We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$559
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Marta Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Martin Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Patio de Getsemani(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
455
78
15
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
78
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge tubold townwalled cityboutique hotelegg dishessmall poolbreakfasts were excellenthighly recommend staying hereplunge poolthe breakfast areafirst floorfresh juicelower floorjunior suitelovely roomold houseeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in April and we wish we would have booked this hotel for longer! The staff was so friendly, accommodating and spoke perfect English. They greeted us with cool towels and The rooms were quite, quaint and most importantly clean! The hotel itself is older and full of old world charm. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Is always nice to read that our guests also like our old charm, as it belongs to the city and of course to the amazing history of the house. Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

The Alfiz is amazing! The moment we walked in the door the staff was attentive and helpful. They helped us plan all of our activities and gave recommendations on restaurants. The room was clean and beautiful! If you're going to Cartagena, stay here!!!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Thank you for sharing your impression from your recent stay in Alfiz. We hope you can spread the word so many other visitors can discover Cartagena too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It is an exquisitely restored property in Old Town Cartagena. Many original construction features and even some original furnishings are preserved. We stayed six nights and could never get enough of this beautiful building. The sitting areas, library, courtyard, breakfast area (fabulous breakfasts by the way!), pool area, and rooftop hot tub areas are all delightful spaces in which to relax and enjoy a drink with friends and fellow travelers. The location is superb too with many shopping and dining options nearby including a great local restaurant right next door, a grocery store half a block away, and a massage spa right around the corner. The Café del Mar on the wall is within a very comfortable walking distance. We enjoyed several tours which can be conveniently booked right from the hotel. But perhaps best of all is the excellent staff and service. We were always greeted with warm smiles, friendly conversation, and inquiries of how our stay could be improved. Our stay at Hotel Alfiz and time in Cartagena are among the best travel experiences we have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coldsweats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Gerente at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for making feel us so good and that our work to just offer the best of us is recognized! I think our future guests will be amazed with your good suggestions about the hotel amenities and restaurants, massage and shopping in the neighbourhood.
We hope that you have had a safe trip back home full of "Cartagenian" memories and maybe can come back to Alfiz in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed five nights at the Alfiz Hotel and I loved it!
The location is just perfect, right in the historic centre, the most beautiful part of Cartagen?
The room was spacious, with an extra big bath tube, A.C., free wifi, TV with lots of international channels,.
Breakfast was good, with wonderful fruit and juices.
Service was excellent: nicen attentive and helpful staff.
The only thing that makes me not to give the maximum rate is the following: I booked a package, with room, brakfast, welcome cocktail and transfer airport/hotel.
I paid 20% when I bookd and the rest was supposed to be paid at check out. Whe I checked out, there was a difference of appr. 80.000 pesos, around 28€The receptionist, very polite tried to explain the differnenc, but it didn't succeded. Very nicely he decided not to charge me the difference. He mentioned a "impuesto turístico" but it wasn't clear at all.
Apart from that, I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Gerente at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for writing your impressions about Alfiz, is always good to get feedback. Is very positive that you enjoyed our location, and the special care we offer our guests. Regarding the payment question you had during check out let me explain that all rates published by our hotel doesn't include any taxes, as it depends from your situation in the country if you are exempted or not, and also we include a guest insurance and tourism contribution, hopefully this clarify the point. We hope to see you soon back in Cartagena or visiting other cities in Colombia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This is a boutique hotel situated in the central part of the old town. The Cathedral and main plaza are just steps away from the front door. The hotel rooms are spaced over two floors and the room that we occupied had one private room off the open area and a loft room which was the main bedroom, both had private bathrooms. The room did not really have cooking facilities although there was a gas hob which we never tried (the local restaurants are plentiful, good and inexpensive - no need to cook). There was a full sized fridge, initially used as a mini bar, until we took it over with our own drinks.
There was a balcony overlooking the street (you could see the Cathedral) and four hardback rocking chairs, three dining room chairs, a dining table and coffee table. There is a small pool, too small for swimming, but enjoyably cooling after long, hot walks in the city.
The room was kept immaculately clean and bed linen changed at our will, towels were changed daily. Beds were made up in the morning and turned back in the evening.
Breakfast was a cornucopia of exotic fruits, juices, smoothies, eggs, bacon, toast – you name it, all served with the friendliest of smiles.
However, the icing on the cake was the staff. Never have we encountered such a friendly, accommodating and hospitable crew. There are no lifts in the hotel, but your bags will be in your room before you get there. They did everything in their power to make our stay pleasant.
When we checked out my wife accidentally left her jacket in the salon area and didn’t notice it until we were almost to the airport. Not to worry, she said, she would buy another one in Atlanta. We were sitting in the lounge when I was called to the desk. The jacket was there; the hotel staff had sent it out to the airport by taxi. Can’t beat that kind of service.
My only criticism (and perhaps this is old age talking) is that I would have liked a soft seat, sofa, or chair to relax on after our tiring walks.
Would we go back? You betcha!

Room Tip: We were 3, a couple and a friend and stayed in the Republic room 8.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iqaluit03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Wow! what a wonderful words for the most important part of our hotel, our staff, it seems we are doing it well! We will definitely take in consideration your suggest and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews