We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu
from US$55.13
More Info
from US$341.00
More Info
from US$32.06
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
Reviews (19,580)
Filter reviews
19,580 results
Traveler rating
17,920
1,208
301
82
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17,920
1,208
301
82
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bucket list the bus sun gate inca trail seven wonders magical place next morning once in a lifetime awe inspiring early in the morning dream come true uncover latin america bug spray sanctuary lodge south america rainy season private guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 19,580 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2020

You arrive at the site by bus, great views can be seen from the bus windows down into the valley below so have your camera at the ready. On arrival, there are toilets at a charge, however note that these are the only facilities within the area so use them before you enter the site.

Quite a steep climb on arrival, a variety of both hills and steps. Plenty of good viewing points however you do have to queue for your turn as they are busy and popular for photographs. On arrival the area was quite misty and it was raining however the weather is very changeable and by the end of 3 hrs we were getting burnt by the sun.

An amazing sight. After the initial viewing spots have passed the crowds disperse and there is more space to move around and photographs can be taken easier. Good to have a guide with you who can explain the various remains and their significance.

An amazing opportunity to have see this place. The day after our visit, Machu Picchu closed due to Coronavirus. Our guided trip of Peru changed completely, tourist spots were closed including shops and restaurants. Peru stopped flights both in and out of the country. We became locked into our hotel back in Lima until repatriation to UK.

Our visit to Machu Picchu really was a trip of a lifetime.

Date of experience: March 2020
5  Thank MrsWYN-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2020 via mobile

This is an amazing place. whenever i come back i have a squeeze like i'm here for the first time. i can't wait to come back again

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank EdinKrnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2020 via mobile

A trip of a lifetime! Shrouded by mist and surrounded by lush vegetation and steep escarpment, the sprawling Inca citadel of Machu Picchu lives up to every expectation.

Date of experience: April 2019
27  Thank russypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Our first trip to Peru and to the sacred city of Machu Picchu. Once you are off the train that leaves you at the base of this site, you can transfer to a bus that takes you to the entrance of this ancient site or you can hike it up. Once you arrive you enter and walk for about 10 to 15 minutes up some steep stairs until you reach the point that everyone goes to. Once you see this, your eyes open wide and you take a deep breath in this is magnificent, amazing and all inspiring. The view of this place is amazing. I have been to many places around the world and this is one of the best sites I have been to. If you are lucky enough to have a guide, even better as they explain the history of this sacred city. Do yourselves a favor and find a way to go and see for yourselves, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2020
4  Thank honestopinionfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

I wanted to get here the first time I saw the amazing pictures of it in a National Geographic magazine! To actually see it was the epitome of what a "Bucket List" experience is all about--why we write/update one! WOW!

This has to be one of the more challenging sites to get to/from --not counting the long international flight--that we have ever encountered. It ended up being a 3 day adventure. We had to fly to Cusco, enter the Sacred Valley, stay overnight, take the train to Machu Picchu, take the bus to the site and then do it all in reverse! The great part of the tripis that there is so much to see and do along the way that it is all a great adventure.

One part of the trip that we were unprepared for is the bus ride up the mountain. My wife suffers from altro phobia, and this ride pushed her to the limit. So much so that we did not return for the second day (early in the morning when there are no crowds) at the site. However, we both felt that we had seen and done all that we needed to do on the first day and wanted to sleep in the next day.

In terms of what we did: all the lower levels, climb the STEEP stairs to the top (where the views and vistas are nothing short of incredible and ever changing with the clouds), the walk back down through the buildings without their roofs to get to the bar for a drink and to enjoy the wonderful views of the mountains.

Details of note: the Peruvian authorities have strict visiting rules that limit guided tours at Machu Picchu. The time slot is critical--DO NOT MISS IT! You are limited as to what you can take into the site--bring water, but no plastic bottles or any food. There are NO BATHROOMS on the site--only at the entrance (for a small fee) and you can't return! Do not bring small children--the 8,000 feet can make it tough for them and the stairs are too high. Some (most) of the paths are one way and they do get after you! Recognize that all the beautiful changes in the views are weather related--it does get hotter/colder as the day goes on. Be prepared with clothing for ALL POSSIBLE CONTINGENCIES!

There can be many people at points of interest. Try to "map out" what you absolutely want to see in advance and KNOW HOW YOU ARE GOING TO GET THERE! Study the site map. Be prepared to be amazed--it is better than you could ever imagine.

Date of experience: February 2020
10  Thank 1234texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews