We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveler rating
448
477
116
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
477
116
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall free parking ocean view great view scrambled eggs chilli hotel is located the ground floor blackout curtains pressure and temperature great mall fishing boats staff were professional the breakfast area comfortable rooms reception desk worked fine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Located within easy walking from the bus station, right on the waterfront. The signage is not great, but it's nxt to the tall Ripley building - past the entrance to the shopping centre.
All the rooms have great views over the harbour - though it's not an especially exciting harbour :-)
The rooms are huge with lots of good towels including face washers. The shower had good pressure and temperature - and was in the bath.
The rooms are quiet and have very good blackout curtains. The variation in temp from max hot to max cold wth the aircon is maybe 4 degrees. There is an opening window which lets in the sea breeze if you like fresh air.
Free wifi is good - but for some reason my phone wouldn't connect - it bought up a Google error about not being able to connect. Laptop, and other phone worked fine.
The service at the front desk was excellent - they even helped sort out issues we had with a tour we had booked elsewhere. Interestingly they took a depsit from our credit card on the first day - then the rest when we checked out. Payment is in US$ as in most other places.
Breakfast was a good spread of the usual South American items. Tea (sometimes) and coffee -but not milk - are available 24 hours a day in the restaurant.
What let this place down was the inconsistent servicing of the room.
There is coffee machine, two paper cups and one sachet of coffee - no milk or even creamer. We used the coffee the first day. Nothing was replaced the second day - but the third day we got two new paper cups - no coffee.
Strangely there is also an ice bucket and two plastic cups (in plastic bags) - they were never replaced :-(
There is a sign to hang on the bathroom door if you want new linen or towels - leaving towels on the floor does not get them replaced - only hung up :-)
If you like shopping - there is a door on the ground floor that opens into the shopping plaza. There is a big food hall on the 3rd floor - but the variety is very limited and we found none of the advertised special menus or daily specials were actually available. There are a few dinner items available at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteGralHolidayInn, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your detailed review. The information you provide us is relevant and contributes to the improvement of our service. To begin, we are happy to know that you liked our rooms, location and that you received a good service from our Front Desk. We appreciate your observations regarding the in-room coffee machine; they will be shared with the area managers. I am sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you can visit us again.

Sincerely,
Camila R.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2018

This is a large modern hotel built over a shopping mall. It's in a good location. Shops below and free parking. There is free wi fi and views from front facing rooms are of the sea and harbour. There is a lady in reception called Barbara. She is superb. Very smart and resourceful, she speaks good English and is extremely helpful.
Some other points though.
If you have children do NOT have a balcony room, the balcony barrier is very low and easy to climb and is not safe for children.
In summer there was no air con. When I rang front desk they told me it was switched off!
So at night the room was hot. Front facing rooms have great views but can be noisy so try to get a higher floor.
Breakfast was very poor. Lots of bread and cakes a bit of ham and cheese. Fruit was only bananas and a few ugly apples. Hot food was some sad scrambled eggs. It was quite a bun fight trying to avoid all the kids.
In conclusion not a bad base if staying a day or two.

Room Tip: Try to get high floor front facing.
Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SAJR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteGralHolidayInn, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We always want to receive feedback from our guests and find areas of improvement, so we appreciate your opinion. We thank you also for taking the time to recognize our staff; I will share your comments. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Camila R.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night for a work meeting. Hotel was very clean. One of the best views from an hotel I have ever seen . Good breakfast and nice staff. Would say again if I was in the area. Rooms had plenty of space and big tv's.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Fergal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteGralHolidayInn, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view and that the hotel´s location was convenient. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Camila R.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We only spent one night here in route from Chiloe to Patagonia. We had a car to drop off at the airport before our morning flight so having free parking was a plus. The spacious rooms have a beautiful view of the bay, comfortable bed and are quiet even though the hotel is located on the main drag.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteGralHolidayInn, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your comments. It is very important for us to know that you had a comfortable stay in the hotel. We hope you can stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Camila R.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Very good room with one exception - the balcony door would not lock. Otherwise very good. Good breakfast, internet. Staff was very helpful and friendly. A good choice. But they should fix the balcony door locks.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteGralHolidayInn, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your comments. We always want to know details regarding the stays of our guests. In this case, thank you for your feedback regarding the balcony door; I will share your comment with the team. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Camila R.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews