We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food - will be back ”

The New Place Cafe Rarotonga
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stumbled on this place on Easter Monday when not much else was open. The service was attentive and the menu was impressive- lots of healthy options and really interesting sounding dishes. I had the fish of the day (grilled tuna steak) and my friend had the halloumi salad. Both were good. We followed up with coffee and cake. The chocolate cashew brownie was absolutely Devine - the best brownie I’ve had in a long time. The coffee was excellent and there’s an impressive range of coffee options -even Vietnamese coffee.
The ceiling fans were appreciated, as were the magazines.
I gave 4 out of 5 stars because I saw the chef lick food from his gloved fingers and then continue to plate up with his hands. Maybe a refresher in food hygiene is needed?

Thank Mitch0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Place_Cafe_Raro, Manager at The New Place Cafe Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Kia Orana Mitch,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on the menu in general and deliciousness of specific dishes and beverages like the brownie and coffees, along with our service and al fresco fan cooled ambiance.

We are proud to have an open kitchen so all may see the quality ingredients and food being cooked before them, We have brought the issue you raised to the attention of the chefs and this was a useful reminder to them to uphold the highest standards of food hygiene at all times.

Look forward to seeing you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We ate here twice during our 2 week visit. Good menu vegetarian options are great which is a big plus. Service on getting meals out at the same time could be worked on as our garlic bread arrived after we had finished our meals.
Steak was excellent so hubby says.

Thank 507CountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We had lunch here , good food, good service, friendly staff, reasonable prices. A GOOD PLACE FOR LUNCH.

Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We popped into The New Place for an iced coffee while shopping in town. Had a stunning view of the mountains behind the cafe! We had a ice cream based iced coffee which was amazing. However it did say $8.50 on the menu, but they charged us $9.50. We did not argue as we were in a rush to get home and $1 didn't seem worth fussing over at that stage.

Great facilities and vibe at the restaurant. Nice spacious and clean toilets and quick service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheBuntFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raroliving, Manager at The New Place Cafe Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you found the atmosphere, views, and facilities beautiful and clean.

We appreciate you pointing out the iced coffee price which we have now corrected in our point of sale system, as it was a backoffice computer input error.

Look forward to seeing you again sometime

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Ika Mata island fish and coconut
Salad and fish and chips were our orders. I also had a fruit smoothie, which hit the spot. The Ika Mata was unique but delicious.

Thank TrvEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raroliving, Manager at The New Place Cafe Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Kia Orana TrvEnthusiast.
Thank you for the lovely feedback on your meal with us. So glad you enjoyed the smoothie and our Cook Islands specialty the Ika Mata marinated fish and freshly squeezed coconut cream salad.
Look forward to seeing you next time you visit the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Place Cafe Rarotonga also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The New Place Cafe Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing