We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$224
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$228
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jaz Aquaviva(Makadi Bay)
US$285
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$103
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveler rating
1,003
153
29
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
153
29
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf hotelchef georgegolf viewthe pool bar restaurantsmall hotelthe hotel manager mrquiet locationmohamed elgolf buggyromantic mealdressing roomcold towelsrelaxing holidaythe general managerbreakfast and dinnerother hotelslarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I are 1 week into our fortnight stay at The Steigenberger Hotel

Firstly let me state that if you want peace and quiet and relaxation then this hotel has it in abundance.

All the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. There are far to many to mention here, but they for us are the heart of the hotel.

In relation to the Al a carte restaurants that are on this resort, which you can use once a week as part of your all inclusive package, we felt it was unnecessary to use them as you can get (in our opinion) just as good a meal if not better at The Eagle Restaurant, which is next to the main reception in the hotel itself. Your choice!

My wife and I have had Spa treatments all over the world and without a doubt the Spa treatments here are up there with The best. Thoroughly recommended by us both. All prices are negotiable and are mainly in Euro's.

We had the Honeymoon package which cost €550 = £480 this adds up to 10 massages over a 2 week period.

I would also like to take a moment to thank the house keeping staff who, after I misplaced my wedding ring, found it for me. To say I was relieved was an understatement as this holds great sentiment to me. Thank you for your honesty.

Most evenings there is light entertainment in The Bogey Bar and I have to say, so far so good. You can see what is on by looking at the plaque just past the main reception desk. We recommend The Fusion Dance. These two girls worked really hard and were very entertaining.

We have found out that most tour operators currently do not do trips to Luxor or Cairo.

To resolve this issue we have found 2 options. 1) You can ask the hotel reception to source the trip for you. They will inform you of all costs and issues. Or 2) Hurghada Drivers, who you can contact via their website. Like the hotel they will inform you of everything you need to know and do. The price difference between the 2 is about £10. Our overall package cost £142 for a couple. Both come with a private driver/guide.

So far everything has been positive, but I do have 2 gripes.

While the room we are staying in is spacious, comfortable and has a great view of the sea, the problem is the beds! My wife and I like to sleep together in the same bed not in 2 separate beds that are pushed together.

The only other moan, is the quality of the white wine. To say it is poor is an understatement. We like our white wine and we know quality when we see and taste it. If you care what you drink then the nearest reasonable and just about palatable white wine to have would be The Chateau De Granville. This is not part of the all inclusive so you have to buy it, £25 per bottle.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Chris,

thank you very much that you took the time to share your holiday feedback with us.
It was a great pleasure that you choose the Steigenberger Makadi for your vacation.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that the provide service was meeting your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again here! Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi.

Ayman Anis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

From the time we arrived at the Steigenberger Makadi we felt very welcomed, check-in was slick and trouble free. Our room was lovely and spacious bed was so comfortable wanted to bring it home are cleaner Ahmed kept everything spotless all the staff were so friendly from gardeners to reception and management and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was very good with a good choice at both breakfast and dinner, and lunch at pool bar and beach was good,also waiters at both restaurants in the hotel looked after us so well especially Reda.
We hope to return in 2019 once again thank you for a great holiday.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Nigel John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Mr. Nigel John,

thank you very much that you took the time to share your holiday feedback with us.
It was a great pleasure that you choose the Steigenberger Makadi for your vacation.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that the provide service was meeting your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again here!

Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi.
Ayman Anis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and it was just as good as the first time in 2017. All the staff are first class and happy to help with anything. If you cannot find anything to eat on that dining day they are always happy to cook something up for you.

Rooms are excellent and bathroom as well. The beds are very comfy and the best we have had in Egypt. We had a bay view and it was wonderful to look out but I am told the golf views are just as good. The verandah is large and kept very clean - no dust at all,

Most days we caught the shuttle bus down to the beach which is clearly marked and there is a bar available for you to use. Unfortunately the beach beds do not have any mattresses which are not ideal but I did notice none of the other hotels have them either. There is a restaurant you can use at lunch time and the quality of the food is excellent. Service is quick and happy staff.

As this hotel is small compared to other hotels in the area it has a more personal feel to it and you do not just become a number.

People have moaned about the quality of the wine but it is the same wine that is used throughout Egypt and we found it ok. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all of a good quality and we have no complaints. I cannot think of any negatives to say about this hotel and look forward to returning in a few weeks time..

In 2017 TUI only had 4 rooms but now they have 20 so the hotel now seems busy compared to last year with more british people going so it is probably a 50/50 mix of British and Germans.

Be prepared for many searches at the airport - you just seem to have gone through one security and then there is another checking the same things. I think there is four in total - can be taxing but it is better to be safe.

There is a good reason why this hotel is number one in Hurghada.and you will not go wrong booking it but it is not a hotel if you want plenty of action and night life.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justloveltotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Justloveltotravel09,

thank you very much that you took the time to share your holiday feedback with us.
It was a great pleasure that you choose the Steigenberger Makadi for your vacation.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that the provide service was meeting your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again here!

Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi.
Ayman Anis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Once again enjoyed a wonderful stay in this fine hotel. Smooth handling by the staff at the desk and luggage at check-in. From management to maintenance personnel, friendliness is important here.The introduction to the new hostess was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience for us, Gabriella is a worthy replacement and know how to keep her perfectly standing in this men's bastion. In the well-kept restaurant, Mahmoet and his staff assure you of a smooth and good service. In the pool area, Yahia and Said ensure that you can enjoy a very well maintained pool and environment. At the pool bar, Solliman and Tyson were strengthened by Ismael and Mustafa. With a laugh and a joke, this team will take care of your drinks all day long and also for lunch service. Under the leadership of chef Mohamed, the chefs do their utmost to offer you an excellent and varied buffet every evening. During lunch you can also opt for a "special of the day" as a supplement to the card. The small scale, the quiet location, the beautiful, spacious rooms and above all the perfect service makes this the ideal place for us to return time and again during the winter months.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PA-Belgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear PAK-Belgie,

thank you very much that you took the time to share your holiday feedback with us.
It was a great pleasure that you choose the Steigenberger Makadi for your vacation.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that the provide service was meeting your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again here!

Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi.
Ayman Anis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

After staying in a steigenburger hotel previously was expecting the same standard. Quite the opposite. Food awful and though a small hotel would have expected better quality for 5 star. The staff at the poolside bar were excellent lifting your spirits each morning. The drain on the bathroom stunk making me retch, air freshener was used not ideal. The rooms are lovely and comfortable if no smell.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Sir and Madame,
Thank you for your review as we are trying the maximum to make our guest feel valued and welcome throughout their stay and these are the comments of many of our guest you will read time and time again throughout TripAdvisor. I am sorry you didn't feel this during your stay.
As we are always striving to guarantee the maximum guest satisfaction which is reflected in the continual hotel management actions and guest reviews. Regarding the mentioned feedback we did contact you by our guest relation during the daily round and you did report your comment and we are working on them same day to have it done.
Again thank you for this feedback regarding the hotel staff which means that you got an excellent service by the pool where we do serve the same quality of service so we hope to be able to change your experience in the near future and meet your traveler expectation.
We did investigate all possible sources analyzing your stay and all records reflects your satisfaction in the lobby bar, reception and restaurant during your stay with us.
We were always around you in the restaurant, bars and even the romantic dinner where you were satisfied.

Looking forward to welcome you again
Ayman Anis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews