We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
somewhereingeorgia
Georgia

I cannot say enough GOOD THINGS about this hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 9, 2012
Teppy, the owner is on the grounds and interacts with visitors to make sure they are having a great stay. Everything on the property is pristine, from the rooms to the service to the landscaping and food. I stayed in the "Penguin" house, which is a free standing room with private bath and large patio. Others in my group stayed in the newer three story building that looked like Gaudi had designed it. We were all super pleased with our rooms.

This hotel has free WIFI in every area, including rooms. The only way to get to the hotel is by water taxi from a pier across the lagoon and the cost is $1 USD. Everything else commercial is across the lagoon from the hotel, but it takes less than 5 minutes to make the trip by water taxi. All of the staff I met were very friendly and helpful, and spoke English.

The building with reception and the bar have architectural features that look like they would be something Snow White would live in with the dwarfs. The doors are short and narrow, there are odd shaped windows and other whimsical features. These things were not a negative and I mention them because I thought they were really nice. To add to the quaint factor, the rugs around the property were actually thick white rope rolled into a coil on the floor.

I had dinner and breakfast and the food was very good. Breakfast was served by buffet and our tables were set up outside near the water, under a covered canopy with palm tree leaves on top. Of all the hotels I stayed at in the Galapagos Islands, this was my favorite one. I could easily go back there for a month and never get bored.
Date of stay: December 2012
Room Tip: The Penguin room would be perfect for a honeymoon couple.
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱11,241
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,591
  • Vio.com
    ₱8,377
  • Booking.com
    ₱10,424
0.8 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
₱15,591
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
    ₱15,592
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱15,591
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
₱6,482
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,834
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,665
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,827
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱6,716
₱6,044
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱6,716
  • Hotels.com
    ₱6,037
  • eDreams
    ₱6,716
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱14,762
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,746
  • Agoda.com
    ₱12,360
  • Booking.com
    ₱16,392
0.7 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱11,486
₱9,408
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,397
  • Booking.com
    ₱10,453
  • Priceline
    ₱10,444
10.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Breakfast included
Pool
₱13,731
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱12,475
  • Expedia.com
    ₱13,810
  • Vio.com
    ₱13,716
1.0 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱8,760
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱8,760
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,005
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,750
0.9 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱7,387
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱4,653
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,938
  • eDreams
    ₱4,653
1.2 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₱24,497
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱25,468
  • Vio.com
    ₱22,550
  • Hotels.com
    ₱24,933
0.3 km from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
339
100
23
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
100
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi santa cruz overlooking the water galapagos islands marine life sea lions minute ride overlooking the bay small boat private balcony hotel restaurant every morning main part a wonderful stay our honeymoon your luggage breakfast was included
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 479 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We enjoyed 5 wonderful days at the Angermeyer Waterfront Inn. I booked directly and was already impressed with the booking agent Elsie. As it was our first time to Puerto Ayora and the Galapagos Islands, I had no clue what to expect. Elsie prooved to be a patient and incredible helpful contact. She answered all my inqueries promptly and helped us getting a great room with an awesome view and a balcony to relax on at a very decent rate.
Once we arrived there we found everyone very friendly and helpful, starting with the chef who shared our water taxi and helped carry our luggage. At first I thought that the location across the bay would be less practical, but there are so many water taxies and the fare is so minimal that the location prooved to be ideal. With constuction happening on the main street the Angermeyer Inn was a quite haven of tranquility! It was very relaxing to sit on the balcony or in the restaurant and take in the ever changing view across the bay with the many yachts coming and going.
Usually I am a fussy sleeper, but the bed/mattress was incredible comfortable. The breakfast which was included was very sumptuous and the restaurant provided good meals with excellent service.
Overall everyone at the Angermeyer Inn provided fantastic service and I can thoroughly recomend this hotel.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretagetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 blissful nights . We had a bad experience at a hotel in Santa Cruz that we booked in advance and just stumbled upon this place on our way to Las Grietas in Finch Bay. We told them about our upsetting experience with the other"high profile " hotel/ tourist trap and they were Soo Sympathetic. They gave us a Superior Room for a special price . The food was Amazing the complimentary buffet breakfast was so great. They had 3 course dinner specials that were presented like a "master chef" competition was taking place and you were a guest judge. The presentation of the food and the great taste were awesome. My husband has worked at New York resatuarant as a chef for many years and he is the ultimate food critic but he loved it. All he could say is that it is more expensive then some of the local restaurants along Baltra Avenue . The spunds of the waves at night the yachts in the bay and the seals that just climb up and lay down a few feet away as your having breakfast. The beautiful finch birds that chirp hello in the mornings just amazing. The whole island has occasional power outages and the food and quality of service stayed impeccable, I even joked with them that you would never think that there was a power outage with all the tasty breakfast that came flooding our table that morning. My husband just chimed in about the delicious buffet again. Our special thanks to Elsie , Mary Lou and The amazing staff. The chocolates put on our pillows for turn down bed service were such a nice touch. We will never forget the wonderful time here and The Superior Room , Superior Customer Service and Superior Water Views and Superior Level of Humanity . I pray a blessing upon this place. No where else for us in the Galapagos but Angermeyer . See you soon

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here while we were scuba diving each day and only spent the evenings and mornings at the hotel. The hotel itself nice with good views over the bay (not as nice of a view as Finch bay Hotel). The rooms were good sized and larger than Finch Bay. Most of them have balconies (not all are private) to enjoy the bay views and provide an area to dry out clothes and dive gear. Ntoe that you have to take a water taxi to and from the hotel because it is not directly in Puerto Ayora. We went to town everyday to meet our scuba diving charter it was a little bit of a pain but that in no way diminishes the quality of the hotel. The hotel is quieter than those in town and although not as luxurious as the Finch Bay it does have very large rooms and comes as a more reasonable price than the FInch Bay if you do not need a beach and pool area to relax.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The water taxi brings you to the nicest area of Poerto Ayora. We staied at the Finch Bay Hotel (great!) and just came to the restaurant of the Waterfront Inn. We were very dissapointed about the service and the food! A night before we had one of our best meals at the other restaurant across the road called "Angermeyer Point" . I loved the design and the food was absolutely fantastic!!!!!! The service was a bit unfriendly (we were a mother with a child....) but we enjoied ourself anyway!! The Waterfront Inn was full....and we saw the other restaurant turning off the lights because they didn't have any guests----very unfair, we should have gone there again!

Room tip: We didn't stay at the hotel....
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July '12. This place has the best location in town, just a 1 minute taxiboat (which were always on stand by) ride away from the busy streets of the port and you can walk straight to a very nice beach. Enjoyed a nice lunch and dinner on the terrace. Breakfast was average (but still great to have it on the ocean side terrace). Our room (pelican) had great ocean view and a balcony but was a bit small on the inside for the price we paid ($225 a night).

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews