We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”
Review of Wallqa Restaurant

Wallqa Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 3,278 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are peruvian creative cuisine. We cherish our traditions and introduce them with an original and innovative twist which makes it absolutely unique. We are located in Miraflores, the safest area in LIma. We provide you with the best ingredients of these lands including the most delicate and exclusive cocktail drinks.
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I had the 9-course degustation menu for lunch. Ambience was pleasant and quiet (the restaurant was only a quarter full). Presentation of the dishes was attractively done and ingredients used were fresh, but the taste was, by and large, only average. Price was reasonable for the quality of the food.

My dining experience was marred at the end of the meal, when the waitress rather aggressively pressed for a tip - not what I expected or was used to, after having spent 3 weeks in Peru.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zentraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallqa, Community Manager at Wallqa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you Zentraveller8! We are really sorry about the inconvenience, we hope you can come back again someday and try our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Cordon Bleu cooking school restaurant, WALLQA, as one of the finest dining establishments in lima. The food was indescribable. restaurant very modern. Loved everything about it

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallqa, Community Manager at Wallqa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you so much Ananda! We really appreciate your opinion and hope someday you can come back and try our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We almost didn’t go because we thought we would be under dressed in our athletic wear but glad we went. Our 2nd night in Lima and we’ve eaten a lot of great food. This can be added to the list!
The menu was in English so that helped in making choices.
Our host/server Victor was excellent. Spoke good English and took great care of us.
All the food was delicious and so were our drinks!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jbig_kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallqa, Community Manager at Wallqa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you so much! We appreciate your opinion, hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I attended this restaurant this past February and it was the most delicious food I have ever tasted. The service was impeccable. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to experience real Peruvian cuisine. LOVED the Pisco Sours as well!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallqa, Community Manager at Wallqa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you Liz! We appreciate your opinion, hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Our hotel in Miraflores gave us a list of tempting restaurant options, within walking distance, for our last dinner in Lima. We were intrigued with Wallqa because it is the restaurant of the Le Cordon Blue school. The head chefs are Cordon Blue graduates being helped by students of the school. How could we go wrong? We did have a bit of a language barrier that we were able to overcome, and the atmosphere along with the music were a bit edgy, but we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the experience in general. The price was very reasonable. It was surprising that we were the only couple dining, but perhaps we were a little early for Latin American dinner customs. Yes, we would recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G8T0RGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallqa, Community Manager at Wallqa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you! We really appreciate your opinion and we are glad you enjoyed your time at the restaurant. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallqa Restaurant also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Wallqa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing