We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Mandalay”
Review of Royal Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Guest House
Ranked #40 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed November 26, 2014

We stayed in Royal GH for 2 nights during our trip in Myanmar. We paid $10 each for a triple room with A/C and private bathroom. Our room had no windows but it was pretty comfortable and clean, the A/C was cold, the shower was hot and Wifi was available in our room on the mezzanine although unstable but this is expected in Myanmar. Breakfast was included which was toast, egg, jam, fruit, coffee/tea and juice. There is a tiny rooftop where you can chill and have some drinks. The staff was pretty helpful with our queries and we also booked our bus to Bagan with them. The location is central and you can walk to the main areas. There are also a lot of restaurants and stores nearby. Overall, it was a good experience and I recommend this place to travelers visiting Mandalay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tiempotiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2014

We paid $22 for a private double room with air con. Comfortable room although both windows were bricked up and could feel like your trapped in at times.

If there is a power cut, which are pretty common on Myanmar, the air con will need resetting in your room. I found this out when I woke up at 3am thinking I was melting but the staff were great and sorted it out quickly. Breakfast was same as everywhere else - fruit, toast, eggs and coffee.

Little terrace on the roof is great for escaping the afternoon heat. Decent location.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 23MissB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

This place has a good situation in the center of Mandalay with a good value for money. The decoration is charming with a lot of wood carving in the public areas. Shared bathrooms are really clean and quite big. You can find a rooftop terrasse that is really nice. The staff is really kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhoopsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The first night I settled for a fan room. It was incredibly hot and muggy that I couldn't sleep at all and opened my door to the hallway, which was way cooler. The AC room was better. It had its own bathroom as well. The room still a weird humidity to it, but what can you do. The breakfast was pretty decent. There were eggs, toast, bananas, coffee. You can ask for refills on your coffee. The wifi was pretty inconsistent, but that is the case everywhere in Myanmar. The location is very close to the palace and restaurants, but otherwise I think it's in a bit of a dingy part of town. All the taxis know this place though, which makes it easy to return to. The staff is very friendly, and will offer restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

The people who run this guesthouse are lovely. They are very friendly and always happy to help.

Our room was quite small with a shared bathroom, however it had just been redecorated (1st floor) so there were none of the problems with it smelling damp, as in previous posts.

The breakfast was good and there was a nice roof top terrace, but the wifi isn't great for anything more than checking emails.

We took an excellent day tour with a taxi man from outside the hotel - he said he was affiliated with them (very tall, slender, slightly older man with a white car). He was fantastic and a great company while we drove between sites, his English is good so he can tell you all about the site where you are, which is really interesting.

The main reason I only gave this guesthouse three stars is because when we were sat downstairs on the green sofas, we noticed some bugs on our legs. After leaving, we came up in huge bites that are bed bug bites.... There weren't any bugs in our room, only on the sofas. But just be aware.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank loving_my_holidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
151.4 km away
Hotel Sakura Princess
Hotel Sakura Princess
#27 of 119 in Mandalay
17 reviews
150.7 km away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#24 of 119 in Mandalay
172 reviews
149.7 km away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#34 of 119 in Mandalay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
150.6 km away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#20 of 119 in Mandalay
524 reviews
149.7 km away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#11 of 119 in Mandalay
189 reviews
150.3 km away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 119 in Mandalay
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Address: 41 25th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing