We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again...”
Review of Boracay Gems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay Gems
Ranked #54 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A bit of a strange set-up, in that Seven Stones resort is conjoined with Boracay Gems (same owners but leased out?), with a couple of the rooms actually on the corner of Seven Stones (101A & B) & the rest as villas around the corner & overlooking Bulabog beach.

Overall, rooms are very spacious & certainly value for money. In our Opal Villa we had 3 Samsung TV's with surround sound...none of which every got switched on. Whilst it can definitely accommodate 2 couples with a bedroom upstairs & downstairs, there was only one shower. Three of our friends stayed at 101A & B, with the latter being a larger living area etc. with jacuzzi bath, but only one bed.

Some oddities were the lack of towels & normal shower commodities; that one of our lounge window (if blinds raised) looked straight into the small managment office & that there appears to be a bit of confusion all round as to whether guests of Boracay Gems can use the Seven Stones pool.

I was personally told on two occasions that I wasn't allowed to by a surly security/lifeguard/gardener, but then when I insisted I was & that we also had friends in 101A & B (part of Seven Stones, but booked through Boracay Gems) - he left us alone. However, the swim-up barmen & restaurant staff couldn't be more enthusiastic to see us & happily served us/took our money.

Resort is right on the beach, which is great. However, due to the wind/season, lots of boats were moored here & not particularly nice for any swimming - while on White Beach, about 10mins walk across the island, it was often blowing a gale, with tumultuous seas. So while we booked this resort for direct beach access & kitesurfing, it was actually held over on White Beach, at the far end of Zone 3.

The weather is now changing though, so the kitesurfing will move back to Bulabog Beach, the boats will move away & White Beach will calm down & be much cleaner with offshore winds etc.

Close to this resort & on the initial alleys toward White Beach is a small restaurant called Munchies. Six of us ate/drank here & were surprised with how good the food/service/price was - so would thoroughly recommend it.

For more upmarket, can suggest the Lemon Cafe in D'Mall (try the Eggs Benedict) & for Filipino fusion dinner on White Beach, you must try Mesa. A bit pricier, but the food is great, as is the Dos Mestizos spanish place a bit further down, close to the Police station.

For divers, I can suggest Calypso Divers - very professional & good value at 1600 peso for a fun dive with equipment. Seriously wanted to see the Camia shipwreck, but conditions only allowed that on our final day, only 5hrs before flying.

For anyone wanting to mail postcards, the post office is right at the end of Zone 1 on White Beach & a bit of a trek. However, there's a large tourist centre between Zones 2 & 3 that have all the facilities.

Great place with great friends, had a wonderful time & we'd all love to come again (except when there are a gazillion tourists at the height of the seasion & you get asked every 2 metres whether you want a boat trip/island hopping). Oh & if you're into pearls (does anybody under 70 from UK/US?) - there's plenty of those being offered as well....though I think they'd have better luck trying to sell sunscreen & water!

Room Tip: The rooms are different/not uniform, so choose the one that suits you/your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Family trip with 6 adults and 1 child for 4 days.We Stayed on Ruby villa.Room was ideal for family because of 2 rooms and a kitchen.The villa was exactly located on the seaside with a cozy view of Boracay sunrise while having your breakfast.
Be carefull with the rate,website rate was lower than the actual rate.Hotel staff was approachable and friendly.Wifi was free but totally useless for the rest of our stay, need to ask the staff to reset the wifi every time we need to connect the internet.Staff insisting it's due to the weather, but what's surprising is we can connect to the wifi of nearby hotel.Villa had only 1 bathroom and not ideal for more than 4 guest.Bathroom sink was clogged when we arrived and attended by staff itself the next day.Window on upper room can't close fully and open for mosquitoes and other insects.Informed the staff regarding the matter but it was not attended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't imagine I'm writing this review when I'm suppose to enjoy my holiday now!
Pearl is located at 7 Stones instead. It is an adjoining room 101A to 101B. When we first step foot into the compound, it was so nice. Can tell that it was kind of neglected as it was dusty but the house keeping did a decent job the next day to clean up the room. We were then told that we can use the pool at 7 Stones which was a bonus! But when we wanted to get a towel at the bar the staff just told us off that we were different. Meaning not managed by 7 Stones and therefore can't use their towels but still allow to use the pool. Why such arrangement?We were totally treated like second class!
And then now laying on the bed, I felt like screaming at my neighbor next door (Rm101A)! They are blasting the music away, talking and laughing so loudly and worst of all, smoking!!! Come on... It's a non smoking room!! The adjoining rooms have really thin walls and the door is slightly dented thus smell and sound can really penetrate through. Last few days were fine as they only checked in this afternoon. Can't complain to 7 Stones now as its not under their management. Can't complain to Boracay Gems too as their reception closed at 8pm. Luckily it's our last night here and we don't have to put up with this for another day. Hope no one has to go through what we went through.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peridotitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Three of us stayed in Ruby villa for 3 nights. We arrived early and the villa was not ready. Once we were back from lunch, our villa was all ready to be occupied. It has 2 rooms, a living hall equipped with sound system and a large TV, a kitchen with cooking facilities - stove, pots and pans, cutleries and plates and a fridge. However, there is only 1 toilet and there was no bathtub. Each villa has direct access to Bulabog beach. It's the perfect location for sunrise and is away from all the noise coming from pubs and bars.

Boracay Gems is located next to 7 Stones. where you can hop over to utilise their sundeck chairs or hammock. It is just 5 minutes walking distance from D Mall and whola, the White Beach. Wifi works perfectly in the villa and the selection of TV channels were great. Housekeeping will service the villa on a daily basis.

We cooked our own breakfast. We bought eggs, luncheon meat, milk and yoghurt from the convenient shop.

However, Bulabog beach is not really fantastic. The sand feels a little muddy although the water is clear. Not really suitable for swimming. Be mindful when you use the safebox in the room. It does not run on electricity but AA batteries. If the batteries dries up, you may be in trouble.

Room Tip: Choose the room with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Two of us stayed at Jade Executive Villa while my two other friends stayed at Opal Deluxe Villa for 3 nights.

-It is only 5 minutes walk from D Mall. There is a really delicious chicken stall nearby at the junction just right next to the open pool table stall place.
-Booked transfer from the Southwest Tour Boracay and the person led us the way to Boracay Gems.
-We were given some discount because the Jacuzzi has broken down. Also, they changed the light bulbs for us instantly when some lights weren't working.
-Really awesome and nice receptionist! She greeted us with huge smiles each time we came back to the villa.
-The villa is exactly like what it is shown on the website.
-Kitchen is fully equipped.
-Only few steps away from the beach! And it is a really windy place to stay in because it is the place for kite boarding.
-Love the balcony where you can sit in and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TryMyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 km away
Alargo Villa Residence
Alargo Villa Residence
#40 of 176 in Boracay
7 reviews
0.1 km away
Club Boracay Apartelle
Club Boracay Apartelle
#48 of 176 in Boracay
3 reviews
1.9 km away
Sundown Beach Studios
Sundown Beach Studios
#29 of 176 in Boracay
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hangin Kite Center & Resort
Hangin Kite Center & Resort
#26 of 227 in Boracay
33 reviews
0.6 km away
LuxeView Hotel
LuxeView Hotel
#42 of 227 in Boracay
83 reviews
1.8 km away
Boracay Beach Houses
Boracay Beach Houses
#27 of 176 in Boracay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Gems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Gems

Address: Road 1A, Bulabog Beach, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: ₱2,103 - ₱7,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Gems 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Gems is a 4-star luxury beachfront boutique resort located in Bulabog Beach, the eastern side of Boracay Island which becomes a kiteboarding and windsurfing paradise during the Amihan season. During the Habagat season when winds come from the west, Bulabog Beach becomes a haven for those who seek peace and tranquility from the bustling White Beach. It only takes a 10-minute walk to reach D'Mall and 15 minutes to White Beach and its beachfront nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boracay Gems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing