We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Keywebird

Waterfront oasis

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 30, 2013via mobile
We stayed at Angermeyerpoint Waterfront for our last few nights in the Galapagos & it was worth every cent, especially when compared with Finch Bay & Hotel Sol y Mar. The staff were wonderful, friendly & helpful. The food was better than Angermeyer Point restaurant & the drinks & cocktail menu more extensive. We had the Mockingbird family room & it was lovely with sea glimpses. The wifi was slightly flaky in the room but ok in the main bar. Beds were the best we've had on our South American holiday! They also did my laundry after I left the form on top of the pile without time to complete.
Date of stay: March 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱25,036
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱25,036
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱11,205
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,205
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
₱6,477
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,184
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱6,710
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,710
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱16,389
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱16,389
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱15,125
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,448
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,332
0.7 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,006
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,752
0.9 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,451
  • Booking.com
10.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Breakfast included
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,883
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
339
100
23
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
100
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi santa cruz overlooking the water galapagos islands marine life sea lions minute ride overlooking the bay small boat private balcony hotel restaurant every morning main part a wonderful stay our honeymoon your luggage breakfast was included
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 479 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very interesting hotel with great service. The owner was on site and personally changed our room for a standard to a beautiful room.. Media Luna... With a great view over the busy bay. The family history is woven throughout the hotel. Food was better than average with an attractive breakfast buffet.

Room tip: Call ahead, the hotel is popular
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

we stayed here for one night after a 4 day cruise around the islands with the intention of just relaxing. This place definitely ticked that box, situated a short water taxi ride from the port and right on the water. the rooms are very clean, the bed one of the best I've slept in and the staff very friendly. It's not a hugely flash place but we weren't up for that, we rathered something with its own character and Angermeyer has a very relaxed feeling with a white colour scheme and simple, neat furniture. We stayed in the sea lion room and at first we thought it would be noisy, being so close to the restaurant and bar. but we had no issues whatsoever during the night.

There were numerous things however that made this place not get "excellent". for example the TV made a buzzing noise so loud we couldnt watch it. No batteries were in the remote either. The fan was also too loud to sleep with it on because the light fitting rattled. The cocktails were nice, but a bit overpriced for what you get. My partner had fish for dinner and it was very dry and flavourless. The owner was very nice to us but we saw him have a go at one of his staff and felt a bit sorry for him for being reprimanded like that out in the open. And they seriously over charge to transfer you to the airport. None of these things are particularly bad, but altogether they just took away a bit from this hotel.

That all said we would stay here again on another trip, and do recommend it, the location is just stunning!

Room tip: DO NOT get an airport transfer, this costs $65 each way and you can do it your self for $25 for 2 people ($1 each for 2 boat rides; $18 for a taxi).
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Overview: It was a little expensive for what it was, but the hotel was lovely and we had a really nice stay. I’d stay here again.

Location: Hotel is located on the water looking into town, close to a nice little beach as well as Eco Finch Hotel. You have to take a water taxi to town where all the restaurants are, but I actually enjoyed doing it because it was so pretty on the water at night. We stayed at 3 different hotels and none of them were directly in town, which I was happy with. While all the bars/restaurants are in town, it’s not necessarily the prettiest environment. Lots of construction going on in town, so Angermeyer felt like a respite from that.

Room: I booked a “standard double room” on hotels.com, and wasn’t sure exactly which one we were going to get. I did email the hotel to make a request, and I was told were getting a Queen, ocean-facing room. All the rooms are very different in terms of size and style – some on the ground level were HUGE. We got the Pelican, which I was very happy with. It was on the second floor with a small balcony with what I think was one of the better views available at the hotel. The room itself was the smallest of the 3 hotels we stayed at, but it was big enough. There was a queen bed (comfortable), closet and TV, which actually worked (Spanish only). Bathroom was a good size. Shower had great pressure with plenty of hot water. Wifi was free and worked pretty well, as did the AC. Just be sure to shut windows in the evening and night. Lots of mosquitoes and geckos come out.

Hotel: The hotel grounds were really nice. Building was Gaudi-esque and the hotel has a restaurant on the water, which was such a nice place to sit and have breakfast at. We didn’t have dinner there, but breakfast, which was included, was really good and plentiful. There were lots of sea lions that hung out by the hotel - very cute!

Activities: We booked 1 tour through this hotel. The tour was Ok – not a bad experience, but probably our least favorite of the tour companies we used.

Service: Very good. Someone was always around to help us and answer any questions we had.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had booked a hotel through an online booking company that shall remain nameless, but we were unhappy with what we found on arrival. So the search began walking the streets of Puerta Ayora for a replacement hotel. We looked at 6 different hotels ranging in price form $40 to $450 to find just the right place for three days. Even though several of these same hotels showed up as fully booked on my internet search months ago, each had rooms available. However, none of them fit the bill. Fortunately, just when we were about to hop the water taxi back to town, my wife thought we should check out just one more since the Angermeyer is located right next to the water taxi pick up. Elsie at the front desk couldn’t have been more kind or helpful in showing us a room and getting us set for our three night stay.

The room was very nice and clean with ample space. There was a nice table and chairs just outside the room to relax while watching the waterfront. The location is excellent and don’t let the water taxi spook you from staying here as it only cost 60 cents and is easy to take even with baggage. There was never a wait for the water taxi as there are several sitting at each pick up point. A breakfast buffet is included which was very good with just about anything you could want. Elsie also was a big help booking us on a day trip for wildlife viewing and snorkeling. Many of the staff speak very good English which is a huge plus. Everyday we had questions that Elsie was able to answer easily. This is a luxury as most hotel staff in the are were not fluent in English. The hotel has no pool, but in about 5 minutes you can walk to an almost private beach. Dinner at the Angermeyer was excellent and reasonably priced. Each night the two of us paid about $50 for two entrees and wine. The dining area is right on the waterfront with a great view. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we ever return to P.A.

If you are planning a trip to the Galapagos, be sure and book directly with the hotel to cut out the middleman fee. This can also cut out confusion as the hotel we had originally booked with didn’t even know we were coming. Also, a reputable hotel knows the good boats and tour operators. Even as experienced travelers, these are the biggest lessons we learned from this trip.

Room tip: Call ahead or go online to pick the perfect room before you arrive.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

In my opinion, this is the best hotel and value in Puerto Ayora. I had a terrible experience with FinchBay Eco and the Angermeyer staff and management saved my trip from being a disaster.

The real situation -
1. The hotel is where the water taxi arrives. You walk 15 feet to get to the water taxi dock.
2. The view from the Media Luna room is absolutely beautiful.
3. The food is good. I thought FinchBay's had a better selection and quality, but it was still good.
4. The staff was amazing! The manager, part owner (Elysie) and day staff nailed it on quality service.
5. No pool. For some people this is a big deal. I'm not really a pool person, so I didn't care.
6. View at the restaurant. It is easy to sit, eat and get lost in the view of the town and ocean.
7. Most of the staff speaks English!!! This is rarer than you may think in the Galapagos.

This hotel has considerable value. The Angermeyer was roughly $280 per night which is a great value when you compare against the other hotels in the area. I paid $380 for a horrible room at FinchBay Eco.

Room tip: If you want a room with a great view, get the Media Luna or similar type of hotel room. Don't get the ground level rooms. You won't have a view.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelxvalmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews