We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$103
View deal
Expedia.com
$135
View deal
Trip.com
$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/23
Hotels.com$135
Travelocity$135
Orbitz.com$135
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
267
149
39
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
267
149
39
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront area visit boracay white beach bars and restaurants cabana station island transfer ang philippines partying resto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 475 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 3D/2N. The place was clean. All the staff are friendly and will cater to your needs. The room we stayed in was sanitized and cleaned. The ambience was so relaxing and peaceful. The breakfast was good. There's no pool but it was okay because you have access to the beach right in front of you :) I will bring my family next time here in this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 929marlync
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2022

This is a perfect resort and the quiet end of the beach but close enough to all bars and restaurants if needed. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and the bar area is peaceful and right on the beach. When we were asked to pay an additional 150 for 'foreigners' at the ferry port, the receptionist refunded it straight away. I would always stay here again if I came back to Borocay. We need a quite location and this was extremely quiet.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidtI2028YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 24, 2022

We always stay here whenever we are in Boracay.
Our latest trip was to celebrate my parents' birthday.
The rooms are really nice and clean. They provide you with the basic necessities.
Breakfast although plated is satisfying and more than enough. We always take it at their very spacious cabana where we lounge on just before heading out of lunch (I know another meal :))
Best part is the staff, really friendly and they always remember us everytime we go back.

P.S. this property is beachfront

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 16, 2022

The location is very ideal for people who wants to chill and relax. No Heavy partying just the right vibe to enjoy your day under the sun. They have a resto and bar that is just right.

Staff was great, everyone is very helpful and courteous.

For it’s location, the price is reasonable. Amenities are good enough. They dont have a swimming pool. But I didn’t go to Boracay for the swimming pool but for the Crystal clear white beach!

Truly amazing experience, I will definitely go back to Sur..

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank yendis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 31, 2022

Nag stay ako sa hotel nyo nung 2018 and sobrang nagenjoy kami. I told myself that the next time I will visit Boracay, I MUST stay here back again. But I was wrong.

Nag book kami ng Penthouse with my foreign guests who works at a magazine publication for a European Airline pero sobrang nakakahiya lang pala na dito namin sila dinala. Let me break this down in points.

1. Nagsend ako ng guest names including my self to arrange for Airport Transfer. 900 pesos each. Okay fine. When we reached the jetty port, we were asked to pay additional 150 pesos para sa dalawa naming kasamang foreigners. The voucher sent to me clearly states na it is all inclusive and no need to pay any extra. Miski kaya namin magbayad, we dont know kung legit ba ang hinihingi sa amin. We try to call the property several times sa lahat ng hotline pero walang sumasagot. We decided to pay it first and ask for receipt pero wala namang ibinigay ang travel agent na resibo that foreigners must pay additional 150 per person. I just want to be clear: we can pay. Pero we need proper information kasi dino document namin ito para i-publish sa airline magazine.

2. We arrived at the hotel. Sinalubong kami ng present your vaccine card and check your temperature instead of a warm welcome na miski good afternoon man lang sana. We went to the front desk. Andon si Joan. Sabi ko bakit kami sinigil sa jetty ng add fee kung nakalagay sa voucher ay all inclusive. Sabi nya nung una, i minus nalang yung 150 per foreign guest kasi 900 lang ang na quote sa amin. Okay na sana, and then bigla nyang binawi at sabi na inexplain na sa jetty na additional fee for foreigners, so wala silang i refund na. Okay fine.

3. We went up to the room sa level 4 Penthouse. Puro tambak ng housekeeping sa gilid. Nakatapat sa tanke ng tubig na nasa bubong, na may mga bakas ng kalawang. Malaki ang penthouse. may lamesa, mabango, malinis pero halatang luma na. Lalo na ang mga cabinets. Tumawag ako kay Joan and ask na baka mayroon pang ibang penthouse kasi the location of the room is not what we expect for a penthouse. Sabi nya, wala ng iba. Okay fine.

May coffee machine at coffee. Sa pinas, miski gaano kainit ang panahon, nagkakape ang Pinoy. Pero hindi Pinoy ang kasama namin. Tumawag ako uli kay Joan at nag ask ng tea. sabi nya, tumawag ako sa room service at mag ask. - SINO BA ANG RECEPTIONIST? AKO BA? KABISADO KO BA ANG EXTENSION NYO? Okay fine.

4. Tumawag ako sa room service. Sabi ko I need tea. Ang sabi nung sumagot, call daw ako sa housekeeping kasi wala silang tea pot. (TAGALOG NA TO HA). sabi ko, hindi ko kailangan ng tea pot, meron sa room. Ang kailangan ko, tea bag. Sabi nya, okay daw pero chargable 80 pesos. (SERIOUSLY?) Pero since sa bisita namin to, OK kako, sige, charge it to the room.

Pag akyat ng staff sa room na pawis na pawis dahil level 4 pa at walang lift, ang binigay nya sa akin imbes na tea, ay coffee cup. TALAGA HO BA? PAANO HO? TAGALOG NA ITO. FROM TEA BAG TO COFFEE CUP? . Okay fine. Sige baba nalang kami at doon nalang.

5. Wala daw space kasi puno ang sunbeds at 1st come 1st serve basis daw. Pinaupo muna kami sa lamesa at sabi ng waiter, pag may bakante na, we will transfer. Pero yung lamesang pinagdalhan sa amin ay puno ng LANGGAM dahil may nilalanggam na hipon sa ilalalim, may basag na bote ng Redhorse at madumi. Huli na ang lahat kasi pinapak na kami ng langgam. May nabakanteng sunbed, sabi ko lipat na kami PERO SA IBA BINIGAY

Sabi ng waiter, nauna daw sila sa amin so wait pa daw muna. They dont look like Sur guests so I asked. True enough, sabi ng waiter, hindi nga sila taga Sur.- TALAGA HO BANG GANON? YUNG IN HOUSE GUEST HINDI PRIORITY? OK Fine.

Dinala pa namin ang guest namin sa Mövenpick kase mukhang wala kami mapapala.

6. Hindi rin gumagana ang safety deposit box. Sinabihan pa kami na upon request yun at nakasulat daw sa pagkahaba habang note sa room na hindi namin makita. - NASA HOLIDAY HO ANG GUEST NYO. HINDI HO NAMIN KAYANG MAGBASA MUNA NG MAHABANG TERMS AND CONDITION NYO BAGO KAMI MAG LAMYERDA SA BEACH. SANA I-ANTICIPATE NYO ANG MGA KAILANGAN NILA BAGO PA MAN ITANONG.

Ni lock namin ang pinto kasi hindi gumagana ang safe. pero maitulak lang ng konti, bumubukas. Sira din ang lock ng pinto? o nasa terms and condition din? or upon request?

We fly from Germany at wala kaming wifi kaya hindi naka sync ang relo namin sa PH time. Yung relo sa kwarto, 2pm palang. HINDI BA TO CHINECHECK NG HOUSEKEEPING BAGO IRELEASEA ANG ROOM FOR NEXT GUEST? Gulong gulo kami kasi hindi namin alam anong oras na. Hindi rin kami maka konek sa Wifi, hindi gumagana miski may 2 reuter sa loob ng room. Tumawag ako sa Reception at noon lang sinabi na for public areas lang. BAKIT PO KAYO MAY REUTER SA LOOB NG PINAKAMAHAL NG KWARTO NYONG PENTHOUSE KUNG YUNG GUEST HO AY LALABAS DIN PALA SA PUBLIC AREA? BAKIT HO KAILANGAN PA KAMI BIGYAN NG ACCESS CODE KUNG PUBLIC ANG WIFI?

KAYA NGA HO PENTHOUSE ANG IBINOOK NAMIN DAHIL WE NEED THOSE FEATURES PARA SA AMING JOURNALIST GUESTS.

7. Binigyan kami ni Joan ng wifi passcode, and breakfast pre-order sheet upon arrival. Finill upan namin at binalik sa kanya nung oras din na yon. Pero kinabukasan, nung nag breakfast kami, sabi ng waiter hindi daw available yung item 2 days ago na. Sinisi pa ng waiter ang reception at sinabing may problema sila sa communication. Sinervan kami ng saging pero lamog at bugbog, maitim at ayaw ng tigilan ng langaw kasi nga, pabulok na. Pinapunta nila si Remy habang nagbbreakfast kami to apologize. -AWANG AWA HO KAMI SA STAFF NA ITO DAHIL HINDI NAMAN SYA MANAGER PERO SYA ANG MATAPANG NA PINAPUNTA SA AMIN TO APOLOGIZE. WALANG MANAGEMENT NA GUSTONG HUMARAP, MISKI SUPERVISOR MAN LANG.

KITANG KITA SA MATA NI REMY ANG BAKAS NG LUHA, BAGSAK NA DIGNIDAD AT VERY APOLOGETIC SYA SA DINANAS NAMIN. SHE EVEN PUT THE BLAME ON HER SELF AT SABING KASALANAN NYA ANG LAHAT. NA HINDI NYA NA UPDATE ANG BREAKFAST SHEET. NA MALI SYA NG QUOTE SA AIRPORT TRANSFER DAHIL HINDI NYA ALAM NA MAY FOREIGNER (MISKI FOREIGNER ANG MGA PANGALAN).
WAG HO KAYONG GANYAN MAG TRATO NG STAFF NYO PORKET RANK AND FILE SYA. NAPAKA TOXIC NG GANITONG WORK CULTURE. PUSHING THE BLAME SA PINAKA MABABANG POSITION OR PASAHAN NG RESPONSIBILIDAD SA KABILANG DEPARTMENT.

WE KEEP ON ASKING STAFF JEN NG MANAGER PERO WALA DAW AVAILABLE AT NAGMEETING. WE ASKED MULTIPLE TIMES DAHIL WALANG GUSTONG HUMARAP NA MANAGEMENT HANGGANG SA KAHULIHULIHANG SANDALI, HINARAP KAMI NI RANNY. SUPERVISOR DAW SYA.

WALA RIN SYANG MASABI. INULIT LANG NYA ANG REASON BAKIT MAY CHARGE NA 150 SA FOREIGNER. ILANG BESES NA SA AMIN NAPALIWANAG YUN.I ASK HIM KUNG ANONG GAGAWIN OR MAGAGAWA NYA, PERO WALA SYANG MASABI. GANYAN BA ANG SUPERVISOR NYO? WALANG B*YAG! WALANG MASABI. NO ACT OF EVEN A SLIGHTEST SERVICE RECOVERY.

BINIGYAN NAMIN KAYO NG MARAMING PAGKAKATAON PARA AYUSIN ANG MGA SMALL HICK UPS NYO. PERO BINALEWALA NYO ANG CUES NA BINIBIGAY NAMIN.

GANITO BANG IMAHE ANG GUSTO NYONG ISULAT NG MGA BANYAGA SA PROPERTY NYO? SA PILIPINAS?

TO ALL READERS, WE DECIDED TO SHORTEN OUR STAY KASI HINDI NAMAN NILA MAIBIGAY ANG BASIC NA KAILANGAN NAMIN.

NO WORDS CAN EXPRESS OUR DISAPPOINTMENT FOR THIS PROPERTY. KUNG PWEDE LANG SANANG MAG FULL REFUND, SA LAHAT NG ABALA AT STRESS NA DINULOT SAMIN NITO SA WORKING VACATION NAMIN.

NAKAKAHIYA.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macde124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Trisha Tirol, General Manager at Sur Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2022

Dear Sir Mark,

I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience you had experience while staying with us. We take our guest concerns seriously thus I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. However unfortunate, rest assured, this is incident is extremely unusual and not the norm.

We already conducted our initial investigation to shed light on what transpired including the circumstances around it. Please allow me to share the initial result to answer the concerns you brought up.

1. On the additional Php 150 terminal fee for foreign guest, admittedly, our front desk Associate fumbled this. Our staff failed to include it in the transfer fee which should have amounted to Php 1,050.00 and not 900.00

2. The safety protocols are standard procedure to all establishments as mandated by the law. The guard also reported that he greeted the guests and even made a small talk while you were taking your temperature.

3. “Puro tambak ng housekeeping sa gilid. Nakatapat sa tanke ng tubig na nasa bubong, na may mga bakas ng kalawang.” – The area you mentioned, which is located at the back, is actually not part of the penthouse accommodation. It is not supposed to be accessible to the guests. Sorry for the misunderstanding. We will make sure to inform the guest ahead about this to prevent this from happening again.

4. On the tea request. The receptionist, Joan, reported that she actually called the room service about your request and only advised you that for additional order you can dial “501”. As for the “Tea Bag”, the room service staff mistakenly heard you requested a “Tea mug”. It is both unfortunate and embarrassing. For that I apologize.

5. On Sunbeds, we have a 1st come 1st serve basis regardless if the guest is an inhouse or walk-in. Rest assured, we will review our policy on this. The Food Service Worker recalled that when you asked him to clean the cabana, he saw no broken bottle of redhorse nor the “puno ng langgam”. Although he admits that there were fewer than 5 ants which he sweeps off.

6. Safety deposit box is actually working properly. The instruction is in the safe. However, you can always ask for assistance to set the code if needed or “upon request”.

7. The Main door is also working properly as reported. The main door for penthouse is a double door design. To properly lock it, one needs to latched one of the doors to the floor. The likely scenario was that the door was not secured to the ground which explains why it opened easily.

8. The HK staff admitted that she failed to notice that the clock was not working. Although she replaced the battery afterwards. We are just waiting to finish the investigation so we can proceed with the corrective actions for the said staff. Again, I sincerely apologize for this.

9. We already checked the WIFI signal inside the room and it is working too although admittedly, the signal outside is comparatively stronger.

10. Regarding the breakfast. The suppliers admitted that they failed to notify the kitchen ahead that they run out of stock of that particular item and only informed our kitchen on the day they’re supposed to deliver it. We already sent out formal complain to their manager. There is really no excuse for this. I can only offer my sincere apology and promise that this won’t happen again.

11. Regarding how we handle our staff. We believe in employee empowerment. When a staff makes a mistake, we see to it that he/she will be given the opportunity to rectify the problem, to redeem his/herself, and more importantly, to learn from it. Otherwise, it will defeat the purpose of empowerment. Having said that, on instances where there is the need to escalate it to the department head, our supervisors are actually very dependable in providing help.

12. On your assumptions “wag ho kayong ganyan mag trato ng staff nyo porket rank and file sya napaka toxic ng ganitong work culture pushing the blame sa pinaka mababang position”. Firstly, we don’t treat our employees the way you had portrayed it. For the record, we did not instruct our front office associate, Remy, to go to your table to apologized for the simple reason that it wasn’t yet brought to the management’s attention. She took the initiative to solve her mistakes. When we asked why the guest had the impression that she was “kawawa”, she answered that she was actually afraid of what you might comment against her since she is still on her probationary period. Secondly, on your comment about our “work culture”, I don’t think you know our company that well to warrant such unfair accusations. There is a reason why we have loyal customers and employees. With all due respect, please refrain from assuming things you know nothing about.

13. Lastly, when you ask for compensation, unfortunately, Remy, is not in the position to decide on this. When she escalated the concern to the management, it was reported that you have already decided to transfer to another hotel instead. Thus, the least thing we did was to allow you to shorten your stay and refund the remaining nights. Moreover, we allowed a late check out until 5pm to give you ample time from your island hopping.

Again, I apologize If we were not able to meet your expectations. Rest assured, we will strive to do our best to do better. Thank you.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews