We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
57
71
36
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
71
36
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national highway tuk tuk buffet breakfast night market room was spacious pool side cambodia gym
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Went here for meetings. The large building seemed almost empty (imagine a mausoleum) and carpets were very worn. The rooms were clean but the Wi-Fi was frustratingly bad. Surprisingly the conference meals were excellent - I am not sure if this was because of the organisers or was a staple set for conferences. The rooms overlooking the pool were noisy with the other guests swimming, sitting out in the area, or partying with their doors open - generally calling out at the top of their voice. Avoid if possible. I had to take things in hand 2 nights in a row - a pity this issue is not controlled by the staff. Avoid the crowds in the morning at breakfast as it can be a feeding frenzy. Breakfast was uninteresting except for the freshly cooked noodle soup; avoid the coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wwwt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Overall good venue
Wifi needs an upgrade
Rooms were tidy
Staff pleasant
Front desk always willing to help
Has a massive gym that is well resourced
Pool is small but works
A bit of a way from night market but tuk tuk is about $4 each way

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Arish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The location of the hotel is very close to the airport. The room are big and the beds very comfortable. The staff was polite, friendly and helpful. The room service staff was very fast in responding. Easy to get to town by tuk tuk, tuk tuk was readily outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEEMEEH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The two star rating is primarily because this hotel, despite its impressive building, clean corridors and its courteous but totally ineffectual service staff has no idea of hospitality, catering or how to make effective use of its seemingly massive infrastructure. Consider the following:
- The buffet breakfast or other meals are a mass of dishes, that appear inedible and are totally devoid of any flavor. Quality of food is very poor. Its best to avoid any meals at this hotel unless you would want to lose weight by enforcing a strict diet of salads and some fruit.
- Butter is served in a bowl with a spoon so that you can dollop it into your plate rather than with a knife to spread it on bread.
- Spaghetti is served with a large serving spoon that makes it impossible to pour any food on to the plate,
- Tables are laid out without adequate cutlery or napkins or glasses.
- Serving staff have minimal or no knowledge of english and its impossible to communicate as a result I had 3 omelettes on my table! I wonder what made the server believe that I wanted 3 omelettes!
- Coffee is insipid and is served at luke warm temperature from a large stainless steel container.
- The hotel has a paucity of irons and ironing boards. I had to wait for 1.5 hours before the hotel could retrieve these items from another hotel guest at 10 pm. I got a call at 6:05 am the next morning enquiring whether they could take back the items from my room. The hotel has no idea of how to treat guests and does not consider convenience or seek permission prior to calling at an unearthly hour.
- The Gym is well equipped but is not air-conditioned as a consequence its literally a sweat pool.
- Bath towels are not readily available at the pool side.

At checkout I was informed that a 2% fee would be levied for credit card payment using a Visa or MasterCard. This is certainly improper and should deter any tourist or business traveller. I would have checked out on Day 1 had the Meetings not been organized at this hotel. The many slip-ups in the organization of the event too should've embarrassed many an organizer. A true regrettable stay. The Sofitel is far more professional and comfortable and better value for money.

Room Tip: Pool facing if you have to stay here
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kkthapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

The Apsara is a perfectly average standard hotel. Probably like any other mid priced chain hotel. I felt there was above average variety at the breakfast buffet, a Cambodian noodle bar, omelet bar, hot entrees including fried rice and stir fried vegetables. There are both western choices and Asian choices.
The towels were thin and rough. We had some enthusiastic guests in the pool in the late evening that we could hear. It would have been nice if the lobby was air conditioned. The wifi was average, not fast. It's location on national highway 6 is convenient to restaurants. If you are looking for a place with character or uniqueness, this is not the place, but it is acceptable place to sleep.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews