We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island(Tokoriki Island)
US$447
US$327
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
US$462
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plantation Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
US$419
US$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
US$564
US$493
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beachcomber Island Resort(Beachcomber Island)
US$116
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Funky Fish Beach & Surf Resort(Malolo Island)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$592
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vomo Island Resort(Vomo Island)
US$903
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
US$909
US$831
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
68
40
15
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
40
15
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday trippersscuba divingbbq lunchunlimited drinkssubmarine tripday cruisefishfinding nemobare feetlovely sandy beachocean floorsmall swimming poolbunk bedswonderful lunchdeck chairsthe water is crystal clearsmaller boat
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather for the day (almost too wonderful) and to have a chance to do my first discover dive. Meegan quickly put me at ease and was very warm and friendly. I never felt at all worried and she kept a good close eye on me while still allowing me to explore things that caught my attention. Patrick and Reef are superheroes, able to carry THREE! sets of dive gear back up from the water. The visibility wasn’t the greatest due to the bad weather for three or four days previously but I still thought it was pretty good :). The water was warm enough not to need any kind of wetsuit and the fish were plentiful. I enjoyed the first dive so much that we did a second one in the afternoon. Thanks Meegan, you are awesome and an excellent ambassador for your company.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank nogluten2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCAdmin, SSCAdmin at South Sea Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Bula nogluten2013,

We are so pleased to hear about your time at South Sea Island and your fantastic diving experience. It is always great to receive feedback from our guests and to learn about their experiences. We love that you enjoyed your first time diving so much that you went for a second time. We wish you all the best with the remainder of your travels and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Visited South Sea Island on a recent stay in Fiji, just a 30 min ferry trip from Denarau Island Marina; day trips to the Island are organised by South Sea Cruises who own the Island; there is a small hostel for overnight backpackers.
Very small Island which you can walk around in 10 mins, lovely sandy beach with warm seas, small swimming pool situated in the middle of the Island for children & plenty of sun beds .. On a day trip you have the use of Kayaks, Snorkelling Gear & can go on a submarine to see the coral & fish .. there is a lunchtime BBQ included in the day trip price .. (which was about £65 per person)
One note of caution - check the weather forecast, we arrived at 0900hrs with clear blue skies, 2 hrs later it rained non stop until we left at 1600hrs ..Only do this trip if the weather forecast is good for the entire day ..

Room Tip: Check Weather before booking
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCAdmin, SSCAdmin at South Sea Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Bula delboy99,

South Sea Island is one of Fiji's most popular day cruise destinations. It's close location from Port Denarau is great feature, allowing guests to make the most of their time on the island.
It sounds as though you had a fantastic day at South Sea Island and were able to make the most of the non motorized water sports, and were able to relax on Fiji time. We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your travels and that we can welcome you back again soon.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We found the half-day trip to South Sea Island perfect. It seemed that as we arrived not long after midday that most visitors with young children were leaving so it wasn't crowded at all and it was Christmas Day. After a short, informative brief about the island and activities available, a wonderful lunch was provided and then it was basically relax and swim time for the rest of the afternoon. Nobody hassled you, the weather and sea were divine, drinks were included in the price, coffee or tea was also available.
We had no problem finding sun lounges on the beach. What a lovely afternoon. This half-day excursion is highly recommended and I will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Island_GirlOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCAdmin, SSCAdmin at South Sea Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Bula Island_GirlOz,

It sounds as though you had a fantastic day at South Sea Island and what a great way to spend Christmas day. We really enjoy hearing about our guests experiences and it sounds as though you were able to make the most of the islands activities, as well as enjoy some down time. We hope that the remainder of your time in Fiji was just as great and we hope that you do visit us again soon. All the best and happy new year.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We did a family trip to South Sea Island whilst staying at a hotel on Denerau island.

The shuttle transport to and from the airport was punctual and pleasant.

Booking in and redeeming vouchers at the wharf terminal was painfree and relatively quick.

The ferry ride was enjoyable and we were transferred to a smaller boat onto the island. The selection for lunch was varied and plenty for everyone.

The beach loungers were quickly nabbed up, so consider reserving them early somehow!

Although I didn't go the submarine trip, my wife and daughter really enjoyed it, so it's highly recommended.

Beware of the pool which is salt-water! Something that didn't occur to me and so was something of a surprise!

All up, highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCAdmin, SSCAdmin at South Sea Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Bula Gil B,

It sounds as though you and your family had a really pleasant day at South Sea Island. It is great to hear your perspective in regards to the timings of the boat and checking in. We are pleased that this process was well organised and painfree for you and your family.
We hope that you were able to spend some time relaxing, as well as making the most of the activities on the Island. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon & we hope that you enjoy the remainder of your travels.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The only downside is that there is only one dorm but there are only around 40 beds so it is still fine. And the day trippers, every day between 50-200 people visit the island. Since it’s such a small island it gets crowded. The day trippers usually have open bar as well so a few gets really drunk. However, the staff is wonderful staff, the food is really good, the location is stunning! It takes only 4 minutes to walk around the entire island and it is a very cool place to relax on. I stayed 2 nights and it’s was perfect!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCAdmin, SSCAdmin at South Sea Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Bula Christina S,

Thank your for taking the time to review your experience on South Sea Island. It sounds as though you had a lovely stay. Although the Island is small, there is always a lot to do and see. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the staff. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews