We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$64
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Temple Residence(Siem Reap)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
174
25
13
8
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
25
13
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench ownerfree facialunique boutique hoteltuk tuksmall propertyswimming poolfrench colonial stylefruit platterliving roomairport transfernoodle soupenjoyed my staybooked this hotelthree nightspub streetafter a long daysamar
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

The staff, the quality of food is spot on!
The decor, cleanliness of villas no less than perfect!
We hired bikes & personal driver, i cant fault the place! The resort is safe, trendy and just a stones through away from anything! Prices are more than fair for you get! Everything is in USD so it aldo make things easy for budgeting! Its a real experience! Massages are perfect also! Like i said i cant fault the Samar villas at all! Highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank in2paint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Dear Team of TripAdvisor.com

I know it might be tough and rough.

However, I have just visited this place last weekend and the hotel changed ownership. Previous French owner sold out the property to a couple, landlord from France and lady host is from China. That is why you see reviews include many Chinese related information.

The new name of the hotel is Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort.

The place is really good for family tour if you don't wish to be affected by the noise on the road, we took the room with two double beds and it was awesome. My small kids played in the pool and don't want to go home.

Thank you so much Lin, Ronan, and JF. ..

Wish all a very merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We flew straight to Siem Reap to start our three week honeymoon in Cambodia and Vietnam. It was great to have 3 nights in the private poolside villa with our own little garden including outdoor shower, bath and eating area and daybed. We had a mix up getting there and our car got bogged so check directions / get the villas team to book your airport transfer beforehand (this was lost in translation for us) - but local people helped us out and it ended well, with us completely blown away by people's friendliness and generosity. Other than that arrival trip, the stay was perfect - pool at our doorstep, delightful and helpful staff, great restaurant that catered for my vego wishes - we recommend Samar villas to anyone who prefers to be closer to the temples that Pub street so you wake up to roosters crowing rather than horns blaring.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely stunning place! So peaceful and tranquil, definitely one to go to if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap.

We stayed in Villa 1 and it had a beautiful four poster bed and a pull out bed as there were 3 of us. So not ideal but because we had three nights there we just rotated the beds. There was no dinner service which we were a bit disappointed with as we had just got off a long bus journey. However, we got a tuk tuk into the centre and went to a pizza place called Belmiro's.

Breakfast in the morning was brilliant as it was made to order after you were given a plate of pastries and a fruit platter.

The owner (we think) was really friendly and showed us around the Fou.nan which was opposite The Samar and due to open soon. It looked amazing and it was a shame we couldn't have had a few cocktails there!

One thing I would say is that as a group of 3 girls we sometimes felt vulnerable travelling back to hotel at night due to the isolated location and lack of tuk tuk drivers knowing where the hotel was. However this is of fault of the hotel although maybe a few more lights on the route off the main road would be good.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jfricketts89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer F, General Manager at Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review and kind words regarding our hotel. Unfortunately due to the large amount of hotels in Siem Reap the Tuk Tuk drivers do sometimes get confused on the exact hotel location but I am happy to inform you our hotel now supplies all guests with a complementary iPhone to be used during your stay to easily contact the hotel and Tuk Tuk drivers while also allowing you to view your GPS location. Furthermore we plan in the future to provide personal Tuk Tuk drivers to each guest at our hotel which enables you easy, free transportation any time of day or night to anywhere in the city. We as the new management of Samar Villas strive to restore the hotel to it's former glory and provide world class personalized service. Your ideas are well received and we would definitely take them into consideration. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Siem Reap!
Kind regards,
Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2017

On our arrival at the airport in Siem Reap, we was met by two tuc tuc drivers and the manager of the resort, this was soon to impact on the tremendous welcome we received each day during our stay at Samar resort.
On arrival at the resort following the flight from Bangkok we were blown away by the beauty of the resort which is set very close to the Angkor temple sights, the resort is filled with tremendous artifacts from the Angkor period.

The next day we planned our visits of the temple sights with the aid of the onsite staff who arranged our tuc tuc driver who was always on hand for trips in to the city. The staff are tremendous and they really could not do enough for us, this is our first time in Cambodia and we will remember it for the rest of our lives due to the staff at Samar Villas.

A must visit resort in such a wonderful country with so much history and culture, Thankyou Samar and your staff for such a superb experience that we will treasure for the rest of our lives.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer F, Manager at Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our hotel and for truly understanding what is special in our hotel and resort which is what our large commercial competitors fail to provide. We do our best to always be flexible and work around our guests requirements while not being intrusive, thank you for noticing and mentioning that.
We will continue to give our best and I am confident that very nice guests such as yourself will appreciate what we provide as it is special, different and allows guests to feel as if they are at home while enjoying the peace and tranquility that comes with our resort.
I hope we will see you on your future travels to Siem Reap as you will have the opportunity of seeing the new upgraded garden designed by Jacques Messin, a famous garden designer who designed the garden of The Metropole, the only 6 star hotel in Europe.
All the best and kind regards,
Spencer F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews