We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveler rating
501
841
308
94
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
841
308
94
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool garden suite bora bora french polynesia swim up bar blue banana small kitchen standard room separate toilet short stay great pool lagoon view hotel restaurant crepes other islands full kitchen our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a night at Manava Suites Resort (MSR) following a recent French Polynesia cruise. When checking out online pricing prior to our visit it appeared that MSR was a very good value over other luxury options on Tahiti. We were not disappointed. The facility is modern and relatively upscale and the rooms were clean and well appointed. It has good options for eating and dining. And with its infinity pool, swim-up bar, ocean swim areas and a great view of Moorea, it has a very pleasant atmosphere.

There are basically three room options. The first are Standard rooms (where we stayed), in the front second floor area (elevator available) that overlook the little drive-through entrance road just off the main road. These are conveniently located but, we thought, could be a little noisy. However, the main road gets pretty quiet at night. They are also fully air conditioned which precludes the need to open any windows. The next section, closer to the beach, have the garden rooms, most of which appeared to have balconies or patios. As they sound, they overlook or look out upon nicely landscaped interior areas. The third option are the ocean view rooms, which also appeared to have balconies. They have great views of the infinity pool, ocean and Moorea. So make your choice; you get what you pay for.

Tahiti prices are high in general, so it’s not surprising that resort prices would be even higher. Again, MSR is the value option, so it’s not going to be as pricey as say the Intercontinental. And the prices include taxes and gratuities which eases the burden a bit. When we made our reservation online we were given the option to add breakfast at $33 USD/person. We didn’t do this as the cost seemed outrageous. As it turned out the option was still available on site for $35 CFP, or about $33 USD. This is an extensive buffet and may be worth the cost (again consider tax and gratuity inclusive). However, there are ‘a la carte’ choices, like pancakes, omlettes, etc., that may come in a lot cheaper. Breakfast is served in the main dining room only which has an interior area and a nice patio adjacent to the park-like exterior.

Another eating option, and the one that we took a couple of times, was to eat at the Roulottes down the street. The Roulottes are supposed to be trucks that move among various locations, but in some places are more permanent. Some actually do the cooking on exterior grills and have table service. A group of them were available after 6:00 PM a very short walk from the hotel. The prices are good and the helpings more than adequate (translate - large). So much so that the consideration of sharing makes sense. And they are very popular with the locals. The main food choices are steak and fries, chicken and fries, pizza, Chow Mein and crepes. We chose a version of crepes that made a great dessert. On the way to the truck parking area, along the other side of the road, were several semi-roulouttes that are almost permanent buildings. We stopped at one almost across the street from the hotel that had very juicy hamburgers.

Another advantage of booking at MSR is that Marama Tours, highly rated by Trip Advisor, has an office on-site. We took the Circle Island tour (great value at 55 CFP and highly recommended). It actually started from the MSR, so we had first choice of vehicle seats.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay. The personnel were very friendly and helpful, providing orange juice during the check-in, arranging for taxis, making local calls and even weighing and storing luggage. There may even be an option for using a ‘transit’ room for late flights or obtaining a day room at low or no cost, depending on how long one stays.

Room tip: See review.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuka_Guest-Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ia orana Schofim,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, we very much appreciate your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and I will certainly share your comments with the team.
I know that this feedback will serve as encouragement for all us to continually strive towards improving the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a very spacious suite, small bedroom but large living room and lanai. The room was clean but pretty sparsely furnished, only medium quality construction. Great service, friendly staff. The pool and patio bar/restaurant were beautiful and in an awesome location. The main restaurant is tucked away in a corner with no view at all, with medium quality food. But if you're looking for a place for a family, and do what we did (buy breakfast supplies from the local market, an easy walk), you'll find this hotel very comfortable and a good deal. Bonus: the Blue Banana is an easy walk, a great place for dinner.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuka_Guest-Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ia Orana John C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Your comments are very much valued.
We are much looking forward to welcoming your return soon again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay - friendly staff, nice bar and infinity pool with waterfalls. Salt-water lagoon with some man-made reef allows safe swim and fish-watching for the youngest guest. Great sunset views to Moorea.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Petia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuka_Guest-Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ia orana Petia N,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, we very much appreciate your comments.
I know that this feedback will serve as encouragement for all us to continually strive towards improving the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were really excited for our French Polynesia trip to start off at this resort. As part of our travel package, our flight arrived at PPT at 7am and we were hoping the hotel would have some flexibitly with early check-in, as most hotels do. We’ve been waiting 7 hours here and they have not been able to get our room available or work with us in securing a room before the check in time of 2pm. Poor customer service, which is very disappointing considering this is not the most inexpensive resort.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Go822711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuka_Guest-Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ia Orana Go822711,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Please take note that our check in time is at 2pm and if you wish to have your room earlier, especially 7hours before the check time, we recommend you to book 1night before your arrival date, as most of the guests do.
Thank you for choosing Manava Suite Resort Tahiti as your destination hotel in Tahiti.
We are much looking forward to welcoming your return soon again.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The resort seems recently renovated and we saw no construction. The new pool overlooking the lagoon and Moorea is really nice and they have built 2 islands that you use a footbridge to get to that have sand and nice lounge chairs and umbrellas, also looking over to Moorea.
Our mountain view room was ground level and comfortable. It did not have a stand up shower so had to use the tub with hand sprayer which usually doesn't go too well for us.
The main restaurant has nice outside seating in the garden and the food was quite good and they had numerous gluten free choices and nice hot GF rolls. The prices were fairly typical for Tahiti and reasonable for the quality of food. We were not there for the breakfast so can't comment.
It was great to have their very fast internet after minimal connectivity on Rangiroa. The fitness center was also decent.
I would definitely stay here again for layover. $20 cab from the airport to the hotel and about $27 from hotel back to airport for 2 people and 2 checked bags. We also had to pay some local $20 tax even though I thought we prepaid the whole thing on hotels.com.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Finova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuka_Guest-Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Ia Orana Finova,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews