We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minnan Hotel Xiamen
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C&D Hotel Xiamen(Xiamen)
US$68
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$58
US$43
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
US$132
US$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bestel Hotel(Xiamen)
US$57
US$50
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
23
80
21
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
80
21
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

First night in the hotel was so-so... Bed was hard (for a foreigner guest) and temperature of the air-conditioning was warm eventhough we set it on high. Last night of our stay, the water in our faucet was yellowish so we got scared, almost wanted to pack up and leave right away, but after a few seconds it turned clear again. They should fix that. I'm pretty sure it's not a 4 star hotel because of the old ceiling that needed repainting and the furnitures were also old.

On the other hand, the staff were very very helpful. If we call for service and they couldn't understand what we need, they would always let someone go up to our room to see what we really need. They try their best to speak English as well. They provided us electric fans and problem solved.

Breakfast was good but not the best. They serve both chinese and western breakfast so it was actually guest friendly.

All in all, I can say we had a good experience and the hotel staff in Minnan Hotel made a good impression during our stay. Will definitely recommend, just needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissButterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 nights. Nothing spectacular about it. Felt more like a 3 star rather than a 4 star hotel.

Hotel was huge with plenty of rooms. However rooms were only located on the 4th floor and somewhere between 17th to 18th onwards. In between were probably offices.

Rooms were clean but had this old feeling about it. Air-conditioning was a big issue in the hotel as the rooms were very warm during the night and we required fans to be installed in our rooms throughout our stay.

Breakfast became repetitive on the 3rd morning as nothing was new.

One aspect worthy of praise from this hotel is their service standards. The staff at the front desk, concierge and housekeeping were all attentive and always ready to assist hotel guests. Good job on that!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank dull_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It is located in the older part of Xiamen. It will cost about 10 RMB to get to Zhong Shan Road or Gulangyu Island.

It's a huge property with a KTV in the lower floors. Highly recommend you get rooms in the higher floors because you can feel the pounding of the music during the middle of the night.

Rooms are clean enough, nothing is high end.

Breakfast was very Chinese. Congee, noodles - coffee is the instant automatic type which is horrible. Fruit, toast and cereals with the green salad.

The cost of the hotel is only about $60 USD per night which includes breakfast so I couldn't complain too much.

For business, it would be adequate.
For pleasure, would go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not get any room that is located on the 4th floor or lower. The KTV will keep you awake.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Definitely do not worth the stars...
Only good stuff:
1) Free shuttle to airport
2) Concierge - can leave your shopping there

Others:
1) Location - poor - many cab driver says the traffic is bad and difficult to drop us directly at the hotel, small eateries at the back of the hotel
2) Request for high floor not given, as a result no lake view and when I asked, I was turned down.
3) Too many rooms, rooms assigned far away from lobby
4) No breakfast
5) On the last day, wanted to try revolving restarant dim sum. Only buffet style for breakfast. Told manager I was heading back to Singapore and only wanted tea and a few dim sum, was turned down again.

A good hotel doesn't turn down its guests for for than once and when little exceptions are required. Not worth what was paid for a 4-star.

Room Tip: Choose high floors... many of the business owners/cab drivers here told me this hotel's too costly in the china context so I believe won't be value-add to pple from other countries most likely...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

During my stay recently, the staff and services they provide are still go good as I'm here 3 years ago. It feels so warm over here as XIAMEN are a nice place, consider the hotel pricing, services they provided, how much can u ask for comparing others or other countries? The food are still ok consider to other hotels as all are aware hotel food normally are not so fancy isn't it?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICEBOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews