We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
A.D.1 Hotel(Mandalay)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$19
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$35
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/29
US$38
US$34
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$26
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/29
US$33
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$95
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triumph Hotel Mandalay(Mandalay)
US$75
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
35
66
56
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
66
56
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomtoastprivate bathcoffee or teatop floorguesthouseinternetusdrooftoprates
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We paid $22 for a private double room with air con. Comfortable room although both windows were bricked up and could feel like your trapped in at times.

If there is a power cut, which are pretty common on Myanmar, the air con will need resetting in your room. I found this out when I woke up at 3am thinking I was melting but the staff were great and sorted it out quickly. Breakfast was same as everywhere else - fruit, toast, eggs and coffee.

Little terrace on the roof is great for escaping the afternoon heat. Decent location.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 23MissB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This place has a good situation in the center of Mandalay with a good value for money. The decoration is charming with a lot of wood carving in the public areas. Shared bathrooms are really clean and quite big. You can find a rooftop terrasse that is really nice. The staff is really kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhoopsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The first night I settled for a fan room. It was incredibly hot and muggy that I couldn't sleep at all and opened my door to the hallway, which was way cooler. The AC room was better. It had its own bathroom as well. The room still a weird humidity to it, but what can you do. The breakfast was pretty decent. There were eggs, toast, bananas, coffee. You can ask for refills on your coffee. The wifi was pretty inconsistent, but that is the case everywhere in Myanmar. The location is very close to the palace and restaurants, but otherwise I think it's in a bit of a dingy part of town. All the taxis know this place though, which makes it easy to return to. The staff is very friendly, and will offer restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The people who run this guesthouse are lovely. They are very friendly and always happy to help.

Our room was quite small with a shared bathroom, however it had just been redecorated (1st floor) so there were none of the problems with it smelling damp, as in previous posts.

The breakfast was good and there was a nice roof top terrace, but the wifi isn't great for anything more than checking emails.

We took an excellent day tour with a taxi man from outside the hotel - he said he was affiliated with them (very tall, slender, slightly older man with a white car). He was fantastic and a great company while we drove between sites, his English is good so he can tell you all about the site where you are, which is really interesting.

The main reason I only gave this guesthouse three stars is because when we were sat downstairs on the green sofas, we noticed some bugs on our legs. After leaving, we came up in huge bites that are bed bug bites.... There weren't any bugs in our room, only on the sofas. But just be aware.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank loving_my_holidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The cheaper rooms I wouldn't take, luckily we can afford a double ac room which is alright. Haven't checked any other place but as so many in Myanmar this guesthouse is overpriced. The breakfast is only bread, egg and cheap coffee. The ac is noisy and old but it does the trick! Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Not downstairs. Fan room hot without a window.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews