We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”
Review of The Song of India

The Song of India
Ranked #57 of 12,217 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delight in fine Indian cuisine as you dine just a stone’s throw away from the heart of Orchard Road. Situated in a black and white heritage colonial bungalow, its tasteful interiors and lush green surroundings offer you an intimate dining indulgence amid the bustle of the city.
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Rohit was attentive and friendly. Service was good. We had the codfish as appetizer which was well presented and very delicious. For main course, we had butter chicken and palak paneer with saffron rice and naan. Both servings were big and good. It was a lot for 2 ladies! Price is on the high side. If you are willing to spend, the food and service are worth it.

Thank elainewendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagat123, Guest Relations Manager at The Song of India, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you so much for taking time to write us your feedback.
thank you for praising our cuisine and service.
Your valued feedback will help us to improve and give constant good food and service.
we hope to make your next experience too with us better one also.
Thank you.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 148 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

The best india food in Singapore! Love the lobster, soup...... amazing! If you are the india food lover, or you love spicy food! Must try!

Thank tigerboywong .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagat123, Guest Relations Manager at The Song of India, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you so much for taking time to write us your feedback.
thank you for praising our cuisine and service.
Your valued feedback will help us to improve and give constant good food and service.
we hope to make your next experience too with us better one also.
Thank you.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Was there for a celebration with my family last Saturday. The ambience of the restaurant was nice and cosy. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. We ordered 3 set dinner based on recommendation. The presentation of the dishes were nice and the waiter made effort to explain every items to us when they were served. So service was good.

Food wise, the taste was not very spicy and food was ok.

For an experience of indian food in a nice setting, this is a good place to try. But the price is expensive.

Thank Lemongrass_Jt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagat123, Guest Relations Manager at The Song of India, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you so much for taking time to write us your feedback.
thank you for praising our cuisine and service.
Your valued feedback will help us to improve and give constant good food and service.
we hope to make your next experience too with us better one also.
Thank you.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The Song of India is a classy establishment, housed in a black & white colonial stand-alone bungalow. The sophisticated interior is small and intimate, decorated exquisitely and opulently, showcasing a hallmark of a fine dining restaurant. Indian cuisine in Singapore tends to be found at opposite ends of the dining spectrum - casual ones in Little India and the elegant restaurants in hotels.

The restaurant scores on all areas - food, service, ambience and table setting. We had the tomato soup, tandoori chicken, lamb shank, butter chicken, aloo gobi and naan. All thoughtfully and deftly executed. Table service was top-notch.

Just a couple of observations we think the management can look into - we were seated at the custom-made curved tables and chairs - this is slightly awkward as we could not find an ideal sitting position for two people. Secondly, the outside of the house seems neglected - the outdoor dining area is in need of some restoration. There was rather rundown furniture tossed here & there and it made the place look makeshift and rather shabby.

Price point is obviously high, but befitting of the place. We had a discount with our credit card, so that helped quite a bit! Definitely an elegant restaurant we intend to return to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susantiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagat123, Guest Relations Manager at The Song of India, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you so much for taking time to write us your feedback.
thank you for praising our cuisine and service.
Your valued feedback will help us to improve and give constant good food and service.
we hope to make your next experience too with us better one also.
Thank you.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great time and dinner. Place is beautiful and the service was great. Food is delicious and well worth the price. As it is my friend’s birthday, they even gave us a window seat and a nice chocolate cake at the end.

Thank Jace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagat123, Guest Relations Manager at The Song of India, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you so much for taking time to write us your feedback.
thank you for praising our cuisine and service.
Your valued feedback will help us to improve and give constant good food and service.
we hope to make your next experience too with us better one also.
Thank you.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Song of India also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
 

Been to The Song of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing