians as well as vegetarians. Decided to go to Alex for lunch after reading the great reviews on TA. Were very happy with the taste and quality of everything we ordered. Yellow Dal, Bombay style Aaloo, Paneer makhani, Red Snapper, Fish and Chips, Chicken Malai Tikka.. everything was delicious. The best were the Cheese Garlic Naans. They are to die for ... very soft, fresh and garlicy. The service ...by Alex himself, Rocky our main server and other boys... very welcoming and warm. Location of the Shack is easy to find....it is the fourth or the fifth Shack on the right, after hitting the main stretch of Candolim beach from the lane opposite 10 Downing Street.
We returned for dinner again the next evening and the ambience was amazing. Candle lit tables close to the waves of the sea. We ordered Chinese fare this time and were once again delighted by the taste and flavours of all the dishes. We gave Rocky our own playlist and danced in the moonlit night, to some groovy music, at sea side.
All in all, Alex's Shack will be now be forever on our to do list on all future trips to Goa.

1  Thank Richa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly stuff, good food, reasonable prices, enough sun beds, shower available, nice toilets with soap, everything you need for a day on the candolim beach. Totally recommend it!

1  Thank Svenja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The only reason people visit this place is cuz it's right near the enterence of the beach. Food is pathetic. Pricing is ridiculous. The staff is least bothered. Would not recommend!!

1  Thank Aditya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aferns, Owner at Alex Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Mr. Aditya,
I'm sorry to inform you that I am 100 percent sure that you have reviewed my shack mistakenly as my shack is not near the entrance of the beach. Please check the name of the shack carefully before you post a review so as not to damage the image of a reputed shack like how you have almost done to mine. I understand it can be difficult to do so when you are under the influence of alcohol . But please try. That being said i hope to have a visit from you time. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Great food and friendly staff. Beautiful views of Candolim beach. Staff will save you a sun bed. Fantastic chill cheese naan

Thank Lutonmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We felt comfortable straight away. The staff are so friendly and the owner visits daily to greet guests. All the staff are great but we became friends with a guy called Rocky who could not do enough to make sure we were looked after. He would regularly come and sit with us to chat which was really nice. Run by a bunch of genuine lads and the food is very good. I recommend the chips which are the best I've ever eaten. Also the Wi-Fi is 5G speed if ever needed. Highly recommended and only a short walk from beach road.

1  Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex Beach Shack also viewed

 
Candolim, Bardez
 
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Alex Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing