We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New name! Great boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort
Ranked #178 of 389 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed January 27, 2018

It's the Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort now. Regardless, we had a poolside villa and it was wonderful. Outdoor shower and tub plus a private sunbathing deck with double-wide chaise long - more of an outdoor bed really. Great staff, yummy restaurant (limited menu so you'll want to eat off-property as well). No complaints. Quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: The poolside villa with the outdoor tub/shower is the one to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

The staff, the quality of food is spot on!
The decor, cleanliness of villas no less than perfect!
We hired bikes & personal driver, i cant fault the place! The resort is safe, trendy and just a stones through away from anything! Prices are more than fair for you get! Everything is in USD so it aldo make things easy for budgeting! Its a real experience! Massages are perfect also! Like i said i cant fault the Samar villas at all! Highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank in2paint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Dear Team of TripAdvisor.com

I know it might be tough and rough.

However, I have just visited this place last weekend and the hotel changed ownership. Previous French owner sold out the property to a couple, landlord from France and lady host is from China. That is why you see reviews include many Chinese related information.

The new name of the hotel is Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort.

The place is really good for family tour if you don't wish to be affected by the noise on the road, we took the room with two double beds and it was awesome. My small kids played in the pool and don't want to go home.

Thank you so much Lin, Ronan, and JF. ..

Wish all a very merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

We flew straight to Siem Reap to start our three week honeymoon in Cambodia and Vietnam. It was great to have 3 nights in the private poolside villa with our own little garden including outdoor shower, bath and eating area and daybed. We had a mix up getting there and our car got bogged so check directions / get the villas team to book your airport transfer beforehand (this was lost in translation for us) - but local people helped us out and it ended well, with us completely blown away by people's friendliness and generosity. Other than that arrival trip, the stay was perfect - pool at our doorstep, delightful and helpful staff, great restaurant that catered for my vego wishes - we recommend Samar villas to anyone who prefers to be closer to the temples that Pub street so you wake up to roosters crowing rather than horns blaring.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely stunning place! So peaceful and tranquil, definitely one to go to if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap.

We stayed in Villa 1 and it had a beautiful four poster bed and a pull out bed as there were 3 of us. So not ideal but because we had three nights there we just rotated the beds. There was no dinner service which we were a bit disappointed with as we had just got off a long bus journey. However, we got a tuk tuk into the centre and went to a pizza place called Belmiro's.

Breakfast in the morning was brilliant as it was made to order after you were given a plate of pastries and a fruit platter.

The owner (we think) was really friendly and showed us around the Fou.nan which was opposite The Samar and due to open soon. It looked amazing and it was a shame we couldn't have had a few cocktails there!

One thing I would say is that as a group of 3 girls we sometimes felt vulnerable travelling back to hotel at night due to the isolated location and lack of tuk tuk drivers knowing where the hotel was. However this is of fault of the hotel although maybe a few more lights on the route off the main road would be good.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jfricketts89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer F, General Manager at Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your review and kind words regarding our hotel. Unfortunately due to the large amount of hotels in Siem Reap the Tuk Tuk drivers do sometimes get confused on the exact hotel location but I am happy to inform you our hotel now supplies all guests with a complementary iPhone to be used during your stay to easily contact the hotel and Tuk Tuk drivers while also allowing you to view your GPS location. Furthermore we plan in the future to provide personal Tuk Tuk drivers to each guest at our hotel which enables you easy, free transportation any time of day or night to anywhere in the city. We as the new management of Samar Villas strive to restore the hotel to it's former glory and provide world class personalized service. Your ideas are well received and we would definitely take them into consideration. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Siem Reap!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
4.2 km away
The Embassy Angkor Resort & Spa
The Embassy Angkor Resort & Spa
#223 of 389 in Siem Reap
46 reviews
1.2 km away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#100 of 389 in Siem Reap
866 reviews
2.9 km away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#95 of 389 in Siem Reap
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Model Residence and Spa
Model Residence and Spa
#107 of 389 in Siem Reap
67 reviews
0.2 km away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#82 of 389 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#188 of 389 in Siem Reap
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort

Address: 115, Group 7 | Phum Tropeang Ses Khum Kochok Srok, Siem Reap 0000000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#111 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#127 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: ₱3,432 - ₱7,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Angkor Villa and Spa Resort has a unique design concept comprising of French, Chinese and Khmer elements so as to convey a trully one of a kind luxurious Cambodian hotel experience The design of the hotel took over one year while the architect, interior designer and owner worked closely together to ensure there was a tremendous focus on attention to detail, this is clearly evident throughout the hotel. The core values of the hotel are providing guests with the highest quality personalized service, unique and sensational dining experiences as well as a peaceful, quiet and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samar Villa Hotel Siem Reap
The Samar Villa And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing