We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Middle Eastern vegetarian food with vegan options”
Review of Fill a Pita

Fill a Pita
Ranked #208 of 11,876 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Terrific location if you are part of Singapore's CBD working crowd and want a change of taste. We are tucked away at Nankin Row, a pedestrian street that is easily accessible from Chinatown MRT and Telok Ayer MRT. Wallet-friendly prices, great service, and amazing food . The menu is 100% vegetarian and 100% halal - mostly sandwiches in pita (Arabic) bread, salads and dips. Everything is prepared on site daily except for our pita bread. We don't use eggs, butter, or milk in any of our dishes and many items can be served without garlic and onion. Most of our menu is available all week including our best seller Koshari brown rice that is now available everyday after a popular demand and we have added new dishes to the menu like the Lasagne, Moussaka, Chili Stuffed Falafel, and a whole desserts menu of Fruit Salad, Vegan Cake, and Baklava. Don't forget to try our home-made drinks from Lemonade, to Hibiscus & Tamarind. * Lasagne is served on Tue/Wed * Moussaka is served on Wed/Thur
Reviewed 27 December 2017

It is a small place that mainly operates on weekdays - relying on the office crowd at lunchtime, but the food is simple yet delicious. Many of the dishes are vegan, I highly recommend the pita bread with hummus and falafels.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlennChua9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedamersg, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Glenn,
Thank you very much for the kind review :) We look forward to see you again. We are excited to add a few more delicious dishes to the menu over the course of this year.
Best,
Fill A Pita team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2017

It seems like the quality of food has gone down from the last time I visited this place in Shenton Way. Macaroni used for Koshari is not fresh and with stale tomato sauce on top.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedamersg, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hi Greg,
That's unfortunate, we wish you had raised this with us when you were around and we could have clarified and helped improve your experience. We cook everything fresh and there is no stale ingredients in our food. On the contrary, we have improved and all of our regulars have been very happy with the new taste. We are sure you will have a different opinion on your next visit. Please feel free to say hi to the staff next time you are around to talk more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent food. Great service. Reasonable price. Definitely worth a visit if you’re in Singapore! Great selection/choice. We enjoyed the platter for 2. Would recommend.

1  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedamersg, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Hi Holly, thank you very much for your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. We will be closed for the holidays and will resume business on the 8th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Terrible owner! Everything else is nice but the whole experience of eating here was bad as the owner of this restaurant is rude. Usually there is a lady at the cash counter and she is nice. But if you see this old man who is the owner of this place, he is rude to his customers. They overcharge 1 dollar for credit card payments and if you ask them why politely, owner will simply shout or be rude to you instead of explaining politely. Never going to this place again!

1  Thank AdityaGoyallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedamersg, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

When you visit a shop, you can either simply comply with the terms and conditions or choose to dine somewhere else. We were trying to explain to you why there is a charge for a credit card below a certain order total amount but you didn’t give us the chance & got upset for simply answering you. This is a wide and accepted terms in many restaurants in SG. We are certainly not looking forward to see you again because of your attitude and false comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2017

I love Mediterranean food and tried out fill-a-pita for lunch with family. The staff is very nice and courteous and we were attended to promptly.

The food though was a hit and miss. The hummus was excellent, one of the best i have had. The multi-grain pita was warm, but it did not seem freshly made. We also had koshari rice/pasta/lentil bowl, eggplant pita sandwich and mushroom vegetables lasagna. Eggplant sandwich filling was very refreshing and good, however again a bit of letdown was the pre-made (or packaged) pita. Lasagna and the koshari were average, and i would have given them full points if only the sauce was made from fresh ingredients. While the rice , pasta , mushroom etc. seemed freshly cooked, the sauce originating from canned tomatoes was clear...and when i went back to get some serviettes i noticed the pomodoro tomato cans in the background. While pomodoro is a good choice for making red sauce, unfortunately it doesnt work so well from canned version.

We also tried the chilled lemonade which being pre-made was also lacking the freshness and zest you feel from a freshly made lemonade.

I think being a quick in-and-out style of food place and to keep the price affordable, they have to make some short-cuts like the canned tomatoes and pre-made pita etc. but that takes away from the food being excellent.

Don't expect to be wowed, but a decent vegetarian Mediterranean option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amsahai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedamersg, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Hi Amsahai, Thank you for giving us a visit and for your review. We found some of your observations are incorrect and we'd be happy to clarify them with you on your next visit. For more about our process, you may visit our Trip Advisor & Facebook pages. Merry Christmas and a happy new year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fill a Pita also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Fill a Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing