We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
259
251
56
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
251
56
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paulaner restaurant cafe berlin great hotel room heating stayed two nights hotel of choice sky lounge food for breakfast favorite hotel price value ratio huge bathroom burger king wi fi pork knuckle light rail great city shopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2018 via mobile

One word..,superb!!!

stayed for one night only but i wish i stayed for a longer duration.spacious rooms and equally classy washrooms..the linen is something you wouldn’t experience in many places...I had ordered for food almost at midnight and the service was so quick!!!

I would love to stay here again and would highly recomend this place

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank KunalD287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelDalian, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your positive review, and glad that we could contribute to making your trip to Dalian a great experience.
Delighting guests with outstanding and unique services and products are hotel mission, and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Our 3rd (and 4th) stay at this lovely hotel on a 3 week trip around China.

I love the welcome from the friendly door staff, the airy marble lined lobby with a relaxing calm ambience appreciated after a long transcontinental journey, the golden lifts and extensive breakfast buffet. The rooms are sound, with every convenience you can expect of a 5 star hotel. This is our hotel of choice in Dalian, we’ve stayed in quite a few, also excellent (intercontinental, New World).

The prices are very competitive usually well below the average for similar 5 star Dalian properties. I book with Booking.com which seems to offer rates inclusive of breakfast. On a previous visit we chose a studio suite which offered separate lounge and large double bed. The bathroom as large as some bedrooms.

However on this trip we were now a family of 4, joined by our 5 month baby. So I chose a twin bed room (Deluxe). Not as luxurious as the larger suites or studio rooms but it suited our needs. The beds pushed together to make one massive bed which all four of us slept. The housekeeper seemed to understand us as the next morning one huge bed sheet was used to cover the joined beds so no gap between.

The hotel is opposite Labour Park which gives great views of your lucky to have a park facing room. Our view faced the city, not as scenic but just as interesting to view. A new feature in Dalian by night is illuminated buildings with elaborate light shows.

Breakfast is always a treat with a wide choice of local and international cuisines. Tables are cleared promptly and the buffet replenished often by the team of chefs busily cooking in the open view kitchen.

Although I didn’t make use on this trip there is a good pool and in the changing area an extensive spa (I can only speak for the men’s changing area). The gym overlooking the park has been refurbished since last years stay with high tech equipment.

Overall we like this hotel as it offers good quality rooms, comfortable beds, is family friendly, and central to the city centre. (The Subway is a 10 min walk but taxis are cheap vs UK rates).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ChinaMann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelDalian, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to know that you had enjoyed the convenient downtown location of Kempinski Hotel Dalian and had a pleasant stay with us. Personalized service is of great importance for Kempinski, and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2018

Kempinski hotels are a known quantity, but this one is particularly good. Spacious, with a huge room and an enormous bathroom, I have never had so much space other than in a suite.

Good breakfast, of a standard on par with international hotels, a young, helpful, polite staff. I was travelling on business, but I would recommend for holiday travel as well Hotels in China, even expensive hotels, are cheap by Western European standards, and this one was well worth it.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RonanP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelDalian, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback
We were very happy to know that you had enjoyed the convenient downtown location of Kempinski Hotel Dalian and had a pleasant stay with us. Personalized service is of great importance for Kempinski, and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special. I appreciate that you spent your treasure time to write a specific review.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed two nights and the first thing that hit me on check in was how hot the temperature in the foyer. Upon getting to my room it was even hotter. The temperature settings in the room do nothing. I opened the windows to try and get some comfort. It made sleeping difficult and a early rise as the city traffic came to life.

The Paulaner bar was no better as uncomfortable as the others.

When asking why the heat all that could be explained was the temperature setting is for winter.

Coming from the Gold Coast I’m used to heat but that’s ridiculous.

The service staff where great but had to mark low on the comfort level

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 573darrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelDalian, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and we do apologize for your unhappy experience during your stay. Rest assures that your feedback is being shared with the respective departments for discussion and training purpose. It is our hope that this one time you’ve had with us will not deter you from continuing support to our hotel.
we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Easy check in with English speaking staff. Spacious clean and comfortable room. King size comfy bed with feather pillows. Comprehensive breakfast spread covering worldwide tastes. Opposite the park and shopping mall. What’s not to like?

Room tip: Had a room on the 27th floor. Higher rooms probably have less traffic noise as a lot of hooting goes on from Chinese drivers!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MandyP332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelDalian, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Personalised service is of great importance for Kempinski, and we invest heavily in training to ensure every guest feels special. I appreciate that you spent your treasure time to write a specific review.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews