We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phum Baitang
Nearby Hotels
US$55
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Temple Residence(Siem Reap)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$120
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anantara Angkor Resort(Siem Reap)
US$264
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
431
24
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
24
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater buffalopool villarice paddiescambodian villagethe resort managermain poolwooden villasvillas setunderstated luxurystunning resortother resortsf b managerfood and beverage managertuk tukthe general managerstar resortangkor wat
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Words cannot describe this marvel of a property in Siam Reap.

A big thanks to all the staff.
The entire experience was mind blowing and humbling to us.

If you are traveling to Siam Reap with family, please look no further.

I have stayed in several luxurious properties around the world. Phum Baitang is certainly a class apart because:

- personalized service from all staff
- nothing is an issue or problem for them when it comes to accommodating requests
- tours are made easy , safe, realizable and affordable ( tuk tuks can be hired from outside for a very reasonable price for temple tours; if you are going to pub street for dinner or heading somewhere else for an activity like the circus behind the hotel , the tuk tuk will wait for you for a very reasonable 2 to 3 USD charge even for an hour or more. So, no need to plan anything in advance with regards to an itinerary)
- Patti Ho is incredible - I really miss the personalized service at breakfast; preferences are well noted in advance and an alert is placed on the system - every staff in the hotel knew that I was vegetarian - now that is service
- did I forget to mention that the place is Eco- friendly with minimalist impact on the environment
- David Ashcroft , manager, comes and meets every guest personally upon arrival and departure
- The team at phum Baitang is simply outstanding


Thanks

Vijay Venkatesh
United Nations

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
12  Thank Vijay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCambodia, Manager at Phum Baitang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Vijay V,

What a truly wonderful remark to make about our resort here in Siem Reap: "Paradise on Earth". On behalf of the entire team at Phum Baitang thank you most sincerely for such high praise indeed.

To mention that you consider us a 'class apart' from other luxury properties that you have had the opportunity to stay at worldwide is very humbling. Then to go even further and list the reasons why you think this is the case, is most gratifying to read. Really terrific, thank you so much. I will be my pleasure to pass on your kind remarks to Ms. Patti in F&B, Mr. David our General Manager and all staff.

I did not have the opportunity to personally meet you during your stay at Phum Baitang as I was traveling at that time of your visit however I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you are once again in Siem Reap.

Kindest regards

Colin Bryan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Entrance - The gate opens, and you have entered PARADISE! The landscape is a simulation of an idyllic rice paddy: rice fields, bicycle paths, even two very mellow water buffalo.

Villa - Each villa could be in a magazine. Minimalist with natural wood, stone and linen. Soothing tones, no bright colors. Even the reading materials are relaxing; one of our villas had a "coffee table" book of Linda McCartney's art and life and another with photos of Siem Reap and its history.

Lighting - I usually don't comment on lighting, but once the sun sets, the resort looks like a movie set. The indirect lighting gently illuminates the landscape and architecture.

Housekeeping - Truly the best compared to any hotel that I have ever stayed. When a slight sprinkle occurs, the housekeeper appears and swiftly covers pool furniture. When the sprinkle ends, he is right back, taking it off.

Interior fabrics and bedding - Again, unusual to comment on this, but... each villa has French linen fabric throughout - linen duvet, linen covered sofa, even linen water bottle covers - all in soothing neutral tones.

Food - Perfect. Fresh, clean, beautiful presentation, delicious - from local to western cuisine.

Wine - Wonderful French selection (not easy to find in Asia).

Transportation - Perfect. For $50 USD you can have a private TukTuk for the day. Driver will take you anywhere... Old Market, Spas, Restaurants, even Angkor Wat and wait for you as you tour the temples.

Overall - you have entered paradise!

(Communication is the only issue I had with the hotel. The very kind staff has limited English speaking skills. As a result, there was a bit of miscommunication. I believe this will be quickly corrected.)

Room Tip: Villa with pool - very convenient for hot afternoons.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank CCKAUSTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCambodia, Manager at Phum Baitang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear CCKAUSTIN,

It was indeed a pleasure having you and your adult children stay at Phum Baitang recently and be able to experience our little oasis of calm and tranquility here in Siem Reap.

It is always pleasing to read that our guests think our property is stunningly beautiful and our staff friendly and attentive. Thank you so much for these compliments and also for the wonderful remarks you specifically made about our villas, minimalist in design yet filled with natural wood and stone; our housekeeping; our interior fabrics and bedding, in soothing tones and utilizing the finest of linens; our food & wine and even our transportation services.

As a resort less than twelve months old, I admit that there are still a few glitches to iron out here at Phum Baitang. The command of English that our staff have is good but can, of course, certainly be improved upon. What the team lack in English comprehension skills they more than make up for in dedication and enthusiasm for the task at hand. That said, we want all of our team to be proficient in written and spoken English as well as in English comprehension. We have just introduced multi-level English classes for rank and file staff and this teaching will be ongoing.

On behalf of the entire staff thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again next time you visit the Kingdom of Cambodia and the province of Siem Reap. You can be assured that an especially warm welcome will be waiting for you and your family.

Kindest regards

Colin Bryan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days in Aug.
(Korean, Room #27)
I'm not good at English.
but , really thank you to all ~
and I write English~

Cambodia is the first time.
but I want to go again.
Of course I will stay at the phum baitang!!
Resort facilities is very excellent!
looking at the resort from swimming pool(very long~) is a fantastic view.
I went to the country of the most of Southeast Asia and experienced many good resorts.
Phum baitang is one of the best resorts I've stayed in.

The reason I pushed five stars, Phum baitang every staff's good service.
The staff and service is incredible,  always smiling and ready to cater for any of your needs.

Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect and as always did not want to  leave.
With so many wonderful staff thank you to all , with a special mention to patti !!!
she is intelligent and kind!

If you book here you will not be disappointed , the only disappointment will be when you leave as you will have wished you had of booked longer.

P.S:
Khmer language writing in a business(Map) card, please.
The tuk tuk drivers almost don't know!
Only says "o.k" and drop me off the wrong place.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
8  Thank rain2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCambodia, Manager at Phum Baitang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear rain2426,

Thank you so much for writing such an eloquent TripAdvisor review of your recent stay at Phum Baitang - Siem Reap, especially given the fact that your native language is not English. It is a wonderful review that not only conveys a balanced account of both the positive and less pleasing aspects of your stay, but also conveys a lot of sentiment as well.

I am delighted to read that you consider our property as one of the best you have visited and stayed at within the South East Asian region. It is also pleasing to note that your main decision for rating us so highly was the incredible smiling service that you received. Thank you so much for this terrific praise! I will be delighted to share your comments with all of the team here and especially with Patti our Food and Beverage Manager, whom you singled out for a special mention.

Your tip about adding Khmer language to the little card and map that we give to our guests to use with tuk tuk drivers in Siem Reap town, is excellent feedback. We will certainly incorporate this suggestion when we reprint the cards again.

I hope that you will be able to return and visit our resort in the not too distant future. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Colin Bryan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

What a luxurious hotel, with super rooms, most of which have a most recommended private pool (first time we had one, what a pleasure)! The staff is extremely helpful, the restaurants excellent, the atmosphere of this hotel is unique!
If you want to offer yourself a luxury, but simple & elegant experience in Siem Reap, you can go there eyes closed!

We were delighted and would 100% recommend this hotel :)

Only drawback, a few things are largely overpriced:
- The spa is absolutely not worth it. Almost $100 for 1 hour, so 4 times more expensive than the best spas downtown, and with a quality that was much less in our opinion.
- Also make sure to arrange your own tour without the hotel are their tour pricing are also outrageous (about 3x what we got by picking up the best tour on TripAdvisor with a high quality of service).

Room Tip: Get one with a private pool!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank volov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCambodia, Manager at Phum Baitang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear volov,

Three great superlatives to describe your feelings about staying at Phum Baitang ....... incredible, luxurious and unique! Thank you for such a wonderful critique of your recent time spent at our resort here in Siem Reap.

Although perhaps a little biased, we too tend to agree .......
Phum Baitang is a locally inspired yet luxurious guest experience. You don't just stay at Phum Baitang you partake of a visceral experience that embodies all of the senses and transports you to a true Cambodian village atmosphere. We believe that our resort is unique because guests are able to cocoon themselves into the tranquil confines of an oasis like no other in Siem Reap. It is incredible because the villas are designed to resemble traditional wooden farmhouses that nestle within paddies of swaying rice; the seven-room Spa is modelled on the area's UNESCO designated temples; the two restaurants offer an array of enticing dishes including exemplary Khmer cuisine and our Cigar & Cocktail Lounge is housed in a century-old Cambodian farmhouse, that was moved and re-erected onsite. Truly amazing design elements indeed.

Your specific comment about our Spa Temple is noted. We are a five star establishment and as such are proud to provide the highest quality spa treatments and spa service that is on a par with the finest hotels and resorts worldwide. Our pricing structure is approximately US$1 per minute of treatment time; we use the finest of hand-made products and our staff are some of the most highly trained and professional male and fermale therapists in Siem Reap. I am sorry that you felt our prices were excessive but certainly value your opinion.

Similarly, the comments you made about our resort tours are certainly acknowledged and taken on board. Our tours and excursions are definitely higher priced that serval other tours offered by operators in town, yet they are on a par with other five star properties in Siem Reap. I personally believe that for the overall experience, attention the detail, for the highly knowledgeable guides that we provide and for the personal, attentive and individualized professional service we offer, they are not outrageously expensive.

All feedback is positive and the fact you have taken the time to convey your thoughts about staying at Phum Baitang in such a balanced way, via our TripAdvisor webpage, is truly appreciated. Thank you again for such a wonderful review.

Kindest regards

Colin Bryan
Resort Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It's hard to encapsulate what Phum Baitaing represents in a short form review. I could shout superlatives and suggest this is one of the best resorts in the world. But for what it really is, PB isn't a hotel, a resort and might not be the best for what those things are...so it's important to clarify what this is and how it is truly unique and, for that, the best.

Phum Baitang translates to Green Village. And this is the important part. They have attempted and succeeded to create a village setting with every detail of the experience — while at the same time operating at the height of luxury. Such an endeavor could come off the rails easily. One wrong decision would lead to campiness and theme park. But fortunately for the souls who stumble upon these grounds, nearly no step was missed.

Their website cannot capture it. My review won't convey. You just have to go there. You're welcomed in a lovely soaring "lobby" that feels sumptuous and inviting. Linen clad smiling faces take you through the formalities and then you are ushered to your room. There are two options, the stilted duplexes and the solo pool villas. All are exquisitely designed and decorated to the point of perfection. All of the accents are simple, rough hewn and elegant. Nothing has been ill considered.

But where PB blows your mind is when you start to walk the grounds (or cycle on the bicycles scattered about). It feels like a live Cambodian village complete with rice paddies (planted with lemongrass for color and scent), water buffalo, and a boardwalk made from smooth, yet non-uniform planks. There are places in Bali that have tried to capture this, but it often feels intrusive or themed rather than integral.

With that, all of the elements fall into place. The restaurants are large open-aired and offer views of the property that can occupy hours of lingering. The infinity pool is simply massive and curved to feel like your floating on the edge of your own rice terrace. The spa is designed to reflect elements of the nearby temples of Angkor.

Oh, and by the way, there are nearby temples of Angkor. Once a traveler would come to Siem Reap and dedicate days to visiting Angkor. Now, I would always choose to double my time and visit Angkor 1/2 days while lounging at PB.

The service is aspiring, if lacking a little bit as the staff struggles to practice their English. But the effort is there and still exceeds most other places. The food is stunning, though I would prefer to see more local cuisine (the fish Amok was transcendent).

For me, there is no other way I will see Angkor again. And I'm plotting a way to bring 100 friends so we can book out the whole place for a week. What an amazing party they would throw at Phum Baitang.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
12  Thank shakaZOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCambodia, Manager at Phum Baitang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear shakaZOLO,

On behalf of the entire team here at the resort, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Phum Baitang on our TripAdvisor webpage.

The title of your review: "Nothing Like You've Ever Experienced, Ever" probably sums up best the feeling or emotion that we would love all of our guests to experience and take back home with them. Wonderful praise that we are thrilled to receive.

The sentiments you expressed about your stay really resonate with the passion that you obviously felt for our property. They make the staff feel really happy that we were able to make your holiday with us so special. To say our service is aspiring was awesome. Yes, some team members service standards are still lacking a little bit as they struggle to practice their English, but their happiness and joy to be working with one another is infectious. I certainly agree with you in that the effort is indeed there and still exceeds most other places here in Siem Reap.

Acknowledgement from you that our food is stunning is great praise and we are definitely looking at including more local dishes on our menus in the near future. I am also delighted to read that from now on you believe that there is no other way you will see Angkor again. Simply wonderful to hear!

So my advice to you ......... definitely go ahead and plot a way to bring 100 friends to Siem Reap so that you can book out all of Phum Baitang for a week. We would love to welcome you back for that amazing party!

Kind regards

Colin Bryan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews