We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, High Prices”
Review of Sister Srey Cafe

Sister Srey Cafe
Ranked #9 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sister Srey Cafe is a Social Enterprise, in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Run and operated by Sisters Lauren And Cassie. The Girls, opened the business to have "Good Coffee" and also help and support Khmer students and to make a sustainable impact into the community. Our vision at Sister Srey Cafe is to support young Khmer students who struggle to keep a balance between study and supporting their family. Each staff member in trained in hospitality, English language skills, personal development, health and hygiene and banking. We are a stepping stone to a brighter future and a means for them to have skills and knowledge to approach the world empowered and confident. Sister Srey has various incentives and activities in which support the local and rural community. The cafe goes to sustainable measures to help the environment and to be as enviromentally friendly as possible. We are commited to being plastic free, having bio degradable food packaging, organic coffee and miniamising waste. Monthly, our staff participate in our community service program "Helping out a friend" Where each staff member chooses a NGO or project of choice and do something for people less fortunate than themselves. To date we have had, staff building wells and toilets for families, participating in a soup kitchen to feed street children and health workshops. Sister Srey also composts all waste and goes to directly to NGO Green Gecko Farm and has a sustainable recycling program and waste management system. Since opening, the Cafe works along side Hearts to Harmony Foundation. This means 20 percent of profits from the Cafe as well as donations go towards Hearts to Harmony to supports individuals through education, health and hygiene, and supports rural families. Sister Srey is a social enterprise. A cafe with a heart, a cafe with the desire to see change and with the ability to do so.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

This was the first place we went to eat in Siem Reap because of the recommendation of a friend. The food really was good, and if you're missing American food I'd recommend this place over most other places in Siem Reap, but I don't feel like it was a great value. The prices were about the same as what you'd pay in America and almost double what you'd pay just on the other side of the river, which is a short walk from this location. This is made up for in part because the owners use the restaurant as a way to pay for their staff to go to college, which I do appreciate, but not as much if I'm travelling on a budget.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hey Mike L,

Thanks for your review, we're really happy you enjoyed your food and would recommend us again. It's real shame that you don't think that it's good value. Of course you can find cheaper food all over Siem Reap, but at Sister Srey we not only put all of our staff through higher education, we also donate a large percentage of our profits to a Humanitarian Demining Organisation, as well as supporting local farmers and small businesses. We also buy our food (most of which is organic) fresh, daily. We totally understand the traveller's budget can be tight, but in having breakfast or lunch at Sister Srey you can know that your money goes towards some really amazing causes that support the community.

Happy onward travels!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Could not drag ourselves away from this place. The young, enthusiastic staff are a joy, the veggie food is absolutely delicious and the ethos of the restaurant is spot on. There's also a great book stall right outside the restaurant that you might also like to support.

1  Thank northumberlandias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hello Northumberlandias!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this awesome review! We are very happy that you couldn't drag yourselves away from us, and that you found some yummy veggie food! We know how hard it can be to find fresh, veggie/vegan-friendly options when travelling around so it's always been really important to have a varied menu that meets everyone's needs. It means so much to us that you noticed our happy, joyful team- we're always having fun and want to make sure our customers share our enthusiasm! Vanna's bookstall is wonderful- and I personally get all of my books there, too!

Cheers again and happy travels!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We stopped in to this Cafe looking for a little respite from the heat and it was a perfect stop. They have a high quality menu and great customer service. We only had some drinks and they were beautifully crafted, like mini desserts, and served with a small cookie. Wish we had a chance to enjoy a meal here, as everything looked fresh and delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Jhn,

Thank you so much for your review!! We are delighted you chose to cool off at Sister Srey and that you enjoyed our "desert like" drinks, everyone deserves a little treat, we think!! Though we're sad that you didn't have a chance to eat here we are so happy that you liked the look of the menu! We hope to see you again soon! In the meantime, stay cool!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

This is a great place worth a visit.
We went for lunch on our last day in SR, glad we made the choice to go there.
Staff are all really friendly, food is great and only marginally more than you would pay in more local restaurants.
It seems like this company gives a lot back to the community and Cambodian people so happy to pay a bit more.

Surrounding area is also nice and worth taking a stroll around.

Thank SMITHAL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Smithal88,

Thank you for this awesome review!! We are so happy you enjoyed your food, and noticed our involvement in the community. We love our location, too- it's so nice to sit and watch the world go by, looking out to the lovely trees and river. Not to mention all the lovely shops around us. We are just sad you only found us on your last day!

Stay cool, and we hope to see you again!

Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We visited Sister Srey many times during our visit. The food is fantastic and very reasonably priced, coffees and juices are delicious and the staff make it extra special with their boundless enthusiasm and constant cheeky smiles. It is staffed by local Cambodians who are trained there so is a really worthwhile cause too. Highly recommended- you won’t be disappointed.

Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you so so much for your review and for visiting us so many times during your time in Siem Reap. We are so happy you liked the food and the atmosphere. The staff's enthusiasm, boundless energy and smiles is totally infectious, we are so happy you thought so too!! We can't wait to see you again next time!!!

Much love,

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sister Srey Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sister Srey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing