We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed!”

The New Place Cafe Rarotonga
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This 'new' restaurant was a pleasant surprise. Lovely setting and many vegetarian options on the menu, something I've been looking for in Rarotonga for many years. We enjoyed brunch under the Frangipani tree and look forward to returning next time we're in the Cooks.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank I2315GAchrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

We had coffee and cake for morning tea, the food, coffee and service was just lovely. The cafe has a lovely indoor outdoor flow which we liked.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gordyandlece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Although we were recommended this cafe, it wasn't my cup of tea. The menu looked good (we were there at a time when there was a limited light menu) and the food we had was tasty. However, it was a fairly cosmopolitan menu and I'd prefer more local fare.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Decided to drop in for a coffee on market day. Although there was plenty of staff on and very few customers it took ages to get a couple of coffee. Was thinking if walking out at one stage. The coffees were luke warm when we got them.
Wouldn't want to go back again

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MalcolmB1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We discovered this Cafe early on in our stay and came at least once a week to have a curry. Attentive friendly staff added to the experience. They were not open for evening dining on Monday nights which wasn't a problem. When in Raro again we will return.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Place Cafe Rarotonga also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
 

Been to The New Place Cafe Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing