We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
114
22
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
22
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young cambodians hospitality skills turn down service students learning underprivileged youth stayed one night junior suite place to stay every morning a great stay the hotel staff poverty cambodge sophy desk angkor mr
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at Sala Bai. Rustic and at a peaceful location, I could really unwind from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. You could not ask for more. Plus staying here is also doing good. As you get to give the students the opportunity to practice their hospitality skills.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank thegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Responsable relations publiques at Sala Bai Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your review,

We are glad that you have appreciated staying with us. By visiting Sala Baï you have played an active part in the vocational training of underprivileged young Cambodians. Your experience has allowed our students to practice under real conditions and also contributes financially to their training costs. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights here with the local students on learning the hospitality service. The kids are young but they are very enthusiastic in learning from you. Some speaks very good English but several still have challenges with their language.

We had a great experience staying here and thanks a lot to the students

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Responsable relations publiques at Sala Bai Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sala Baï Hotel & Restaurant School. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to support the English training of our students with intensive English classes and make them practice as much as possible to make sure they will have a fluent level of English at the end of the year.

Thank you very much for you encouragement, crucial support, and we hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We stayed one night at Sala Bai hotel school, this is a hospitality training hotel with six rooms that allow under privileged students gain practical experience. What a wonderful find! Just 1.7km from the center of night life, it feels like you are in the country. The rooms are chic and modern and very comfortable. They do not serve dinner here. The students are incredibly keen to do the right thing, and it is so heartwarming. This is a lovely place to support. There are no tv's and no pool.

Room tip: Just be a little patient as the students are still learning English.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Public Relations Manager at Sala Bai Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your support and warm encouragement. By visiting Sala Baï Hotel & Restaurant school you have played an active part in the vocational training of underprivileged young Cambodians. Thanks to you, our students have practiced under real conditions and you have contributed financially to their training costs.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

Kindest Regards. Orkun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

On our visit, we had to dine to the weather and high occupancy. Still a great place to be eating, with friendly and efficient service from the students and teachers of this (school-restaurant).

A great experience.

From Michael and Susan, New Zealand

Room tip: We went for dinner only.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxallm916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I stayed at Sala Bai Hotel for two nights. The rooms were very clean and always well taken care of. Excellent food at their own restaurant school and they even prepared breakfast boxes to take with you when leaving early to watch the sunrise in Ankor. Love their mission to help young kids in Cambodia getting training and a career in the hotel and restaurant industry. You might find a cheaper place in Siem Reap, but I am happy to spend the extra dollar for this cause. Great stay!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Responsable relations clients at Sala Bai Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear "Roland H",

On behalf of all the team and students, I would like to thank you for your nice comment and recommendation of the school!

As you mentioned it, the school was created in 2002 by the French NGO Agir pour le Cambodge to fight poverty and human trafficking in Cambodia. It trains, each year for free, more than 100 young disadvantaged Cambodians with a priority given to girls (70%) to career in Hospitality.
The school has a training hotel & spa and a training restaurant opened to the public to practice every day.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 6 guests rooms and that you liked your meals at the restaurant where all meals are prepared and served by the students.

Thanks again "Roland H" for you support because by staying at school you allow the students to train in real condition and you also finance a part of their training.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at school!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews