We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Um Theara
Nearby Hotels
US$48
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$39
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
84
72
16
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
72
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswat bo roadurban retreatminutes walk to the mainair contuk tukpub streetold marketbudget hotelbed was comfortablelocal currencypool area is lovelynight bustemple tourthird floorcleaned every dayus dollarsstayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

First impressions count and I was warmly welcomed and efficiently checked-in (post 8pm). The room (#203) was a good size, clean and the mattress soft (memory foam) with English TV channels. The pool area is lovely and the temperature of the water was perfect. The hotel's location is excellent and rubs shoulders with some of the high-end hotels and restaurants. When I did have some issues with no hot water the staff were quick to address this. The not-so-good was inconsistent and very weak Wi-Fi and there is only one shared plug socket which is not near the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottieinHK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Friendly staff, location not far from the centre, room quite big, comfortable bed, clean linen changed daily. Breakfast from the menu - 5 choices. Clean pool, towels available.

Bad points: Shower over toilet. No safe in the room. Massage ladies - sadists, had bruises for few days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinoccio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights to visit Angkor Wat and the other temples nearby. The hotel is very budget friendly and the staff are super friendly. Out of all of the hotels during our stay in Cambodia this hotel had the friendliest staff.

The room is adequate and as described. We had a few small insects in our room on the bedside table when we accidentally left food out. Although having stayed in other hotels in this country it was not uncommon for this to happen elsewhere. It is a tropical country so these things are to be expected. The wifi is not very strong, but other than that we had no issues with this hotel. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for somewhere that's value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vut_boutiqueretreat, Owner at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Rio

Great to hear you had a pleasant stayed with us. i am apology for this inconvenience of insect and Wifi, as your understanding of this tropical country but our aim must make sure that our guest had a safety feeling and satisfy with what they paid for. and we are improving to these points now.

Thank again for your spending your value time to give us a feedback and we are looking forwards to serving you again with your next step to kingdom of wonder - Angkor.

Cheer!
Theara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

It is difficult to write a bad review as the staff were so lovely. The hotel needs definite updating as rooms are starting to look a bit run down.

The room was cleaned every day but we had cockroaches in our room, and the window-sill and curtains were not clean. The toilet hose leaked so was a bit eeky to use. Storage for clothing would be good as you have nowhere to put things in a small room.  Fridge old and everytime you leave the room the power turns off so it gets a bit mouldy. Air con positioned right over bed so very uncomfortably to sleep as it blows straight onto you. No phone in room and only one power plug shared with fridge for charging mobile phones. Wifi non existent in our room so people use wifi on balcony resulting in loud conversations of travellers calling home using wifi late at night. Beds are on the hard side. I've heard that the hotel will be updated shortly, however.

The pool area is lovely and front of hotel nice French villa style which is common in Cambodia. The restaurant staff lovely and served us by pool, but food is just ok. Although, pancake breakfast was quite good and a huge serving every morning.

The great thing about this hotel is the Tuk tuk driver Mr Siv. I recommend using him as your driver during your time here as he is very friendly, knowledgeable, reliable and has an amazing life story (with good English). The hotel can organise him to pick you up from the airport for free (a tip is nice though).

Note: USD is used pretty much everywhere in Siem Riep, with change smaller than 1USD given in Riel

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vut_boutiqueretreat, Owner at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Elizabeth

Thank for your feedback, i'm happy to hear that you happy with service provide by our lovely staffs.

Please be inform that we had done renovation entire of our property and and our aim is to make sure that our guest enjoy their stay with safety and satisfy with what they paid.

Thank again for your value time to give a feedback.

Cheer!
Theara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We stayed here for three nights having just arrived in Siem Reap. The staff were lovely and provided great service, even sourcing us a large bowl to do laundry in (I didn't have the Cambodian to ask for a bucket, alas). The place was also great value, with breakfast included in the price which was either a semi-decent fried breakfast or lovely pancakes and fruit.

Sadly the room was a let down. Though it was large, the AC was great, and the shower was quite warm once it got going, the WiFi was pretty poor and we were often better hanging around in the lobby to check emails etc.

Also - bugs! First night we were eaten alive by mosquitoes; second and third nights we put up our net and were OK, but if mosquitoes are a problem a net should really have been provided. Even worse - one evening a humungous roach wandered across the floor, and we discovered another (or possibly the same, who knows?) dead under our bags in the morning. Such a shame as otherwise this is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the room thoroughly for bugs. Ask for a new room if not good enough.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon_the_Scone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vut_boutiqueretreat, Owner at Villa Um Theara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear guest

We apology and regret that to hear that your stayed was not full feel satisfy due to lacking of AC working ans found some bugs

We are working our to resolve them and for sure will not happens again.

Many thank for your choosing to stayed with us.

Kind regards

Theara / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews