We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
14
13
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
13
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel is good, the rooms are well furnished. We used the first floor restaurant for the breakfast and for dinner (buffet style). The food was quite good and quite abundant. Also the Chinese Restaurant on the second floor had very special food.

All of this comes natural in a so said 5 stars hotel.

So I would only point out the kindness of the staff, really excellent and sometimes over than expected.

On the opposite side the position of the hotel, far from the sea and far from the town centre, in a sort of nowhere. The swimmingpool is very small and on its side there are only 3 parasols and 6 deckchairs. The standard is very far from similar hotels in Sanya, with huge pools and service on the beach, even if this is far from the hotel.

So finally it results for me as an average hotel, surely good for short stay but not as good as expected.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

A second time to stay here, staff are good, breakfast is a great range, beds are comfortable, wifi good.
The Tv only had 4 western options but that apart a good and enjoyable hotel.
There is an evening buffet, it is expensive and the quality is a not great, for some reason on my visit this time they were adding Vanilla to many things, Vanilla pork, Vanilla roast potatoes, not sure who thought it up but it was not a great taste.
Nice pool, sports facilities and a nice view of either the town or city, highly recommend it
This hotel is near the old harbor, silver beach and the Vietnamese community which comes to life every night

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2015

If only the Chinese would pay ATTENTION to detail they would be well on their way to a high standard but what hope if the word HOTEL is spelt HOLTEL? A ridiculous 'Chinglish' name for this hotel but if you don't mind having to pay for Wi-fi and people knocking on your door at all hours and more than 50 per cent of staff not being able to speal English then worth a stay. Close to the beach and some good ammenities. It's a 40-50rmb taxi ride(each way)into the city but you wont have reason to make that trip as nothing really of note to see. Rooms are good, staff usual Chinese friendly, food acceptable and breakfast is of international standard. Needs to get its act together and offer free wifi and air conditioning so so. There are times when you get fed up with people saying "yes,but you are in China." Excuses wear thin in the end.

Room Tip: Pau the most for a de luxe room
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fox555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

It was a good decision to stay at the Golden Shining New Century Grand Hotel in Beihai. We booked two city-view rooms and one of them was upgraded to the sea-view room. Both room types were clean, modernly designed and comfortable with soft mattresses. The hotel stuff was always helpful in exploring of the city or explaining the way to the taxi drivers. Breakfast and dinner buffet at Western Restaurant offered a variety of local and European food. We enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately the swimming pool area was under renovation during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I mean the air con took hours to cool by a few degrees if you cranked it to 5 degrees, mirror was broken, outlet to refrigerator was broken so you had to take it out of the cabinet, toilet flushed weakly so you had to hold down the handle, shower drain was slow unless you removed drain cover, and the guests would not stop smoking on the lifts. I guess that would lead most people to give this hotel a 2 but these are small things that I could largely remedy - well not the smoking.

What was important to me was that it has a grand lobby, great staff, a breakfast with plenty of variety, very comfortable beds and towels, and a very well equipped gym. It is near Silver Beach but not the city so a taxi costs about 40 RMB each way as the hotel is isolated. Bei Hai in December is pretty dead so being near the beach is isolated. Other months you would be near the action.

Across the road are a few restaurants. I liked the Korean one, but it is very local with no English spoken. Small store to the left of the street exit but it is very limited and also no English.

Nice place to eat in the city is 6000 restaurant. Very good food at excellent prices and a menu with pictures.

They have small buses across the street exit that take you into the city square for 1.5 RMB if you get tired of paying 40 RMB for a 20 RMB ride.

Staff speak English, well some do. Outside the hotel that will be rare. Take along the hotel card and where you are going in Chinese characters not pinyin.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews