We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chili crab & fried stingray with sambal, ftw”

Makansutra Gluttons Bay
Ranked #9 of 561 Quick Bites in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Marina Centre
Description: Surrounded by retro-inspired push-carts and offering a spectacular view of the Marina Bay skyline, this open-air, moon-lit food centre is a hotspot for visitors and the sleepless in Singapore.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Open-air food court type. Walking distance from the Esplanade. We had chili crab and fried sting ray with sambal together with fried rice and stir-fried water spinach (kangkong). Delicious and just enough spice. Budget to mid-range prices. Lots of people dining here at night.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank 917susanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 380 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2016

There are only about a dozen stalls but my goodness what wonderful cheap food. We went 2 twice whilst in Singapore, the 2nd time was best when I had Chilli Crab, have never tasted anything so good.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MAUREEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

I like this place! It is an open hawker style food court but with modern style.

It has various type of foods such as satay, cereal prawn, chili crab, mee goreng and salted egg chicken (these are my recommendations) from the 15+ stalls.

The place is clean and well organised. The tables and seats are well maintained too. It is located at the Esplanade Theater (the famous "durian building"). You can reach here by walking through the Esplanade tunnel toward the Theater from the Esplanade MRT or City Hall MRT (via Esplanade Link).

The view of the Marina Bay Sands and the Singapore's Merlion are great here. Note that the area is also popular place for family walking, jogging and live performance.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank azimanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

This is the place to go if you want to try hawker food in Singapore. You can eat all the hawker food you want here from the row of stalls that specialize on different types of hawker food. Make sure you get here early, though. It can be difficult to get a table especially as it gets late into the night.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank writelovewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

This food court serves variety of Asian cuisine. The price is reasonable. However this place can get so crowded as it is located near the Marina bay. It is very busy during dinner so needs to come a bit earlier to find a place to sit quickly.

Then after or before dining you can walk around and enjoy the city view.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank cavenido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Makansutra Gluttons Bay also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Makansutra Gluttons Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.