We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu
from US$55.13
More Info
from US$341.00
More Info
from US$32.06
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
Reviews (19,589)
Filter reviews
19,589 results
Traveler rating
17,928
1,209
301
82
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17,928
1,209
301
82
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bucket list the bus sun gate inca trail seven wonders magical place next morning once in a lifetime awe inspiring early in the morning dream come true uncover latin america bug spray sanctuary lodge south america rainy season private guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 19,589 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2020

The place was nice but I'm surprised it's got so many 5 star reviews. It's jam packed with tourists so you can barely move in places. I hope you like stopping 800 times so someone else can finish their picture.

Visiting it is pretty much a government run scam too. They purposely didn't build a road there to force people to take the train or trails at extortionate rates. I would say up to X10 times out of whack with local prices. Local politicians need new Mercedes each year and their offshore accounts topped up. Your probably feeding corruption. Thats not even getting into the damage/impact that swarms of people are having on the place but they'll keep the gravy train flowing for sure.

There are plenty of other less well known ruins across the continent but it's just a testament to the Instagram era and lack of any depth in most people that this place is so popular.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank 885David_R885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Our visit to the Machu Pichu Site was great. Our weather was good and we were able to visit everywhere within our scheduled time allotted. Our Local Guide, Edwin, was able to tell us many interesting facts about what we were seeing. What a magical place! Well worth the time and effort to effect a visit.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank A1885TAbrendaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived early and before the majority of the tourist... This was the recommendation from our guide. We had a fantastic few hours at the site. The weather was in our favour with bright skies. This is really a must see..

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank bobf222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Machu Picchu had been on my list for years and I’ve finally got to go. We had the 6am slot and when we got there it was all cloudy and you couldn’t see a thing. That said, we took the 1 hour hike to the Inka bridge. At that time it was pretty much empty, after 7am it starts getting crowded right around the area where you need to sign up.

It took about 2-3 hours before the weather cleared up and by 11-12 it was all clear but we had to go. I was able to gain re-entry at the entrance to snap a quick picture by the first look-out, but we were lucky as this never happens. The site is spectacular and definitely a bucket list item. Outside you can get your passport stamped.

My advice during the rainy season is to be there not earlier than 10am as before then there are clouds especially early morning and you can’t see a thing. By 10am they clear (if you’re lucky) as the sun becomes stronger. There’s no reason to go at 6-7am during rainy season to beat the crowds as there are not many people anyway.

Date of experience: February 2020
58  Thank sc11884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Machu Picchu
At first we thought just getting there was half the fun. We stayed at the Sumaq Hotel and can highly recommend the it, the restaurant and staff. We were there in late February when the crowds are minimal. You need some luck because this the rainy season. During spring, winter and fall they have little rain but overwhelming crowds. The other advantage of summer rain are the flowers and lush green cloud forest. You need a guide to get the full understanding of what you see and their experience walks you thru the maze in a pleasant fashion. We were overwhelmed during our four hour walk thru the palace. We started with blue sky and sun, amazing clouds and after three hours watched a rain storm approach the mountain tops. The last hour we walked in the rain. The experience far exceeded any expectations we had. Our guide Darcy was excellent. Great knowledge of how Machu Picchu was built and the local flora and fauna. Knowing what we know now we would have spend an additional day. We would have walked and enjoyed additional time in the jungle

Date of experience: February 2020
3  Thank Poppy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews