We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$68
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Blanc Resort(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$52
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$48
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$57
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$75
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Temple Residence(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angkor Pearl Hotel(Siem Reap)(Great Value!)
US$20
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$134
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
117
43
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
43
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanuman alayamahob khmerquick dip to cooldelightful small hotelpool view suitelush foliagesmall pool areadark woodevening flightboutique hoteldeluxe suitehappy hour drinksbeautiful designking sizesmall boutiquelovely bathroomhuge room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This is a lovely place, but with a few quirks. It is a little outside the centre of Siem Reap, which is easily reached by tuk-tuk at a $3US per trip. It can also be walked.

The rooms were large and spacious, with generous sized beds - my one was King-sized plus and clean linen. The furnishings were all in dark wood with exquisite statues, paintings and other unique decorations. The fan and air conditioner were in fine working order, as was the lighting generally - although working out which switch went with which light made the stay more than a little interesting.

The setting of the hotel was absolutely lovely with a very beautiful garden surrounding the path to the rooms, and surrounding the rooms themselves. The swimming pool was also very inviting, with lounge chairs set up on either side and, again, surrounded by very attractive greenery.

Best of all was the service. It was my first introduction to Khmer hospitality, where there is a clear desire that you have a lovely time, rather than seeking a financial return for each transaction. There was a genuine desire to be helpful and to make sure that problems and issues were addressed as well as possible and as quickly as possible.

Recommended for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bloomerj129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratana K, Manager at HanumanAlaya Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Bloomerj129,

Warmest greetings from HanumanAlaya Villa!

First of all thank you so much for staying with us. On behalf of HanumanAlaya Villa, We would like to thank you for all your good comments, feed-backs to our hotel.

We are very much appreciated and looking forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
HanumanAlaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This is an incredible find. We found it through CN Traveler and is indeed a "hidden gem" of a hotel. From the time of the booking, Boren - the manager of all the Hanumanalaya properties stayed in touch over Whatsapp and kept us updated. Arriving at Siam Reap and after clearing the chaotic visa on arrival and immigration process, Hanumanalya had organised a nice airconditioned vehicle for us to be transported the short distance (about 20 mins) from the airport and for the return too. The welcome at the hotel was amazing with a nice welcome drink. Cambodians by nautre are very soft-spoken and extremely courteous to their visitors. The open-air reception and restaurant facing the small pool area was absolutely beautiful and inviting. We had booked two rooms and were given rooms 226/227 on the first floor in the old fashioned Cambodian village building literally behind the reception. The rooms had exposed beams and sanded/polished floors and tastefully decorated in keeping wiht the local style. As we were three in our room, we had a large King-size bed and a single bed. There was also a nice L-shaped couch to laze around on. The room even had a small balcony with some chairs to sit out if there was more time. As the villa is stuck between other properties on this road by the river, they have grown natural plants/creepers that give one a sense of complete privacy and serenity. The shower area and the adjacent bath was a complete new experience. The toiletries were very nice although they could supply some moisturising lotion. The rooms have airconditioning and old-style fans above the bed and seating areas. There was coffee/tea making facilities in the room and plenty of storage with a safe too. There is a nice verandah outside the rooms with seating if you want to chalk out your next day's programs with family. The restaurant/bar area is very cozy for breakfast, lunch, dinner and enjoying the happy-hour drinks too. Breakfast was sumptuous and had the usual English breakfast as well as some traditional Cambodian dishes too. Breakfast is a bit slow especially during the rush hours between 8-9AM but who cares in a lovely laid-back country like Cambodia. Enjoy the slow pace of old-world charm. The staff are very attentive and helpful. Boren was very kind to organise a vehicle and a guide for our first day and we would definitely recommend this as a guide is very helpful in allowing you to get to know the various sights to see. We had a vehicle on its own for the second day and took a local tuk-tuk for a tour on the third day and is worth the experience. There are plenty of good places to eat such as the Mahob Khmer Kitchen which is literally around the corner or the Malis and other good restaurants which the reception staff were very kind to make reservations for. This was a idyllic holiday of a lifetime and staying at the Hanumanalya Villa made the trip even more memorable. Thanks Boren, Ani and all the other staff at the villa that made our stay very comfortable. You guys are great.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJ_London2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratana K, Manager at HanumanAlaya Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear VJ_London2World,

Warmest greetings from HanumanAlaya Villa,

First of all thank you so much for staying with us. On behalf of HanumanAlaya Villa, We would like to thank you for all your good comments, feed-backs to our hotel.

We are very much appreciated and looking forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
HanumanAlaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We stayed at the HanumanAlaya Villa for 10 days in September. It was a wonderful spot to come back to every night: a gorgeous oasis of plants and flowers coupled with friendly, welcoming and professional hosts.

It was lovely to know that on nights when we were too tired to go out on the town, there would be a fantastic meal available in the hotel. In fact some nights we chose to stay back just because of the food and the serene and romantic setting to enjoy it.

As others have mentioned, the pool is small but beautiful. I spent many hours over our stay just floating and looking up at the birds and butterflies, and other afternoons enjoying icy cocktails in the loungers.

Tuk tuks are available at all times directly outside the hotel, so we never had a problem getting anywhere we wanted to go. Also we walked around the local area and all the way to downtown (about 20 minutes) and never had any concerns whatsoever about our security.

It was a fantastic place to be and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travel_bunny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratana K, Manager at HanumanAlaya Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear travel_bunny29,

Warmest greetings from HanumanAlaya Villa,

First of all thank you so much for staying with us. On behalf of HanumanAlaya Villa, We would like to thank you for all your good comments, feed-backs to our hotel.

We are very much appreciated and looking forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
HanumanAlaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2017

This is a small and intimate hotel that feels like a family home. Think rustic wooden furnishings, with lots of flowers, trees and ponds in the public areas. Feels very private and romantic so would definitely recommend it to couples. Staff very friendly and helpful, always interested to know our plans for that day and welcoming us back warmly in the evening. The restaurant and pool area were great (although you definitely need mosquito repellent!) and the rooms themselves were beautiful. Ours had a large en-suite, a mosquito net and good air-conditioning. The location is right on the river that runs through Siem Reap. In one direction along this river, it is about 30 minutes' walk into the main Siem Reap town where there are hundreds of restaurants, bars, market stalls and massage parlours (!) to enjoy, and about a 20 minute bike ride in the opposite direction to the Angkor Wat temple complex. Tuk tuks abound too, and the hotel has bikes you can borrow for free as well, which was our favourite day out!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratana K, Manager at HanumanAlaya Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Emily M,

Warmest greetings from HanumanAlaya Group,

First of all thank you so much for staying with us. On behalf of HanumanAlaya Group, We would like to thank you for all your good comments, feed-backs to our hotel.

We are very much appreciated and looking forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
HanumanAlaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Positives - helpful attentive staff who always tried to please. Lovely pool area, decent breakfast. We made good use of the complementary bicycles which were provided with locks. The location is good and the hotel have agreed price of $2 for short ride into the centre of Siem Reap.
Negatives- slippy floors in the bathroom and the loo area floor floods during the shower. We were in Room 119 and were kept awake throughout the night by a repetitive noise every 3 seconds which we found was made by a pump near pur room that we only located the morning we left. I've since read the same comment on another review so it is a known irritation. We also had 6 mosquito bites during our time at the reception and breakfast area. Too late for us but the hotel had a bug fumigation scheduled the day we left.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratana K, Manager at HanumanAlaya Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Sue K,

Warmest greetings from HanumanAlaya Group,

First of all thank you so much for staying with us. On behalf of HanumanAlaya Group, We would like to thank you for all your good comments, feed-backs to our hotel. We do apology for the inconvenient caused during your stay with us.

We are very much appreciated and looking forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
HanumanAlaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews