We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colca Canyon 3D/2N Trip”

Land Adventures Day Tours
Ranked #15 of 76 Tours in Arequipa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an experienced company which likes to bring the best service to those who really want to get under Peru's skin, discovering our country's rich culture and history as well as its landscapes. At Land Adventures, we believe that your trip should be about getting to know the people of a country as opposed to just passing through! We have a multicultural and multilingual staff who are more than willing to respond to any queries or requests that you might have. Our Peruvian manager Paul has been guiding for years and has an invaluable knowledge of his country. He is accompanied by Catherine, our French-German public relations manager, herself a long-term resident of Peru, who will be pleased to help you with anything before, during or after your trip. Catherine is fluent in French, German, English and Spanish. Last but not least, we are very proud of our excellent team of guides, who regularly delight our visitors and receive very positive reviews here on TripAdvisor. Pepe, Veronica and Marcelo, among others, are dedicated to providing the very best visitor experience by listening to your needs and helping you discover our landscapes and culture in a way that you might not have thought possible. Finally, Land Adventures is committed to Responsible Tourism, which can be seen in everything we do. Our ethical policy ensures that we always pay fair prices to all of our employees and associates and fuels our work towards ecological conservation and preservation. Whether you are interested in a two-day long trek or much longer cross-country tour, don't hesitate to contact us! We look forward to hearing from you.
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Over Easter week, my boyfriend and I did the 3D/2N Colca Canyon trip with Land Adventures. Our guide was Veronica. Before the trek, Paul met with us to brief us on exactly what we could expect. He was very informative and flexible with when he could meet us at our hotel. The trek was difficult (especially on the second day when climbing out of the Canyon) bus absolutely beautiful scenery. Veronica our guide and she was hands down the best trekking guide I have had in South America (and I have had a few!). She was very patient and understanding when my boyfriend was sick and I was finding it difficult on the uphill! She was very interested in our lives and by the end of it, we felt like we were all friends. She was always very honest of what to expect for the next section of the trip. In terms of logistics - the private driver, the homestay in the Canyon and the hotel in Cabanaconde were perfect. We would 100% recommend Land Adventures and Veronica to anyone who is looking for a trip to the Colca Canyon.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank MandaJane207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trek"
in 10 reviews
"colca canyon trek"
in 8 reviews
"hot springs"
in 6 reviews
"takes about hours"
in 2 reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 2 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 2 reviews
"accommodations"
in 8 reviews
"veronica"
in 5 reviews
"oasis"
in 14 reviews
"driver"
in 16 reviews
"pace"
in 5 reviews
"breakfast"
in 6 reviews
"mule"
in 4 reviews
"villagers"
in 2 reviews
"alpacas"
in 6 reviews
"english"
in 8 reviews
"outfit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2014

This was a wonderful experience with this tour group. Very knowledgeable tour guides and looked after all of our needs.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank jen572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fabulous trip with land adventures over New Year this year (sorry for the late post). It was just the 2 of us in our group. We did the 2 day trip down into Canyon on 31st December and back up on 1st january - a great way to welcome the new year! After our trek (not too difficult but you still work up a sweat on way down) we chilled out in the lovely pool. The huts are basic but clean and fit for purpose. The staff were really friendly.
There was a bonfire and firework at night, which was great fun. Our guide Marcello had also brought a bottle of wine down for us to drink as a treat as it was New Year.
We hiked up the next day (more strenuous the next day but you can take it at your own pace)
We went to see the condors the next morning and didn't see any at the Cross, but we saw some on our way back. Marcello and the driver were really keen for us to see them, so stopped a couple of times to allow us to see them.
We were dropped off back in Arequipa and we stupidly left our camera in the van. One of the managers of land adventures very kindly drove out to meet us the next morning with our camera, as we were flying out that morning.
The only thing that I think could have improved a little was the evening food (lunch and breakfast were great) but for dinner there was only spag bol, which is fine after a hike, but would have maybe preferred something a bit more traditional.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank GMu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed our trek with Land Adventures. We did the 2 day tour with Marcello and he was very patient with our walking pace. Colca Canyon was difficult, but it was enjoyable with a good guide and safe driver. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Jetsetter629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

LandAdventures contacted us by email the day we arrived in Arequipa and explained that our guide, Veronica, would meet us at our hotel that afternoon. We had tried to go to the offices at the address listed in our guidebook earlier that day unsuccessfully; we saw their sign, but it turned out they were no longer located there, which was confusing, so I was glad to get the email. Veronica explained the treks we could choose and asked us about our health and footwear and helped us choose an appropriate trek for us, which was good. She and the driver, Jesus, picked us up the next morning promptly at 6 and we drove to Cabanaconde to begin our trek. Having a private car take us was really good - we were able to stop for bathroom breaks if we needed to and it didn't take as long as a bus would. The trek down the canyon at midday was really challenging, and I was really affected by the heat and sun, so that's important to keep in mind. The hotel/cabins we stayed at was beautiful, with a beautiful pool and grounds and very charming accommodations - it was much nicer than I was expecting and I really loved it. We got up at 4 to hike back up the next day and that was much easier because it was cool. (Each leg of the trek took us a little less than 3 hours to complete.) Then we had breakfast and went to see the condors and stopped at some lookouts and hot springs and had a wonderful lunch in Chivay. Veronica was very friendly and interesting and helpful and her English was excellent. She also gave us some tips about things to see and places to eat in Arequipa. Jesus was a very safe driver, which I appreciated a lot. Wiring the money beforehand was something I'd never done before, but it all went very smoothly. My boyfriend is a vegetarian, and they were able to accommodate that very easily. This trek with LandAdventures was definitely my favorite thing that we did on our trip to Peru and I would recommend it to anyone (who is in good enough shape to do the hike!). It was also good value for what we paid.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank 189amyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land Adventures Day Tours also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Land Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing