We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good bang for your bucks”
Review of Hotel 81 Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Ranked #195 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for my 25 hours layover.
Compared to many other 81 branded hotels I stayed in singapore, this property would be 1 of the best, mostly because of thr following:
1. Modern decor room
2. Fast Internet
3. Dry shower room (enclosed shower room)
4. Great internet tv

Cons:
1. Pretty far walking distance from both kallang and aljunied MRT (approx 15 min away)
2. Right on lorong 8 of geylang...you can intepret it yourself

Overall great s $65 room in singapore for a short layover...clean and very well equiped

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Mario S,

Warmest greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood. Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. We are glad that you had a comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I took a escape trip to Singapore. We picked Hotel 81 Hollywood in Geylang neighbourhood. We picked hotel at Geylang because we want to stayed in local neighbourhood. Geylang provide great vibe for neighbourhood in Singapore day and night. Easy to find local food. Shop in local store. Blend with local for transportion. Public bus very easy to access in Geylang.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gbay2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear gbay2712,

Thank you for taking your time to write us an informative review. We are glad that the location enhanced your stay here in Singapore. We will see you again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

small rooms but very clean , perfect for few nights
staff helpful
bus 3 mons walk metro 10 mins walk
area is ok , many local cheap eats nearby , few bars also
7/11 nearvby
would stay again when back in s/pore

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medicmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Medicmarty,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood! Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. Your warm and positive feedback have given the team much motivation. We are eagerly looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

I have stayed here a few times now and love it. It's small but clean and modern with fast internet, so really all i need. Great location $13 cab ride to town. All the food is around $3 per portion in the area which is a great price for singapore. Beers just down the road at varries cafe's $6 for a large.

The rooms have smart TV's which i really like, there is a fridge, safe, and kettle for coffee / tea.

The only thing it's missing is room service and a pool. But I'm happy enough without that.

Room Tip: The view of the soccer field is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gede S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Gede S,

Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor on how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel 81 Hollywood. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

Its a nice and a quiet hotel with lots of restaurants and eateries around. Good location, friendly staff and near the bus and metro if I'm not feeling taking a cab.

The hotel has different hotel chains around geylang and its all affordable too. The only downside was, this hotel doesn't have any restaurant within the building and they don't serve breakfast either.

PS. I can only show the picture of its lobby and not the room itself as I can't find the other pictures. Sorry for that.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank Rea Reese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

Dear Rea Reese R,

Thank you for taking your time to write and also snap a picture of our hotel lobby in Tripadvisor. We are also glad that you had pleasant stay with us! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#147 of 317 in Singapore
573 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#219 of 317 in Singapore
239 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#278 of 317 in Singapore
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#158 of 317 in Singapore
293 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#193 of 317 in Singapore
122 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#259 of 317 in Singapore
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Hollywood

Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: ₱2,272 - ₱4,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing