We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resourt and rooms in beautiful design. No real beach. Some service issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Palawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astoria Palawan
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
215 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Resourt and rooms in beautiful design. No real beach. Some service issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2016

The resort has a beatiful and also functional design for buildings and rooms. The pool is nice and there is a very well equipped gym, too. Yet only suites are located at the ocean front, the rest of the rooms is in the second and third row facing the backsides of the other buildings with their air condition etc. There is no useable beach but a eroded land slip partly covered by concrete strutures. Many moscitos, probably due to the nearby creek. But there are also service issues, e.g.: Wifi (quite slow) is limited to two divices and the resort charges 100 Pesos for addational devices per day. We were two guests but the reception first refused a second key and only after my complaint we both got our own key. The first room they offered us was directly behind the restaurant kitchen and next to the parking area.... and only after my request for a more quiet (and less smelly) location we got a different room.

Room Tip: Only suites face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Palawan, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Dear Robinyy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you have found our resort rooms and amenities beautiful and well-equipped!

We understand that you had trouble with some of the services. For this, we assure you that we are improving our facilities and that we are addressing the particular concerns you had pointed out. We thank you for your comments, since these help us pinpoint what needs improvement.

We, at Astoria Palawan, strive to deliver to all our guests an experience of comfort and quality at the highest level. We guarantee that on your next visit, you will come back to more activities and an even better Astoria experience.


Yours,

The Astoria Palawan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
80
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Beautifully designed overall, the use of wood as outer wall is ingenius and daring but it seems to work. I love the wooden wall in the rooms with indirect lighting as well as the bathroom concealed by a sliding deco door. Food was good, but the Ube Bibingka is amazing! Service is above par. Roma, Abby, Francis and the rest always aim to please. We stayed a week and had an activity each day. Biking, Swimming, mini-golf etc

Cons: Beach not swimmable and lots of NIK NIK! Bites all over.

Stayed November 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Palawan, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Dear Arianna P,

It delights us to know that you were happy with your stay! We are glad that you liked the room design and were pleased with the staff. We will be sure to forward your compliments to those you had mentioned. As for the beach and the bugs, we assure you that we are continuing to improve our facilities and services to give our guests the best possible stay. We guarantee that when you come back, the bugs will be kept at bay and the “amazing” ube bibingka will be waiting for you.

We thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again here or at other Astoria destinations!

Sincerely,

The Astoria Palawan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2016

The hotel is so good and the view facing the sea with the infinity pool, so amazing. With the friendly staff and crew, you would love to stay in this beautiful hotel. Me and my friends stayed there for a while, and we love to visit again and see the hidden treasures of Palawan.

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inoj0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Palawan, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Dear inojo604,

We are happy to hear that you had fun during your stay, especially with the infinity pool. With a carefully-designed layout and top-notch amenities and staff, Astoria Palawan is the perfect place to begin your Palawan adventure. You can always count on feeling right at home here. We cannot wait to see you and your friends again!

Thank you for your review. See you soon!

Cheers,

The Astoria Palawan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as a complimentary treat for getting a membership. If you opted a relaxation, this is a good place for you! Room is modern, i love the the design of the wall! Astoria offers a lot of activities : Kayaking, Biking, Videoke Room, Gym & Game Room. They also have a waterpark which will only cost you 350 as inhouse guest. Staffs are very friendly and attentive to our needs.

For Budget Traveller : You can go to San Rafael Terminal by Tricycle, then ride a van to El Nido or Roxas, fare is 150. Travel time is 1hr. Tell the driver to drop you in front of Astoria.

For food, you there is a carenderia in front of the hotel, a meal will cost you 55 pesos! And believe me, its tasty :) They also sell drinks and other staffs!

Cons - No globe signal, but wifi connection is strong. Smart i think has a good signal. The beach is not swimmable and somehow you can hear your neighbor room's TV...

Overall, we have enjoyed our stay! :)




Stayed November 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Palawan, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Dear Kristel M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay, especially with your room design and the staff. We are also happy that you enjoyed the various activities we offer on the resort, as we continue to work on bringing you more fun things to do. As for your comment regarding the cellular network signal, we assure you that we continue to improve our services, so you and future guests will have the best possible Astoria experience.

We look forward to seeing you again here or at other Astoria destinations.

Best Regards,

The Astoria Palawan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

Rooms:
First, I love the color combination and the style of the room. Second, is that although we didn't had a seaview from our room, I still like the garden view of our room, in which by the way was surrounded by citronnelle, especially at night when my husband and I wanted to check our emails at the terrace. It gave us a bit more of privacy. And third, it was always clean and we didn't get problems with anything except for 1 time that the there was a problem with the distribution board of the room but it was right away solved.

Amenities:
I could say that the there were just 2 places in the hotel that we did stay most of the time. It's either the restaurant or the pool. The restaurant is cozy enough. Their concept reminded me of the hotel that we stayed in Tuscany. The infinity pool is really nice. On the days that we didn't go out for the tours, we would spend the whole afternoon at the pool either swimming or just relaxing and enjoying the breeze and the lined mango trees. The whole place itself is very good except that they just have to work out on the beach area. It's not yet that swimmable. Although, we had a bit of a chat with the resort manager Lisa, charming lady by the way, that they are working already to it. So might probably better in the next coming months. There a bit of episodes of black out but it comes back right away. The wifi although works very good on certain areas such as the restaurant and the reception area. Inside the rooms, its a bit slow and also along the pool area. There's no globe reception by the way inside the room.

Food:
The food is very good! There were not too many choices with the food but for me, its better because its better to have a few choices and they had done it very good than to have lot of choices but the taste is not good. Its a little bit pricey but the quality of the food is good. I would recommend the Fried Wok with River Shrimps (very tangy and flavourful) and the Bistek Palawan. Must try also the Four Cheese Pizza.

Staff:
I could say that the heart of this place are their staffs. First, Ainge, at the reception, he is helpful especially when it comes to recommendations regarding tours or any concerns that we need. Second, Erwin, I guess that he is one of the most reliable staff at the restaurant. He basically knows what is his job and very assertive on the needs of the guests. Third, Alvin, very cheerful guy and also like Erwin, he is helpful to the needs of the guests. Fourth, the Trainees, (gals and guys on white), very cheerful and assertive. I just love seeing them doing their jobs, looking very neat and clean. Overall, as I said the heart of this hotel are their staffs.

My family would love to go back to this place. Although its far from the main city, its a real hideaway from the buzzlling city life. I would recommend that before you come this place, you must bring cash since its far from the center. Would love to come back here again.

Stayed November 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank shemai04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Palawan, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Dear shemai04,

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation! We are glad that you enjoyed everything you mentioned—from your room’s aesthetics and location, to the resort’s amenities and food. We do our best to give all our guests a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay, and your review affirms that our hard work is of consistent and high quality.

We also thank you for your thoroughness, particularly with your suggestions for each aspect you reviewed. We assure you that we continue to work on our facilities and services, so you will come back to an even better Astoria Palawan! We are especially grateful to you for seeing our staff as the “heart” of the resort, since each member of our team plays a role in making our guests feel right at home. We will be sure to forward your compliments to Ainge, Erwin, Alvin and our trainees.

We are happy that you had such a pleasant experience with us. We hope to see you and your family again here or in one of our other Astoria properties in Boracay, Makati, Ortigas or Bohol !

All the best,

The Astoria Palawan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
35.2 km away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
36.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
35.8 km away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
33.6 km away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#19 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
24.7 km away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palawan

Property: Astoria Palawan
Address: Km. 62, North National Highway | Barangay San Rafael, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price range (per night): ₱4,487 - ₱9,772
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Palawan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Palawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing